We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”
Review of Astir of Paros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astir of Paros
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Naoussa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Astir of Paros was our favorite part of an extraordinary trip to Greece. We only stayed for three days and nearly cried when it was time to check out (and we were heading to Santorini!). From the moment we checked in and were greeted by Nick, the owner, we knew we were in a very special place. I will say a few words about the fine property below, but the absolute best thing about the hotel is that it is one of those rare finds when traveling: a hotel where everyone you meet there is genuinely interested in making you comfortable. If you have a problem, they immediately make it theirs and work hard to make it disappear. And I do mean everyone, from the front desk, to the maintenance people, to the bartenders and waiters in the bar and restaurants.

The property is an oasis of color with spotless white suites, lush green grass, blue sea and incredible flowering trees. Our room overlooked the beautiful bay near Kolimbithres, and we often relaxed in the late afternoon on our balcony. The food was amazing, using the freshest of ingredients from their little farm located across the street from the hotel. Several weeks later, we still often discuss the sumptuous breakfasts served each morning - a far cry from the usual "continental breakfast included".

We booked a Junior Suite Sea View and it was great for us (a couple with an 11-year old son), although my son would have wished for a slightly more comfortable cushion on the couch that converted into his bed. The room was a great size with a roomy sitting area separated from the bedroom by draperies. The bathroom was also roomy and very well appointed, and always seemed to have a ton of fresh towels waiting for us when we returned to our room (a small but important sign that they attend to the details).

The resort is on the north-east coast of Paros, and has a lovely little sandy beach where we spent a lot of time. The water is crystal clear and I recommend bringing goggles or snorkeling stuff if you have kids, as there are a lot of small fish and hermit crabs to see under water. We walked to nearby Kolimbithres taverna (about a 15 minute walk along the road on the water) which I recommend for its great authentic food and view of the bay. We also did a hike up a nearby hill to see the Mycenean Acropolis. The hike offered just enough challenge to make us feel good about ourselves and we were rewarded with a spectacular view of the area. There was not much to actually see in terms of ancient ruins (at least to our untrained eyes), although the literature says the site dates back to 13th century B.C. In any event, it was a nice diversion and the view from the top was well worth it.

On our third day we rented a car and toured the rest of the island, which is small enough to easily drive all around in an afternoon. Although I recommend taking more time and really relaxing in some of the great little coastal villages around the island. Folks at the hotel made some great recommendations for beaches and lunch-stops, and also recommended Parasporos beach to catch the sunset. There is a fairly large and well-serviced beach there, but we drove out to a point overlooking the Aegean for our mandatory sunset pictures, which was quite lovely.

If we had it to do all over again, and I sincerely hope we do, we would stay longer, and rent a car for the full duration so we could enjoy both the island and the hotel even more than we did.

Efharisto Astir of Paros!!!

Room Tip: While I'm sure all the rooms are nice, splurge a little and get a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    20
    14
    16
    6
See reviews for
46
54
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The best hotel in Greece.
They offer you everything, great rooms and offers are very good quality and pure food. No need to go anywhere else for food.
Very good beaches are near Naoussa with its picturesque alleys.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Neat, two floor white bungalows, stand in the clouds of blooming bougainvillea facing a beautiful Aegean bay. Walking distance from one of the best beaches of Paros. Just about 2km from Naoussa center, where all the shopping,
Dining and socializing happens. Good service, enjoyable food and an overall feeling of tranquility and piece. The superior rooms are very well designed. Many rooms feature large balconies. It is a perfect place to stay in Paros. The lady who runs the hotel is a charming art connoisseur and all the stuff is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1world1luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 10 beautiful days in Paros at the Astir of Paros.
Very nice pool. Beautiful view. Nice and small private beach. Very few hotels in the Cyclades have a direct access to the sea.
Charming people. The staff really cares and tries to please the customers.
Choice between 2 very good restaurants
Quiet, elegant, relaxing
Rooms are fine
Warning:
Restaurants are very good but expensive.
Golf pitch & putt is not what golfers expect even for practicing the short game. Forget it.

Room Tip: Nice view if you book Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micheldelbecq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Paros is a beautiful island with a lack, however, of quality 5* accommodation (a result perhaps of the lack of an international airport). My wife and I are quite picky when it comes to accommodation, dining and organising parties. After a lot of thought and many trips from Athens to the island during the winter we decided to hold the reception of our wedding in July 2013 at the Astir of Paros. The result was outstanding.

The resort is by far the most stylish in Paros, the personnel is well managed, professional, friendly and always there to help. Dining is also exquisite with both a restaurant of contemporary cuisine and also one - which we tried - with the best Chinese cuisine on the island. And great beakfast, too (LOTS of choice). Rooms are spacious, clean and luxurious and the service spot on.

The resort's gardens are laos something to see. Rare plants brought over from as far as South Africa as well as Beverly Hills-type tall palm trees. There is also a small golf course (didn't count the holes) next to the see (amazing views there). Then there is a big swimming pool separating the buildings from the beach which is also a nice sandy one although looking towards the north so when the wind blows from that direction it can be quite windy!

The location is probably the best on the island, a 3 minute drive from Naoussa, the island's prettiest town and about a 10-15 minute drive from the port of Parikia. It is also next to the nice beaches of Kolympithres (although the island does have better ones).

Now about the reception, what can we say! Spectacular setting, amazing staff which resulted to a great service (glasses wouldn't remain empty from wine or water through the night for more than a few seconds), absolutely amazing food (our guests are still telling us about it), by far the best on the island, period. Decoration stylish, elegant and luxurious, overlooked by a similarly elegant and perfectionist owner, Mrs. Michailidou. Great bartending, too, with super cocktails. What a super choice for a wedding, truly. It's only sad that it had to end as people got tired after dancing for 5 hours.

Take it from us. A super choice. The only choice.

I will upload pics when I get them from my photographer.

Γεια σας κα Μιχαηλίδου.

Γιώργος + Αγγελίνα
George + Angelina

georgelina.com

Room Tip: Due to us having our reception there we stayed at the best suite. However, we heard good comments fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandpappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Astir is a perfect location both for vacations and events, like weddings, seminars, conventions.
The environment is amazing, with charming ad very elegant atmosphere. The rooms are big, very clean, comfortable, and provide you the best comfort and privacy. The restaurant has a large variety of great dishes and very good preparations. The staff is very professional and efficient, kind and very well trained. The Swimming pool is very large and sunny, sunbeds are comfortable, and you can tan and relax, just near the access to the sea and the beach. You will be very happy, and for sure you will like to come back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good, but if you can, select a sea view accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Astir of Paros is a lovely hotel, the view on the sea is amazing! It has its own private beach and a large swimming pool. The vegetation is beautiful and well maintained, lots of flowers and charming trees. The rooms are spacious, light and clean. The staff is always kind and keen to help.
I highly recommend this hotel for couples or families!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naoussa
1.0 mi away
Senia Hotel
Senia Hotel
#4 of 46 in Naoussa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paros Agnanti Resort
Paros Agnanti Resort
#9 of 45 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
7.9 mi away
Poseidon of Paros
Poseidon of Paros
#1 of 3 in Golden Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
7.6 mi away
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Nea Chryssi Akti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manis Inn
Manis Inn
#14 of 46 in Naoussa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir of Paros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir of Paros

Property: Astir of Paros
Address: Kolymbithres, Naoussa 844 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Naoussa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naoussa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Naoussa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Astir of Paros 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astir of Paros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Of Paros Hotel Naoussa
Astir Hotel Paros
Astir Of Paros Naoussa, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing