We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek fairytale.”
Review of Astir of Paros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Astir of Paros
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Naoussa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

As a first time visitor of the Greek islands, Astir of Paros made my experience that of a fairytale. The quaint island was lovely but what makes the holiday unforgettable is the Astir of Paros.
The heavenly gardens surrounding the hotel immediately caught my eye upon my arrival. Stepping into the reception, I met very friendly people with huge smiles whom made checking-in an absolute pleasure.
The beautifully decorated room with a marble bathroom and huge varandor (overlooking the blue Aegean) bestowed a real feeling of heaven.
After a tiring trip, I ordered a lovely cocktail by the pool and enjoyed it on the beachfront. I decided to go rest in my suite after ordering room service (which was delivered promptly).
Going for dinner in the evening at the Poseidon restaurant with Greek and Mediterranean cuisine, I was welcomed by all staff and the owner himself enquiring, "как дела?".
The dinner was excellent with high quality service, fantastic food and unique taste.
The next day's breakfast was by the pool-side. A huge buffet, including the famous Greek yogurt, fresh fruit, juices and even smoked salmon.
The Chinese restaurant was in a unique setting resembling ancient ruins (with tropical gardens and water fountains) with the food being the best Chinese food that I've ever had!
The art gallery left a lasting impression of beauty and culture in Greece.

A trip never to be forgotten.

P.S. The free wi-fi works great!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NataliaKopylova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I were married at Astir of Paros some 10 plus years ago and decided to return there for our anniversary, some dear friends joined us and we went there for dinner on the night we were married 10 years ago.

We didn't stay at the hotel as we have relatives on the island and we stay with them when we visit now...

We didn't let the hotel know we were coming as we wanted a low key night to just re-live the experience of our beautiful wedding night 10 years ago.... (On that note, our wedding 10 years ago was just beautiful and the service and help from the staff and owners was exceptional!! Back then we hired the restaurant until late that night just for us, the service and attention to detail and the food was exceptional and delicious)

We hoped for a similar experience but given the state of the Greek economy we just weren't sure what to expect as Astir of Paros is a 5 star hotel and we had heard from friends that most up market hotels were not doing so well....

We decided to book the local Greek restaurant which is situated around the pool and not book the main restaurant as its now Asian....... We arrived and immediately it seemed like we were transported back 10 years, the hotel was still stunning and the setting around the pool was just gorgeous.

We ordered our food and the service was exceptional, so much so that I forgot myself and mentioned to one of the staff that we were here 10 years ago and that tonight was our anniversary... so much for a low profile!! Anyway the night wore on .. the food was exceptional and the wine perfectly complemented everything we ordered and ate..... by the end of the night we were so full we couldn't have possibly eaten anymore....

Then appearing from nowhere the owner comes up and says hi and we spoke for a time about our trip so far, the past 10 years and caught up on things generally, it was really nice to see her again and catch up.. The waiter had mentioned us to her and she came out especially to say hi, which was really lovely.....

Then to top of the night the owner provided some special desserts for us before we left... they were just divine!! it capped off what could only be a special and beautiful 10th wedding anniversary dinner ....

Thank you so much for looking after us again and we will definitely be back to say hi and enjoy your beautiful hotel and amenities...

Chris and Chris, Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank chris_spring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Paros is certainly a change from the hustle and bustle of Mykonos and Santorini. A much more laid back fishing town atmosphere. The Astir is a ways out of town on a beautiful beach front property. Landscaped with magnificent bougainvilleas and whitewashed cube buildings typical of the Greek islands. Our room was very basic with a nice size bathroom—nothing special—perhaps an upgrade to suite would be a good choice. The beach is very small. There is a very nice pool with a great poolside bar. The restaurant is nice with fresh seafood daily (we did not try the Chinese restaurant) . The owner was actually around to make suggestions (some of our party thought he was a little pushy, but I found him very friendly--not often the owner comes by to visit with guests). The staff was very friendly and helpful. They arranged for a boat for a tour of the island with Demetrius and his father—and a tour of a local winery. You have to shuttle into town if you want to eat there—the hotel charges 2.5 Euros per person or you call a cab for about 10 Euros. Be advised that Paros is often very windy—our boat captain said 5 of 7 days is typical.
Overall a very nice change of pace and stay.

Room Tip: A suite would be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TexTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and me stayed here for five days because we thought it is de luxe hotel! THIS IS NOT FIVE STAR HOTEL!
Who ever traveled around the world and stayed at five star hotel it will be disappointed. Only people that work here are five star. They are very kind.
Restaurant by the swimming pool is very expensive.
Swimming pool is not that bigg as it looks like and beach is very small. No shops near hotel.
Rooms needs to redecorate as soon as possible! Bad and noisy aircondition in rooms, old and soft beds. Too expensive for what they offer! 350euro per night during the season! Nothing to do whole day.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

If you are looking for a Greek island hotel to relax and recover from modern life stress, this is the one to chose. The grounds are amazing. Choose a room (or preferably a junior suite) with sea view and you can sit in your room's veranda watching beautifully landscaped gardens extending to the sea. The private beach is sandy and well kept, equipped with umbrellas and sun-loungers. The sea is warm and shallow for a long distance, making it ideal for children. But all does not end here. There is a very large swiming pool with wet-seating bar and a smaller children's swimming pool next to it. All the rooms are comfortable and built in the Cycladic islands' style, therefore to the ignorant would probably appear basic, while they provide every modern comfort. A little church is located in the grounds, making this hotel an ideal place for a marriage party. The staff is extraordinarily helpful and polite. But best of all is the hotel restaurant. In my wife's and my opinion, this beats any Michelin Star restaurant. The food is prepared with fresh, virgin produce in amazing combinations and the wine list includes great Greek wines. If you like real Greek food at very reasonable prices considering the quality, this is the place to taste it!!! This is a quiet, wonderful paradise hotel, where you can enjoy peace, great swimming and great food.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makire2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I travel the world pretty often and have never had issues with hotel management.
Let me start by saying that I give credit where it is due.

The hotel grounds are very nice and well kept. Convenient, clean, small private beach on property.

A five star hotel has welcoming and great management... ASTIR OF PAROS IS NOT A FIVE STAR HOTEL on by any standards, including room quality.

We got to our hotel room and our tv was not working, not a big deal, called reception and asked them to fix it. After numerous phone calls back and forth with the receptionist and owner of the hotel, they made it seem as if we inconvenienced them and their attitude was disgusting.
I told the receptionist that considering we are spending 260 euro a night we expected them to be more helpful holding a better attitude... her response? She laughed at me and said that there are more people spending more money than us........... who talks to their customers like this?

Considering the economic situation in Greece, you would think they understood the quality of money... I wanted to ask her how much she made working there.... but I did not take it to a personal level. Clearly, I have standards.

People go on vacation and stay at hotels, with hopes of feeling welcomed and comfortable. Astir of Paros lacked to produce this, and on top of it, insult their customers.

SOME OTHER ISSUES:
~Their rooms are outdated
~their blow dryers become so over heated that they blow out smoke and you can not bear to hold them...

I will give 2 star for decent breakfast and the staff during breakfast were nice, also a great chinese restaurant on site.

I do not recommend staying here, there is a wonderful hotel right next door SAINT ANDREA. We tried to get a room there after the issue we had with Astir of Paros, but they were booked.

THIS HOTEL IS NOT WORTH ANYONES MONEY.
TRY SAINT ANDREA!!!!
Good luck on your vacations :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank TravlerTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsiko1952, Guest Relations Manager at Astir of Paros, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear guest,
Upon your arrival you realized that the TV chanels were not working clearly, despite the fact that the previous clients had left the same room on that morning after a 21 days stay without any problem.
Further to your compaint our maintenance tecknitian checked it and reported that the chanels were out of tune and we had to call the specialist to re-arrange the chanels and check the antenna.
Meanwhile we suggested and showed you alternative upgraded suites for you to change, so you do not lose precious time from your holidays. Your decision was to remain at the same suite.
We offered to take over the moving part to another suite but your only concern was a refund, not to mention that you already had a 20% discount..
When the specialist arrived you did not allow him to enter on the spot, but you had him waiting for over 40 minutes!
We feel that we always do our best to have all our clients happy and satisfied and the staffs' attitude has the best recommendations and comments in our guest book.
In conclusion, we suggest that this is not the best way to avertise another hotel (through our page)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed in Astir last September it was an amazing experience the place is a paradise with lovely gardens amazing private beach inside the hotel they gave us a room with an authentic painting of a famous greeck artist!!! Not to mention the exceptional food we had the time of our life' thanks to the very helpfull staff we are defenetly coming back

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vrisiida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naoussa
1.0 mi away
Senia Hotel
Senia Hotel
#5 of 45 in Naoussa
564 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paros Agnanti Resort
Paros Agnanti Resort
#10 of 46 in Parikia
557 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manis Inn
Manis Inn
#14 of 45 in Naoussa
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Yria Island Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Paliomylos Spa Hotel
Paliomylos Spa Hotel
#4 of 45 in Naoussa
419 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mr & Mrs White
Mr & Mrs White
#16 of 45 in Naoussa
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir of Paros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir of Paros

Address: Kolymbithres, Naoussa 844 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Naoussa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Naoussa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Naoussa
Price Range: £187 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astir of Paros 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astir of Paros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Of Paros Hotel Naoussa
Astir Hotel Paros
Astir Of Paros Naoussa, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing