We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem in the middle of parikia”
Review of Argonauta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonauta Hotel
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“a gem in the middle of parikia”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel is right near the port and the town square. It is literally only 100 metres from where you get off the ferry. The airport is about 15 mins away by car. The hotel itself is only small. There is no pool or fancy mod cons. It is a beautiful little boutique hotel , the rooms are on the small side but are beautifully presented. There is an outdoor area on level 1 to sit and relax and reflect on the days activities. The breakfast provided is very nice..just about anything you want.It is a family run hotel and the people are lovely. Its not a 5 star place but it makes up for it in charm and service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    98
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
165
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is our fourth stay with the Ghikas family as we come to Paros approx every 3 years and try to always stay in the same 2 room apartment. We are a family of four and the apartment has a double bed in the bedroom and two single beds for the kids in the living area. The ability to cook small meals on the two ring hob and eat breakfast in saves money which we then can spend more enjoyably on seafood lunches and evening treats like crepes, waffles, cocktails and fresh fruit juices!

The family who own the Argonauta hotel also own this building, which is located in the winding steets of Parikia. The building houses several apartments which lie within beautiful gardens containing fruit trees, deck chairs for lounging and a hammock to boot! The apartments are entered via the gardens, through a gate off the narrow side streets, they are only 3 minutes walk to the market street but feel a world away - very quiet and peaceful. With only a few apartments, we rarely see any of the other guests and it almost feels like you are living like a local (but with the benefits of a daily cleaner and 'gardener' :) you can even take your laundry to the hotel to be done for 10euros a bag - a service i used twice.

Tassos and his mum are very kind and every time we go, we are welcomed like old friends, even though we don't come to Paros very often. If you are considering coming to Paros and want to stay in Parikia, consider these apartments. They are truly lovely and good value for money.

As for Paros itself...our recommendations are to walk the 15 minutes around the bay to Livadia beach for a day in the sun. Take the boat to Antiparos, eat lunch at 5F (delicious souvlaki and lovely family serrvice) and go to the amazing cave entered from the top of a mountain. In Parikia, Watch the sun go down each night on the promenade (most beautiful sunset in the world) and see the ferries come and go from the port. At the end of the evening, have crepes or waffles, fruit juice or cocktails, whatever strikes your fancy, at one of the cafes along the prom. Our favourite is De Facto!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbrainLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is in the center of the town and close to both the beach and the port. It is tastefully decorated. The rooms are pretty basic with a decent bathroom, but most importantly were cool with good AC. The restaurant offers a nice menu and the breakfast offered with the room gave great variety.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaybeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our stay at Argonauta hotel this summer was absolutely wonderful. And the delightful restaurant food completed out pleasant experience at Paros. The hotel is situated right in the heart of Parikia, few minutes of comfortable walk from the port. Ambience and rooms are super tasteful yet minimal, with a fabulous and personal staff team and owner hosts! Argonauta restaurant sits on the community square of the town, giving the visitor a glimpse local life. We hopped few streets to rent a 2 wheeler for some fun and relaxed beach hopping along the island coast. Enjoyed our evenings at Argonauta outdoor restaurant seating with the delicious meals in a lively setting. Highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a complete relaxed stay in Paros Island. Looking forward to our next experience at Argonauta hotel and Paros!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichaShVup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Conveniently located in the Main Street and a stones throw from the port. Room was modern and in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel, although slightly disappointed with there being no balcony (although advertised as such!) the cute internal veranda was a great place to relax and chill out. Breakfast was gorgeous and people friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheReadingParkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Bright, clean, and comfy rooms. Excellent terrace. Nice restaurant. Amazing breakfast! Centrally located in the middle of the pedestrian shopping district. Therefore, no parking anywhere nearby. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingDragon_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We needed an overnight stay near the marina before picking up a bareboat for cruising the Cyclades. Fortunately, our booking agent turned us on to Hotel Argonauta. It was the perfect spot as it was within a short walk of the marina and main town and offered stylish rooms and an upscale but reasonably priced restaurant. The hotel service was great. Paros itself is a very nice island. Parikia is worth a visit and especially Naossa in the north. And for any sailors out there, the Cyclades are a world class sailing destination comparable to Croatia with better beaches although higher variable winds.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parikia hotels
0.6 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#7 of 46 in Parikia
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
0.6 mi away
Cyclades Hotel and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#1 of 46 in Parikia
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anna Platanou Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Paros Agnanti Resort
Paros Agnanti Resort
#9 of 46 in Parikia
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonauta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonauta Hotel

Property: Argonauta Hotel
Address: Marinopoulou Street, Parikia 844 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Parikia
#8 Family Hotel in Parikia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argonauta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARGONAUTA HOTEL is located at the entrance of the old town, overlooking the main square of Parikia. It is designed in traditional Cycladic style. The hotel consists of 15 rooms, carefully furnished and tastefully decorated in soft shades of green and blue. Private balconies having views of the square or the quaint pedestrian market streets. There is also a lovely courtyard available for all to relax on the first floor. Every room is equipped with air-conditioning, safe box, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, phone, hair-dryer and essential amenities. The distance to the nearest beach is 300m. Its location is ideal for those who want to live in the center of town, and still have the luxury of a quiet place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonauta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argonauta Hotel Parikia
Argonauta Hotel Paros, Greece - Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing