We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the heart of Parikia”
Review of Pension Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Sofia
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Oasis in the heart of Parikia”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in June and could not fault anything.
Picked up from and dropped back at the Port by Sofia's husband Manolis.
Rooms clean but relatively small but all have a balcony or terace so you can enjoy the view over the gardens.
Breakfast is optional but you can just have a coffee if you prefer.
Fantasitc gardens with loads of shade if you want to avoid the sun and seems like home with the cats, dog and rabbits to name but a few of their pets.
5 minutes walk to the centre of town - 2 minutes to the beach.
Excellent value for money
If you are looking for a peaceful, friendly haven within minutes of a beach and nightlfe if you want it then look no further.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garymich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    42
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
193
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We had a great experience at Pension Sofia. They were very helpful picking us up and dropping us off at the port. The grounds are lovely and the room is very clean. It is a very quiet location and is a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the middle of town. They were very helpful with recommendations and accommodated us quickly for another evening when our ferry was cancelled due to high winds. We recommend staying at Pension Sofia.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCCampbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My husband and I just got back from our trip in Greece. We made a last minute decision while in Santorini to stop at another island and we chose Paros. We called up Pension Sofia and are so happy they had a room for us.

We were picked up at the ferry and taken back to the hotel. We got a room on the second floor overlooking the beautiful garden with a sea view. It is a perfect location, just off the main street and a little off the square. All of the restaurants and shops are easy to walk to. The breakfast is so delicious. The toast and fresh cakes and omelettes are terrific! We enjoyed this place very very much and the value for your money is fantastic!! Best of any of the other island hotels.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We booked the day before by phone and explained it was our honeymoon. We got a beautiful room with a balcony with a sea view. There were free shower gels and shampoos of good quality, we were picked up from the port by the wonderful Manilos and greeted by Sofia on arrival. We were given cake and coffee on arrival as the room wasn't quite ready but it didn't matter as we remained in the shade of the 'botanical' garden. There were lovely flowers throughout the gardens and growing on the balconies. The hosts were really genuinely lovely people and the rooms were very clean. You should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferyellowhat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Pension Sofia is the right choice for a wonderful holiday in Paros. Rooms are very nice, basic but with all the necessary, including air conditioning and hair dryer.
The location is perfect, close to the centre of Parikia, but very quiet, also the cinema close to the hotel changed its location.
Sofia Manolis and their daughter are more than nice, and breakfast in the garden in the morning is terrific. Our 5 years old daughter loved the garden, and she usually spent a lot of time there in the afternoon without any danger around, we could just look at her from the balcony.I would come back for sure and strongly recomand this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cacioepere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This is an almost perfect place to stay at, if you are interested in coming to Paros. Clean, close to (ok) beaches and harbor, wonderful owners. Internet connection is too slow to be good for anything more than email/web. Everything else great, best value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingdudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The Pension Sofia was a wonderful accommodation experience. The garden setting is very beautiful (olive trees, green lawns, places to sit; to eat; to drink coffee or tea in the morning). My room was so nice, with a fab little balcony and a view to peaceful Parikia harbour, including the sunset if you like. The room was sunny and colourful. Bathroom was totally fine and the bed very comfortable. The ground level rooms don't get the sea view, but they have little courtyards on to the garden. Your hosts - Sofia and Manolis - are a complete delight and extremely helpful, they will pick you up from the port and the coffee is great..! The room rate was excellent. I paid 40 euros per night, some of the best value for money I have experienced for anywhere in the Greek Islands.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathan_harris_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parikia hotels
0.1 mi away
Cyclades Hotel and Studios
0.8 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#1 of 46 in Parikia
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#7 of 46 in Parikia
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
0.8 mi away
Anna Platanou Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sunset View Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sofia

Property: Pension Sofia
Address: Parikia 84400, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
#2 Family Hotel in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofia Pension is an A class traditional Cycladic style hotel pension complex, located in the heart of a huge verdant garden with roses, basil, bougainvilleas, jasmines.It has direct access to the town center, the beach and the restaurants, while at the same time it is a serene and quiet complex, ideal for peaceful holidays.All the rooms have satellite television(BBC WORLD NEWS,TV5 MONDE,ARTE,and one Italian channel).There is free wifi in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pension Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Parikia
Pension Sofia Paros, Greece - Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing