We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Erbgericht Buntes Haus
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Seiffen
ramstein-miesenbach, germany
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What an amazing weekend!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel in the heart of Seiffen. It is a little worse for wear but it is clean, comfortable, and the staff goes out of the way to make your stay perfect. The town is so cute (its our second trip there) and perfect for finding unique Christmas gifts. The hotel is in the perfect location for shopping in all directions. The breakfast was wonderful - the home made bread was outstanding! There are 2 restaurants in the hotel, a pizza place that had very food, and the other is a German style restaurant. We had venison that was the best I have ever tried. Mine had a berry compote and pureed chestnuts. It was totally amazing. My husband had his with dumplings and green beans and they were really good. He also had one of the home made soups which was also very good. I had a salad and loved the home made dressing. It was the best meal of the trip!

Room Tip: the pillows are very flat. If I return I will ask for extra pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beargoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Having been there and done that, I am very happy we chose this hotel. It was really very good (yes, excellent) in all ways. Friendly staff, English speaking was no problem, nice and cosy room, good breakfast and a decent restaurant. Maybe the best feature was the location, right in the middle of what everyone goes to Seiffen for - the Christmas decoration shops. It's also about 300 meters from the famous Seiffen church. Fortunately we could park in front although I wonder what one would do if the roughly eight spots are all taken - parking is tight in town and any available quite a walk from the hotel. You can park and leave your car in place until you leave Seiffen, in my opinion. Walk everywhere. No issues with noise here - the town buttons up pretty early.

Room Tip: I doubt there's a bad room to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was a fun / memorable side trip while visiting Germany. On our way driving from Berlin to Munich, decided to take an overnight trip to Seiffen to see the Christmas Shops etc. If you are into Nutcrackers, wood figures and all things Christmas, this was a great side trip and offered us a chance to get away from the big cities for a bit. We had two rooms which were connecting for our family of 4. The hotel while in an older building was quant and all the rooms were modernized. (no air conditioning but wasn't needed at all while there in late June) The hotel was centrally located in Seiffen ( a town of about 2-3,000) and all of the shops were easy to walk to. On the premises the hotel had a very good restaurant which we ate at and a bar which offered snacks etc that we also patronized. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Also a very good breakfast was included in the price. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel200855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is in the middle of town. We were able to park in front of the hotel. Our room was perfect and cozy. There are nutcrackers on the wall outside of each room. The breakfast and dinner were excellent. The staff were very helpful. We had such a relaxing stay in this special town of woodcrafters. I hear the Christmas Market is not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel was very centrally located and was great for a one night stay in Seiffen. The hotel restaurant was also very good. Be sure to look around at the Wooden figures in the hotel check-in and entry area, as I found some very unique gifts that I would not have found otherwise.

-Parking was fine, but you have a trek up/down the hill each time you head to the car. Be sure to time things accordingly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xHypex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We chose this hotel because it is situated in the Zentrum of Seiffen. The staff was courteous, knowledgeable, and friendly. We really enjoyed our room as we prefer the personal touch versus the chain hotel style.
Being in the center of town we literally stepped out the door and into various shops selling quality Christmas pyramids, smokers, and other decorations. It was nice to drop off our packages and head out to other stores.
We had lunch in the restaurant where the food was good, the server was friendly and worked with our assault on her native language!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to do some serious shopping in the town of Seiffen and relax in between.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
284 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We chose this hotel based on TripAvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed.

We were greeted by the owners when we checked in, who were two of the few folks in Seiffen who speak German. They gave us a room on the third floor (second floor to Germans) which overlooked the front of the hotel and the main street - no problem, there is no traffic at night in this tiny village! The room was spacious and had a very m,odern bathroom with, unlike most German hotels, toiletries!

There is room for about a half dozen cars to park in front of the hotel (spaces not reserved), and a good-sized public lot just down Hauptstrasse.

The hotel has an elevator and a free computer (not just wi-fi).

The hotel is perfectly located at the intersection of Hauptstrasse and Bahnhofstrasse. It's the center of the toy shopping district (which is probably why you came to Seiffen in the first place!) and the famous Seiffenerkirche is just up the hill.

You need not leave the hotel for good food. There's a pasta bar and an excellent restaurant at which we had dinner (separate review). Breakfast was extensive and great.

It's clear not many Americans come to Seiffen - it's a hidden treasure.... If you come, try the Buntes Haus - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seiffen
0.5 mi away
Panorama Berghotel Wettiner Hoehe
2.0 mi away
Schloss Purschenstein Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#4 of 6 in Seiffen
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Landhotel zu Heidelberg
Landhotel zu Heidelberg
#5 of 6 in Seiffen
23 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Berghof
Hotel Berghof
#3 of 6 in Seiffen
13 reviews
2.1 mi away
Landhotel Gruenes Gericht
Landhotel Gruenes Gericht
#3 of 4 in Neuhausen
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erbgericht Buntes Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erbgericht Buntes Haus

Property: Hotel Erbgericht Buntes Haus
Address: Hauptstr. 94, 09548 Seiffen, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Seiffen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Seiffen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Erbgericht Buntes Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Erbgericht Buntes Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing