We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most satisfactory stay”
Review of Tropical Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropical Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Most satisfactory stay”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Excellent value for money stay. A basic room but with air conditioning, small safe and good, if small shower room etc. Very clean and everything worked fine. I did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on this. Staff were very good, helpful, polite and happy with good English. I was pleased with the location but you might want to be nearer to the centre if you intend to spend all your time there, I wanted to be near the Sea, Marina and Attica coast. Tram stops almost outside as does airport express bus. I did not find the main road outside a problem but yes it was a little noisy with the sliding patio door open at night but not like the centre of Paris/London. There were a couple of nice bars on the beach across the road and it was okay to swim. I did not use the free beach preferring to buy a drink and pay a small charge for a sunbed and umbrella.

Don't take too much notice of the swimming pool as it is very small indeed and not really functional - maybe that is a bit subjective if you are a pool bunny who just slips in to cool off but it is not conducive to a sunbathe anyway. I also found the bed a little uncomfortable but again this is a bit subjective. Not like a Radisson or Novotel bed at any rate.

I would very happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cicero57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    58
    44
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
63
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

As soon as we got into the hotel, we were able to check in right away, and if there was anything we needed, the staff made themselves easily available and eager to help. If we needed the A/C temperature changed, directions to local transportation, wake-up call, or anything that we could've wanted, then the staff always gave exceptional service.
Make sure you double-check on the amount of beds that you order, and if you are a person of the larger sizes, then the bathroom may not be for you. The wifi is not free (only in the lobby), and the included breakfast food is in the standard American style. These are all things that are probably compensated for due to the closeness that this hotel has to all the nice beaches, and the distance it is from the Tram (your local transport if you don't want to spend 20+ euros every day on Taxis). Overall, we enjoyed this hotel because of the staff. Cleanup crew always made bed sheets looking fresh, towels were clean, and the room was just as you left it, our belongings were not touched or moved. They are very efficient. The front desk is always available to you, 24 hours, 7 days a week.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olena77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A good basic and comfortable hotel to use as a base for exploring both central Athens, (via tram - 30 mins to centre) or for the beaches of Attica towards Cape Sounio. Breakfast is extensive with some cooked items but hardly any fresh produce, just watermelon. Overall it's a budget+ standard hotel by UK terms, definitely not 4 star - think Holiday Inn Express or Premier Inn with better staff. All staff were helpful and friendly, though they chose to ignore our request for a plug in our bathroom sink. We had one large visiting cockroach - which was promptly dealt with by management.
The lounge and deck area is very small and the pool, which nobody used in 4 days, is not much bigger than a bathtub. The photos on Tripadvisor flatter the hotel, which is not as chic or sophisticated as it appears. The 6 lane road outside is busier and noisier on a Saturday night than London's North Circular, though it does quieten in the day time. The pay-for-entry beach opposite is good but busy, with several dining options.
Overall a pleasant stay but not a hotel with facilities to enjoy during the day, more of a functional stopover.

Room Tip: All rooms face the road and beach at the front. Therefore make sure you close both balcony doors and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS247_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and it suited our needs then perfect so my next trip to Athens I booked the same hotel I stayed there 1 night before going to kefelonia and then on my return to Athens I stayed there for 4 nights. The hotel is situated perfectly. The bus stops outside the hotel so you can catch the bus straight to the airport and back ( at a price of €2.50!). The tram stop is about 50m away which is not a far walk. There is also very ice beaches over the road.the staff at the hotel are very friendly and so helpful. I was traveling alone with my 2 kids and my daughter aged 3 developed an ear infection. They assisted me, even came up to my room to help me. They brought her tea and gave me medicine and kept checking on me that she was ok. Their rooms are clean, not very spacious but fine. The breakfast was also perfect, nothing more was needed. The staff also assisted me by booking my ferry tickets, also, they would draw me a map and step by step instructions when I wanted to go anywhere. All the staff was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietT1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is located on the beach, on the other side very busy, noisy and dangerous road. Athens city center is easily reached by the tram, it took 40 minutes one way. Close to the hotel was no more than one restaurant within walking distance, as well as totally awesome wine bar, both located on the beach.
The hotel itself was a bit dilapidated. The blind broken, jacuzzi did not work, it was smoked on the room, although we booked a non-smoking room, the mini bar was almost empty,air-conditioning can not be self-adjust and it was able to go at night to himself on even it was put off. Breakfast was plentiful, yes, but too much sweet food and no fresh fruit and the waitress was quite unpolite. The swimming pool was ridiculously small, we did not use it at all, fortunately, the beach was near.
Most of the staff were very friendly and wonderful people, especially reseptionists in the afternoon - and night shifts. Morning shift had not been very helpful.
On the night shift was also a lovely dog ​​at the front door. Special thanks to it!

Room Tip: make sure that the room door is properly locked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki Greece
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Clean and spacious rooms, very good breakfast, great location, very close to the beach, parking space, bus and tram stops close to the hotel, friendly and polite staff. There is also a very good 24/7 fast-food near the hotel if you feel hungry at the middle of the night !

Room Tip: Anything with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerebakanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

It is not the super woow hotel but it is a very good choice if you want to have a nice view and good service.
The crew are very friendly and ready to help in any case. The rooms some are big enough and some are very small. Breakfast is average for this category hotel.
The location is perfect close to the bus station and tram station. Perfect view from all the balconies and in clean area.
In general it is a good choice (not the perfect but for sure not the worst)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Costas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alimos
1.4 mi away
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alimos
112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#8 of 15 in Glyfada
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coral Hotel Athens
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
498 reviews
3.0 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#5 of 15 in Glyfada
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Hotel

Property: Tropical Hotel
Address: 74 Leoforos Possidonos, Alimos, Athens 174 55, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Alimos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Hotel in Athens! Tropical Hotel Athens welcomes you with high quality services in an exceptional place! Tropical Hotel, welcomes guests with grate hospitality and excellent service. The hotel was fully reconstructed in 2003, and offers in every room very comfortable accommodation, equipped with all modern amenities. Tropical hotel is conveniently located at Alimos, on the coastal avenue near Piraeus and Athens city centre, providing the best of both worlds with stunning views of the sea. This beautiful situation, being a perfect spot for relaxation, is at the same time tranquil since it is very close to the beach and away from the busy centre. Taking inspiration from the metropolitan and the natural areas, Tropical hotel is of an ultramodern and unique design with interiors that feature fashionable furnishings, artistic aspects and a serene atmosphere. Tropical Hotel's privileged location, at the waterfront of Alimos, provides flexibility to approach the centre of Athens Yachting Marina Alimos, EL.VENIZELOS Airport, port of Piraeus and most of exhibition centers. Looking the Saronic Gulf, impressive sunsets captivates you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Kalamáki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing