We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, all the rest very basic”
Review of Hotel Asterias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Asterias
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in Parikia
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, all the rest very basic”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The hotel is in a great location, in front of the beach ( lots of boats there, to sunbathe you have to walk about 5 min). Lots of restaurants in the area, cheaper then the "centre" of town, which is about 15 min walk.
The rooms are really basic, not very clean, the toilet is tiny, deco is dated, full of mosquitos....but to us it was fine considering the price we paid for 1 week accomodation.
The breakfast is also very basic, don't expect fruits or any natural juices, but they offered bread, jams, cakes and cereals.
The owner was very friendly and helpful and the staff was polite in the few occasions we had contact with them.
I would reccomend this hotel for it's value and location.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    12
    10
    18
See reviews for
7
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Great breakfast, best we had after staying at about 10 hotels over last month! Nice clean and tidy rooms, not too cramped. Nice pool, great location. Would recommend to others. Only negative was very unfriendly front desk staff!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackpackerGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Trust me I am not a picky traveller but on the 4 hotels I stayed in during my trip this is the only one I would not recommend. From outside, the hotel looks great but inside it's very dark and the rooms are even a little dirty. Noisy during the night and the staff, except for this lovely french lady, were rude. My friend got yelled at for breaking a cup by mistake. The pool was dirty. Almost nothing for breakfast. For the same price Im sure you can find better. If you end up staying there go next door for breakfast at café Bodega for a delicious crepe or eggs and bacon!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGirlMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parikia hotels

Zanesville, OH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We had initially booked a suite at Sunny Villas, but we got there and no one was there, then when they showed up they forgot to turn on the power, then they forgot to turn on the hot water... we were the only people there, so the owner "set us up" in his other hotel... Hotel Asterias. The room was very loud (you could hear everything going on in the lobby and hallway,) the staff wasn't at all helpful, the bed very uncomfortable, and the breakfast was cold.

On the other hand, the location was perfect, and the island is beautiful... I hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zrooster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Well apart from the pool and that I stayed only for 2 nights, thank goodness, I wouldn't recommend staying in this drabby hotel. When you think of Greece this place certainly wouldn't be on my to do list, let alone anything else. The breakfast was terrible, the service at the hotel was well below par and the room interior was 1950's. Also if you like spending half the night hitting mosquittos good luck to you. BAD BAD NEWS

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Room decor and breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolFC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland and Labrador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

The staff at this hotel are very friendly. We were quite pleased with our room, it was very clean, we loved having a fridge, and we had a great sea view from our balcony. The pool is small but more than adeqaute for those hot days. The hotel is in a great location surrounded by restaurants and tavernas. We loved a restaurant that was on a side street just down from the hotel called Ambrosia.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riley34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2008

The location was great, walking distance to the beach and shopping/dining. LOVED the restaurant the manager suggested - a taverna a few doors down with a name I can't pronounce. (Staff was very helpful in ensuring smooth travels to our next stop, even calling ahead to the hotel for us.) The rooms were clean and simple. The breakfast was also relatively simple, but from everything I read before the trip, it's what I expected. And the views from the patio were unbeatable.

  • Liked — Location, staff, views
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank loftydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parikia hotels
0.3 mi away
Irene Hotel and Studios
Irene Hotel and Studios
#14 of 45 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arian Hotel
Arian Hotel
#15 of 45 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paros
Hotel Paros
#19 of 45 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pandrossos Hotel
Pandrossos Hotel
#38 of 45 in Parikia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#37 of 45 in Parikia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polos Hotel
Polos Hotel
#13 of 45 in Parikia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterias

Property: Hotel Asterias
Address: Parikia 84400, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asterias 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Asterias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterias Hotel Parikia
Hotel Asterias Paros, Greece - Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing