We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piece of Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Sofia
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The location is excellent from all perspectives: not too far from crowded street, but very quiet, beautiful flower arrangements which covers almost the entire yard, but with an extreme good taste, three lovely cats and a funniest dog seen in Parikia.
The rooms have simple arrangement, with warm and beautiful colours that reminds once again that you are spending your time on a beautiful Greek island.
On top of that, the host was absolutely wonderful. A three member family, having one daughter, Sofia and Manolis have demonstrated high human qualities, very communicative, warm people, always interested in your well being while staying at the pension.
They gained my respect forever and stamped an ever green memory in my life!

Warmest regards & hugs to Sofia and Manolis!
Sincerely,
Cosmin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    40
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
181
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This family-run pension is suitable for travelers of all ages and tastes. It is an Oasis in Paros, both literally and metaphorically. The garden is just amazing, and one can have home-made breakfast at one of its many beautiful spots. Breakfast is actually prepared and served by the owners' Sofia and Manolis - try the cakes, they are actually baked by Sofia herself. This couple is amazing - traditional Greek hospitality in its fullest. They are kind, they will do anything to make the visitor happy. They genuinely CARE about their clients, as if they are their family. The rooms are extremely clean, and have a view of the brilliant gardens. The pension is very quiet, day and night, ideal for relaxing and a perfect night's sleep. Never waited for anything we asked for - Sofia and Manolis would immediately rush to help!. A/C, warm water, safe, hairdryer etc. were fully functioning. The pension is situated just 2 minutes from the beach and main street of Parikia, so we managed to combine relaxation with shopping, swimming, a late drink. These people really know what hospitality means! And their professionalism is an bright example for the Industry. It was a great pleasure to stay in Pension Sofia, and we will definitely stay there again. Bravo!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atrius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Gar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Sofia and her husband operate this beautiful tranquil oasis in a convenient location in Paros. They are an extremely friendly and genuinely nice couple who cannot do enough to help guests. The house itself is very nice with the rooms spotless, we had breakfast served to us every morning in the garden with its fabulous plants and water features. To me this place is an enjoyable as any 5 star lodgings with a much warmer welcome than many of its more expensive competitors. A visit to Greece is not complete without a stay at Pension Sofia.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank legaleagle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here a week ago, during our honeymoon. The owners could not have been nicer. They picked us up at the ferry dock, gave us great suggestion for places to eat, things to see and where to watch the sunset. They have an spotless well kept garden and served us breakfast made to order every morning.

Room Tip: You have a great view of the sunsets from the second floor west facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd-Montse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We found pension Sofia through tripadvisor and were definitely not disappointed!

The location is great, as it is in the centre of Paroikia but on a quiet road, with an amazing garden. The hosts are very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome: one of the reasons why we chose this hotel was because it was advertised as pet friendly and we were traveling with our (very well behaved!) dog, Anastasia, who also loved it there! Sofia and Manolis were very nice to her (and to us!) and kindly picked us up from the port and drove us back upon our departure.

The room was well appointed, even though a bit on the small side, and had everything one could ask for, including a hair-dryer (always a bonus!), a tv, free - and working! - wifi, a refrigerator and a kettle, a lovely balcony and one of the best showers we've encountered while staying at similar pensions around the Cyclades. Bonus points for daily service, regular sheet and towel changing and cleanliness in general.

We hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d_nassimpian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

If someone would have told me 15 years ago, that Heaven exists on earth, probably....., but it really exists an this place id called Pensión Sofía in Parikia, Island of Paros in Greece. First time I visited the place it was a strange feeling, as something known, a past life.. who knows, but ever since then, it is like comming HOME. Sofía, Manolis and Evita, become our Greek Family, we have seen Evita growing during these years and is now almost a Lady. These fantastic people make you feel like family, they take care of you and make you always have a pleasant stay. Since 1998, Sofía has always been, the best place to go on holidays and after 3 years with our comming, se have returned home. Today is my last day here, but I am already thinking what fantastic days I will send here next year. Sofía & Manolis, efjaristo parapoli.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I loved Pension Sofia! I would definitely stay there again! I felt at home and very welcomed to be there.it was so great, I felt like I was saying goodbye to family when I left!

The room was decorated so sweet, the bed was comfortable, and everything was kept so spotlessly clean. I'm not sure about the other rooms but my room had a shower witha handheld shower nozzle.
There are about 12 rooms on the property.

There is wifi and use of a computer and phone in a common area.

The grounds are beautiful with olive and fruit trees and beautiful plants and flowers.
It's only 2 small blocks to walk to the main street at the port.

I was there for a week and really enjoyed it.
The whole place is cared for with love.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parikia
0.1 mi away
Cyclades Hotel and Studios
0.9 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#1 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#2 of 46 in Naoussa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#6 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset View
Sunset View
#4 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sofia

Property: Pension Sofia
Address: Parikia 84400, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
#2 Family Hotel in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofia Pension is an A class traditional Cycladic style hotel pension complex, located in the heart of a huge verdant garden with roses, basil, bougainvilleas, jasmines.It has direct access to the town center, the beach and the restaurants, while at the same time it is a serene and quiet complex, ideal for peaceful holidays.All the rooms have satellite television(BBC WORLD NEWS,TV5 MONDE,ARTE,and one Italian channel).There is free wifi in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Parikia
Pension Sofia Paros, Greece - Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing