We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Asterias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Asterias
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

I stayed here on a tour and had some serious issues with the owner. My passport and debit card went missing while the room was locked and I had to go to the police. The only people who could have taken it was the owner or the maid. My tour guide and I ended up searching all around the area after we were told by the police it usually shows up. After an hour of looking and me cancelling my debit card, my tour guide went back to the table in front of the hotel and found my bag (with my passport and debit card and everything in it) in front of the hotel where I wasn't even sitting and hadn't sat at all. The owner told me, "Maybe one of the guys on the tour was playing a practical joke on you and took it." First of all, there were only 4 guys on the tour. Secondly, he smirked at me when he said it. After he said that, I knew that he had taken it. The owner obviously doesn't have any respect for his guests. The other thing that I hated about this hotel is that three girls were sharing this room that supposedly was a triple, but was the same size as all the other people's rooms on the tour that were doubles. We couldn't get the air to work, and the owner was a jerk about that too. It was the WORST hotel I have ever stayed at and I have been all over the world to places including Africa and Asia.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovestotravel778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    12
    10
    18
See reviews for
7
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Simple well-located hotel , BUT the rooms need urgent renovation.
The furniture is quite old and the fridge and AC in my room were very noisy. I had even to unplug the fridge to sleep because the buzzing was driving me crazy.
The location is good though. It's close to the port, bus station, city center, supermarket, stores, bars, restaurant and a small urban beach.
The swimming pool looks more like a big bathtub. If you want a hotel with a REAL pool, forget this one.
Wi-fi is not free and it did not work for me. Breakfast was basic, but good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobViajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parikia hotels

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

The hotel is in a great location, in front of the beach ( lots of boats there, to sunbathe you have to walk about 5 min). Lots of restaurants in the area, cheaper then the "centre" of town, which is about 15 min walk.
The rooms are really basic, not very clean, the toilet is tiny, deco is dated, full of mosquitos....but to us it was fine considering the price we paid for 1 week accomodation.
The breakfast is also very basic, don't expect fruits or any natural juices, but they offered bread, jams, cakes and cereals.
The owner was very friendly and helpful and the staff was polite in the few occasions we had contact with them.
I would reccomend this hotel for it's value and location.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

Great breakfast, best we had after staying at about 10 hotels over last month! Nice clean and tidy rooms, not too cramped. Nice pool, great location. Would recommend to others. Only negative was very unfriendly front desk staff!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackpackerGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

Trust me I am not a picky traveller but on the 4 hotels I stayed in during my trip this is the only one I would not recommend. From outside, the hotel looks great but inside it's very dark and the rooms are even a little dirty. Noisy during the night and the staff, except for this lovely french lady, were rude. My friend got yelled at for breaking a cup by mistake. The pool was dirty. Almost nothing for breakfast. For the same price Im sure you can find better. If you end up staying there go next door for breakfast at café Bodega for a delicious crepe or eggs and bacon!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGirlMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville, OH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

We had initially booked a suite at Sunny Villas, but we got there and no one was there, then when they showed up they forgot to turn on the power, then they forgot to turn on the hot water... we were the only people there, so the owner "set us up" in his other hotel... Hotel Asterias. The room was very loud (you could hear everything going on in the lobby and hallway,) the staff wasn't at all helpful, the bed very uncomfortable, and the breakfast was cold.

On the other hand, the location was perfect, and the island is beautiful... I hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zrooster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2008

Well apart from the pool and that I stayed only for 2 nights, thank goodness, I wouldn't recommend staying in this drabby hotel. When you think of Greece this place certainly wouldn't be on my to do list, let alone anything else. The breakfast was terrible, the service at the hotel was well below par and the room interior was 1950's. Also if you like spending half the night hitting mosquittos good luck to you. BAD BAD NEWS

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Room decor and breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolFC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parikia hotels
0.1 mi away
Arian Hotel
Arian Hotel
#15 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paros
Hotel Paros
#18 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Irene Hotel and Studios
Irene Hotel and Studios
#14 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cyclades Hotel and Studios
0.1 mi away
Polos Hotel
Polos Hotel
#13 of 46 in Parikia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kontes
Hotel Kontes
#31 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterias

Property: Hotel Asterias
Address: Parikia 84400, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asterias 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Asterias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterias Hotel Parikia
Hotel Asterias Paros, Greece - Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing