We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Spot and Super Friendly Owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Sofia
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Spot and Super Friendly Owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here a week ago, during our honeymoon. The owners could not have been nicer. They picked us up at the ferry dock, gave us great suggestion for places to eat, things to see and where to watch the sunset. They have an spotless well kept garden and served us breakfast made to order every morning.

Room Tip: You have a great view of the sunsets from the second floor west facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd-Montse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    40
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
181
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We found pension Sofia through tripadvisor and were definitely not disappointed!

The location is great, as it is in the centre of Paroikia but on a quiet road, with an amazing garden. The hosts are very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome: one of the reasons why we chose this hotel was because it was advertised as pet friendly and we were traveling with our (very well behaved!) dog, Anastasia, who also loved it there! Sofia and Manolis were very nice to her (and to us!) and kindly picked us up from the port and drove us back upon our departure.

The room was well appointed, even though a bit on the small side, and had everything one could ask for, including a hair-dryer (always a bonus!), a tv, free - and working! - wifi, a refrigerator and a kettle, a lovely balcony and one of the best showers we've encountered while staying at similar pensions around the Cyclades. Bonus points for daily service, regular sheet and towel changing and cleanliness in general.

We hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d_nassimpian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

If someone would have told me 15 years ago, that Heaven exists on earth, probably....., but it really exists an this place id called Pensión Sofía in Parikia, Island of Paros in Greece. First time I visited the place it was a strange feeling, as something known, a past life.. who knows, but ever since then, it is like comming HOME. Sofía, Manolis and Evita, become our Greek Family, we have seen Evita growing during these years and is now almost a Lady. These fantastic people make you feel like family, they take care of you and make you always have a pleasant stay. Since 1998, Sofía has always been, the best place to go on holidays and after 3 years with our comming, se have returned home. Today is my last day here, but I am already thinking what fantastic days I will send here next year. Sofía & Manolis, efjaristo parapoli.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I loved Pension Sofia! I would definitely stay there again! I felt at home and very welcomed to be there.it was so great, I felt like I was saying goodbye to family when I left!

The room was decorated so sweet, the bed was comfortable, and everything was kept so spotlessly clean. I'm not sure about the other rooms but my room had a shower witha handheld shower nozzle.
There are about 12 rooms on the property.

There is wifi and use of a computer and phone in a common area.

The grounds are beautiful with olive and fruit trees and beautiful plants and flowers.
It's only 2 small blocks to walk to the main street at the port.

I was there for a week and really enjoyed it.
The whole place is cared for with love.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed two nights at Pension Sofia. The owners were really friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was really good (especially the Greek yogurt and Sofia’s homemade cakes). The pension has beautiful gardens and is well located, close to the port. Sofia and her husband are not in the business just for money, they are genuinely happy to welcome their guests. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

This has been one of the best places we have ever stayed. Quiet, private the gardens were stunning with a huge amount of detail and thought put into them and the rooms. Little conveniences all thought of, very tasty breakfasts and gorgeous cats giving it a lovely homely feel. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatLoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here a year ago and came back a second time because its just wonderful. You will be picked up from the port which is nice when you are hot and tired from travelling. Sofia and Manilos are wonderful....nothing is a problem and they have a beautiful property for you to relax in if you don't want to do the beach thing. Rooms are immaculately clean, spacious and you can walk 5 mins to a beach or the old town and port. I really can't say how wonderful Pension Sofia is, just book it, you won't be disappointed. Oh and great high speed internet from your room!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensionsofia, Owner at Pension Sofia, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you very much!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parikia
0.1 mi away
Cyclades Hotel and Studios
0.9 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#1 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#2 of 46 in Naoussa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#6 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset View
Sunset View
#4 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sofia

Property: Pension Sofia
Address: Parikia 84400, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
#2 Family Hotel in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofia Pension is an A class traditional Cycladic style hotel pension complex, located in the heart of a huge verdant garden with roses, basil, bougainvilleas, jasmines.It has direct access to the town center, the beach and the restaurants, while at the same time it is a serene and quiet complex, ideal for peaceful holidays.All the rooms have satellite television(BBC WORLD NEWS,TV5 MONDE,ARTE,and one Italian channel).There is free wifi in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Parikia
Pension Sofia Paros, Greece - Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing