We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange service”
Review of Trata

Trata
Ranked #33 of 83 Restaurants in Parikia
Price range: US$17 - US$28
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Strange service”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

First night in Paros and we were recommended this place by our guest house. Arrived and the place was only half full. We were sat down and had to wait a good while to be served as the lady that sat us down appeared not to speak English, I'll come back to her later. After waiting for a good few minutes for someone else to be made available we eventually were asked if we were eating, to which we replied yes. It must have been nearly ten minutes before we got a drink. We then ordered a few plates of mixed stuff, a crab salad which was made from seafood sticks which must contravene trade descriptions and a couple of other items. Each item arrived five minutes apart from one another which made for a really disjointed meal. I fully understand the concept of food arriving when it's ready in Greece but this was too long. To be fair the other dishes were tasty but I would have like to have enjoyed them all together.
We did get a feeling at this place that we were not as welcome as some of the other guests.
The next day we walked by and the lady who did not appear to speak English was having a full conversation with some customers in English. Wierd experience in all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    63
    38
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“simple food at its best”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

In June 13 we ate in Trata twice and both times found the food to be so tasty, how they take such basic ingredients and turn them into such delightful food is amazing. the octopus in wine and the aubergine dish were very tasty. The service is good, a family run delight in Parikia. Turn right when facing the ferry port and walk along to the little harbour, its in a side street by the ancient cemetery. do yourself a favour and try it. Oh, and its not expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianTcoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastico!!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I am greek and i leave in Italy.Ive been in Paros 2 times and this will be the third this summer.If i had to describe Paros with some words , one of them would be -Trata- ..Instead of all the touristic standard food that you will find even in restaurants in front of the sea, i totally and higly recommend you to prefer and go to Trata.This taverna like we say , is the real taste of greek food , made by the hands of the great Leta and Lefteris(owners).Absolutely delicious , tranditional and clean, they give you the impression that you are eating ''from the hands of your mother''.Also the atmosphere is perfect and the service of Georgia (their daughter) very high and friendly.The absolute greek tastes, hospitality, warmness and kindness!Dont miss this and also ''kavourosalata''!!!;-) I cant wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafni-Lore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were reccomended the restaurant by our pension and were so pleased we went back for my husbands birthday. The food was the best we had in Paros very fresh tastiest dolma des I have ever had. The host is the chef's daughter and she was very attentive and very helpful with choosing coeliac friendly dishes. The restaurant was lovely and clean with some very cute cats looking hopeful. The host also russled up a candle for a surprise desert for the birthday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatLoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Been twice already, food service everything excellent very good for gluten free hostess is also gluten free and can get food made up to suit. Stuffed squid, sardines, eggplant very tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BFCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trata also viewed

 
Parikia, Paros
Parikia, Paros
 

Been to Trata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing