We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, marvelous staff, magnificently maintained.”
Review of Astir of Paros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Astir of Paros
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Naoussa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We booked on the internet, and the van was there to meet us when we got off the Ferry. The owner also rode back with us on the van. Both he and his wife were around the entire stay and were lovely, charming people. When we checked in, we were given a free upgrade, perhaps because they were not full or perhaps because we were celebrating our 35th anniversary. The Waiters and Barman were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast (included) was plentiful and good. We ate dinner there 2 of the 3 nights we were there, and they set the tables up next to the pool, which is next to the sea. A lovely view! The grounds were beautiful, the art gallery small but impressive, and we also saw the inside of the Chapel on the grounds. The room was clean, comfortable and had a great view.
We would definitely stay there again.
Sue

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank sueNyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

I thought this hotel was top class. The staff were friendly, the service was good, the food was excellent and the rooms were comfortable. I would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richards6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We've done a lot of traveling and this has to be the worse experience we have ever had at a supposed 5-star hotel. Like many have said the rooms are incredibly tired and in serious need of updating. The beach is the size of postage stamp and is one of the worse I've been to in Paros. Service is awful and as other have mentioned staff seems to be in fear of the owner who is clearly not interested in her customers. At breakfast I noticed that guest had to move their own table and chairs because there was no staff to be seen. I (and others) had to request that our tables be bussed since there were no clean tables. Unfortunately the only positive thing I can say is the setting is nice and Naoussa is enjoyable during the day (with incredible food) but is crazy at night. But this place is definitely not worth money. Would never go back and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiroNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We took our entire extended family to attend a wedding in Paros, you'd think by booking a bunch of rooms the management would be accomodating. Not a chance. the pool was nice, but the rest was as follows. The bed was like a rock, they linens were old and stinky, the air conditioning didn't work, the bathroom didn't work, the shower fell on my husbands head, There were spiders in the rooms. The couches were full of dust and trust me the rooms don't look anything like the brochure. The hotel staff was totally unapologetic and unfriendly. The bar staff at the pool padded our bill with overcharges that we had to argue to get removed. During the course of our stay we meet the owner who was delusionally insisting the rooms were wonderful. NOT. I don't know how the place can advertise as five star. I would give it two.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank giannako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This hotel was simply extraordinary! we enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The staff were very accomadating and the grounds were beautiful. There were lovely flowers everywhere, the food was amazing and there was a private beach that isolated us from the rest of the world which was very tranquil. We were able to play some tennis and cool off in the crystal pool. We had a walk around the place and saw some spectacular things. We discovered, after some interrogation, that the eggs we had for breakfast were fresh from chickens they kept behind the hotel along with many other fruits and vegetables (oh, they also kept two peacocks!). We marvelled at the beautiful chapel and got lost in the grandeur of the gardens once or twice in our walks. The location is great, not too far from the town and not too close, it was within walking distance but we took the shuttle because it was still about a 15 - 20 minute walk. We ate Peeking duck one night at the chinese restaurant which we found both fabulous and strange, because we were eating chinese food in Greece. The Gourmet restaurant had the most tender and juicy steaks imported from Namibia and the desserts were just exquisite.There were a few too many cats but they didn't bother us, mostly because we are cat people :) The rooms were spacious enough and there was internet access, we took a visit to the art gallery and didn't like all the works but were impressed by some. We made friends with the girl at the bar and one of the waiters, who were very polite. We discovered guests were flying into the hotel with helicopters, I couldn't believe it when I discovered the hotel had a helipad. Overall the stay in the hotel was relaxing, and worth the money that we spent.

Paros itself is a beautiful island and we enjoyed the scenery very much. We visited some of the local beaches which were a bit bigger than the private one and soaked in some sun although they weren't as quiet they were better in other aspects. We went out for a dinner or two but the food didn't compare to the hotel's, well I suppose we had to take the costs into consideration, not that it was overpriced for the quality served. We are definitely going to return and are looking forward to a fun and relaxing, lazy holiday that secludes us with comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicbob0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My husband and I stayed here for the first two nights of our honeyoom, which was at the very end of the season (September 29 & 30). We were probably one of three couples there and it felt like our own little slice of heaven!

We may have been on a honeymoon high, but our lunch by the pool was spectacular and the breakfasts that were delivered to our room were fantastic. There was an organic local red wine in our room upon arrival that was pretty good...and Greek red wine is pretty bad overall. And we got Ouzo by the pool with a plate of feta, cucumbers, bread, olives, and tomatoes for 10 euro!

The pool area is amazing....such a beautiful setting. The beach is in a nice bay so the waves are tiny.

The entire hotel has lovely gardens....very colorful and lush! We had some crazy plants that looked like animals by our door...very cool!

There are A LOT of cats. We are highly allergic, but it didn't bother us.

The 3 hold golf course was a joke. 15 euros! And the greens were basically just grass.

The frontdesk staff were okay, not overly friendly.

The server we had at the pool restaurant was very helpful and good.

The rooms were pretty spartan and the beds weren't that soft.

The location to Naoussa was nice...not too close and not too far. We rented a moped one day (delivered to the hotel) and rode around the island....SO much fun!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. Can't say how the value was because we had a travel agent and have no idea what the rate was. However, the travel agent moved us from another hotel they had bad reviews from and we had to pay more.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

We stayed here for our honeymoon the third week of September 2008 and after an incredible stay at the Katikies Hotel in Santorini, found this hotel simply second rate.

PROS:

-The grounds are stunning. The flowers and impeccably manicured grounds are just gorgeous. When you walk around the smell of the flowers is just intoxicating and it's really a lovely setting.

-Pool. The pool is one of the most beautiful I've seen with comfortable, roomy lounge chairs and a huge poolside bar.

-Private beach with waiter/waitress service. The beach is small but steps away from the pool and very private. The only problem is the cats (see below).

-Complimentary buffet breakfast. Lots of delicious food to choose from and an excellent waitstaff.

-Location. Naoussa is a great little town with tons of restaurants and shops. It's about a ten minute walk from the hotel or a 5 Euro van ride (provided by the hotel)

CONS:

-Front Desk Staff. The front desk staff was unwelcoming, unfriendly and downright nasty. We were afraid to ask them for anything since they were so rude and unaccommodating. Upon our arrival, I inquired about a restaurant that a Greek friend had recommended. The [---] front desk woman replied in a terribly condescending tone, "Madam! Why would you EVER want to eat outside the hotel? We have a 5-star Chinese restaurant here!!!" I'm sorry, but I did not come to Greece from New York to eat at a Chinese restaurant, nevermind the fact that it's alfresco dining and was closed 3 of the 4 nights we stayed. Everything we asked of the front desk seemed to be a huge inconvenience from transportation to renting a car. And the lobby is as cold as the staff.

-Cats!! There are cats everywhere. I'm highly allergic to cats and neither my husband nor I like them. They roam the ground and poop on the beach, so I was afraid to walk on the beach without flip flops.

-Toilets. There is a major problem with the sewage system at this resort and you can't flush any paper down the toilet for fear of overflowing. This was extremely stressful to us and the first night we took a bath there was an overspill of sewage from the floor drain.

This hotel is lovely to look at but the restaurants are WAY overpriced and not that great, and the staff is cold as ice. It wants to be a 5-star hotel but until the customer service improves it will remain a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naoussa
1 mi away
Senia Hotel
Senia Hotel
#5 of 47 in Naoussa
572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kanale's Rooms & Suites
Kanale's Rooms & Suites
#7 of 47 in Naoussa
290 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mr & Mrs White
Mr & Mrs White
#18 of 47 in Naoussa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
4.4 mi away
Paros Agnanti Resort
Paros Agnanti Resort
#10 of 46 in Parikia
557 reviews
6 mi away
Yria Island Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir of Paros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir of Paros

Address: Kolymbithres, Naoussa 844 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Naoussa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Naoussa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Naoussa
Price Range: £147 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astir of Paros 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astir of Paros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Of Paros Hotel Naoussa
Astir Hotel Paros
Astir Of Paros Naoussa, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing