We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is a complete disaster. Small and dirty rooms (carpet and blankets that could not even touch with a finger), towels that you wouldn't even use to mop up the floor, TV not working, breakfast for the garbage and the staff changes every day and they cannot give any answers .....because maybe the other employees told you that!! A shame for the Greek tourism. It should be closed.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Effie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

very good Hotel in very good location ! good working staff , very kindly!!! i suggest this hotel. close to coast ! close to tram station and bus station !! good rooms !! perfect for family vacations!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filippov D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Quite bad actually. Ancient (from the 70s?) furniture room, reeking of frowst, balcony sliding doors lock jamming constantly, old curtains, filthy-looking & tired carpet, coverlets with multiple (moth?) holes all over it, very small unfriendly bathroom with a tiny window facing some gloomy aeration shaft. To name but a few. Positives? Location (close to the seaboard), sea-views (spectacular top floor restaurant), access to local transportation system (trams to link with the city center and Piraeus Port and X96 bus to the airport) and the cooperation of the reception personnel (not the maids!). All in all a big NO! It's kind of a party-pooper.

Room Tip: Probably rooms facing the sea would throw in some soothing.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Radu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Arrived for one night stopover, travelling to Santorini on the 5.30am flight the next day.
Booked on line on the basis; it was 5 mins from airport; actual time 30mins, checked Tripadvisor for reviews - which seemed ok, booked through booking.com, based on pictures provided on booking website.
Front entrance clean, modern and welcoming - only to discover it was a facade.
Booked a triple room: got a double. Aircon. not working, balcony door lock broken, sink plug stuck down (couldn't drain water), toilet cistern broken (worked by pulling a wire cord attached through cistern lid), toilet roll holder broken, bathroom mouldy and dirty - tiles very poorly repaired. Overall room was very small (esp. With roll out bed added in), very dated and need of a complete gutting and revamp.
Good thing was sheets and towels were clean.
However, enjoyed a very relaxing evening at The Premier Cafe one block behind, where there are several places to chose to eat at: we feel this was Athens saving grace..
Gladly left at 4am for the airport.
Can see where the high rating comes from. Would definitely NOT recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
7  Thank Jigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This a hotel I would recommend unreservedly. Not only is it located on a popular coastal avenue, but the tram and buses to the centre of Athens or the airport stop just across the road. The rooms are comfortable and clean and most importantly the staff understand about customer service! Friendly, polite, accommodating - nothing is too much to ask!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

As the previous reviewer mentioned, the Galaxy is not close to the airport but 5 Euros will get you there in 45 minutes from the arrivals section at the airport. The hotel is being renovated and the reception does smell of sewers and does not have a restaurant. I had a standard room on the 4th floor facing the coastal highway, overlooking the sea. The view is quite beautiful but the room is small, fine for overnight. You can cross the street and walk to the sea for a dip. Many restaurants and shops along the streets behind the hotel. The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable (thank you Raphael!). Breakfast on the top floor (included) was adequate... something for everyone. Yes, the front rooms are noisy but I was so tired that it didn't bother me. I paid 39 for one night. The room was clean though basic. I had just come back from 10 days on a sailboat and would have liked to have a pool.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay longer, get one of the nicer rooms and pay a bit more. Ask if the renovations ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

The only we reason we booked it was because we had an overnight stop over in Athens and it came up on top of the list for hotels close to the airport on Trip Advisor.

This was not the case. It is actually about a €50 cab ride from the airport! As it was a last minute deal we couldn't cancel the reservation once booked.

Having said that, the hotel was modern, clean, cheap and staff were friendly.

Big points to the helpful guy on reception in the morning of the 18/07/13 who we asked to book us a cab back to the airport. He kindly pointed out a bus stop opposite the hotel that takes you direct to the airport for €5 a person! Brilliant!

We had to leave the hotel at 7am to catch our flight, the hotel offered to make us an early breakfast as they don't normally start serving until 7:30am.

Would recommend as a good hotel in Athens, not as an airport stop over though!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regnirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alimos
0.2 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alimos
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
888 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coral Hotel Athens
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#3 of 3 in Alimos
155 reviews
3.5 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Glyfada
361 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel Apartments
Oasis Hotel Apartments
#10 of 14 in Glyfada
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: 39 Posidonos Ave. & Kalamakiou, Alimos 174 55, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Alimos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
Price Range: £44 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 471
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing