We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place in Mochlos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dimitris Taverne

Dimitris Taverne
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Mochlos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in Mochlos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Dimitris was out standing! The best taverna in Mochlas. Dimitris was so accommodating! and cooked the best ever food in the village - fish, slow cooked lamb, vine leaves, meatballs, prawns, sardines, fried potatoes, tomatoes - Wine!!! everything was beautiful. He and his small team of 4!!!! made us feel very special.
Mochlas is a beautiful place for chilling and relaxing and Dimitris was the icing on the cake. Thank you so much. Do not miss out if you visit Machlos. Sam and Mark

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamandMark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    15
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waikiki
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Two Mojitos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We've been coming to Dimitris for the past 4 summers when we stay in Mochlos (a hidden gem at the end of a long and very windy road). The mojitos are really really good. They explode in your mouth from the first sip and leave you with a pleasant little buzz. You'll be prodding you straw into the fresh mint leaves and lime at the end of your drink wishing you could somehow squeeze just a little more wonderful juice out of your glass. If you want to really appreciate one of Dimitri's mojitos just try a mojito at one of the other cafes in Mochlos. You may never go anywhere else for a mojito again. While you're enjoying your mojito don't be surprised if random plates of Greek mezes appear or a little dish of whatever Dimitri is cooking today. It's just part of being a very special guest whenever you come to Dimitris.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiCondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Dimitris is the master chef and owner of this small and friendly taverna in Mochlos. He is a very talented cook and makes the most delicious meals. You can call in for breakfast, lunch, evening meal or maybe just coffee and a crepe, a glass of wine or a draft beer or one of his famous mojitos! Whatever you try, you can be assured of a warm welcome from Dimitris and his employees and the most amazing food to make your mouth water. Although, the taverna is just set back from the sea, it more than makes up for it with the fabulous ambience and friendly and efficient service. If you fancy something and it's not on the extensive menu, then just ask and with a bit of advance warning, Dimitris will do his very best to oblige. We return again and again to Mochlos and this is one place which will always remain in our hearts.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank korkythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Superb Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

When we arrived at Mochlos without particular goal, we noticed several restaurants along the seashore, some offering fresh fish for 40-50 €/kg! One street from the waterfront, on the corner, there was a small restaurant called Dimitris, with the staff standing in front of the restaurant, clearly hoping that we would choose to have dinner there. Guided by intuition we decided to do so and this was the best choice we could have made! We ordered lamb chops and souvlaki, and this was excellently prepared, tasty, really delicious food. As a starter we were offered some finger food and olives, also great. The cook came along twice to inform whether everything was ok, and we could only confirm. When we asked for the bill we were offered water melon and two glasses of raki. For all this food including two drinks we payed € 22, amazing !! We agree with all others who reviewed this restaurant before us: we can only highly recommend it!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h_vanbuuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wrong name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This review should be under Cafe Dimitris. Please can you change. Thank you very much for your assistance in this matter

Helpful?
Thank korkythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dimitris Taverne also viewed

Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture
Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture
Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Dimitris Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing