We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view lovely island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset View
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely view lovely island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Stayed at the sunset view 18th of july. Was slightly worried what I had booked but I should not have worried.

Flew into Mykonos where we had a pleasant wait of 4 hours for the ferry but It was nice to relax in the harbour and grab lunch.

The coach dropped us off on the main road and Parikia and we looked a bit lost but the Sunsets owner was there to grab our cases and point us up the hill to the apartments.

We were given a apartment next to the pool with a patio area. The partments a quite big and comfy with a nice seperate bathroom. The cooking facilites are typical of all greek apartments but it they were clean and fairly new and adequate to make breakfast and lunch in.

The Sunset has a lovely large pool and a snack bar/restaurant on site where the food is good if you don't fancy a stroll into town .

The week we were there, we were surrounded by some great other people who made the holliday. We kept finiding ourselves sitting out each evening chatting away to the couples in the apartments adjacent to us. Enjoying ourselves so much we werent making it into town for dinner till 10pm each night.

Parikia itself is a lovely traditonal old greek town/port. Theres plenty of choice for bars and restaurant. We found the best to be in the old town area. If you can find the cafe opposite the wired internet cafe ran by the Scottish lady karen. She is an awesome host and the bar even has live music some nights and they do an fantastic breakfast to boot. She will also give you directions to the best steak house in town sorry i cnat remember its name.

Didnt have a bad meal all week and found the best dessert's at the Love cafe.

The sunset actually are better than the pictures show of it in any brochure. The place has been done up since the brochure pictures were taken. Only downside is the little steep hill upto the property so it's totally no good for the older generation im afraid unless you are very fit.. Theres a supermarket on the main road just down from the apartments so its not to far to haul the groceries

Hired two quad bikes to see the island and we managed to find some very isolated little beaches . The island such a lovely small place to explore. Santa maria in the north has probably the biggest stretch of sand but Parikia's beaches are great if you don't fancy exploring

We had a great holiday i just wished it could have carried on for longer. You wont be disappointed by what you get at the sunset or in Parikia. And to the others who we met thank you for such a great time and yes im still in the uk

  • Liked — the views and the company
  • Disliked — the hill
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    47
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
108
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, Suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

We booked a two centre holiday on Naxos and Paros through Kosmar for my wife and four year old boy and fortunately we chose Paros as the second week and this as our apartment.

Arranged own transfer on blue star ferries on line which was easy and reliable. Got to Sunset View about 10am. Taxi's will know the location. Surprised to find that the room was prepared and ready for us at that time. Considering the Kosmar reps are invsible we were relieved that we were expected at all. The wife of the owner speaks good English and was friendly and welcoming.

We were given a one bedroom apartment with terrace which opened out onto the pool. The bedroom alone was bigger than the whole apartment on Naxos. Kitchen equipment was adequate and to be honest hardly needed. (except fridge which was vital). Rooms were kept clean and we had no mosquito problems inside (used zapper and windows fitted with nets). We did get a few bites during the evening when sat outside by the pool watching fantastic sunsets and I would struggle to think of a better location to beat your wife at Crib, Scrabble etc while the little one sleeps close by! No noise disturbance at all experienced mainly because of the walk up the hill to the apartments. It isn't far, but in the heat of the day when taxi's also seem to siesta it can be draining.

The pool temperature was great and the pool has plenty to interest children of which there were not many. In fact I only noticed one other child guest. Pool surface was dragged with a net daily. There is some sand/flaky paint debris on bottom but nothing to worry about. The staff all work very hard and they had just hired another two while we were there.

The reception will arrange car hire if you want it and they deliver and collect from hotel. Generally the island is much easier to get around than Naxos and the beaches better. Both main towns are lovely. Recommend the water taxi from the harbour front for some close great beaches.

We met lots of nice people during our stay (even more competitive than us!) Hi to all. Would thoroughly recommend these apartments to anyone but elderly/infirm.

  • Liked — Total relaxation feel
  • Disliked — Walking up hill to it
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogman229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2008

We enjoyed our staying in this hotel very much!!! The hotel is on a hill close to the centre of Paroikia, so every balcony has a breath taking view! We loved the sunset and the night view of Paroikia from our balcony! So we would strongly recommend this hotel for young couples for romantic moments! Really nice hotel with comfortable rooms, a roofed private parking area, the breakfast was ok, the only negative we can say is that the pool was a little bit filthy, but who cares! Paros is an island with great beaches!

  • Liked — The great view from our balcony
  • Disliked — The reception service
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

We stayed at Sunset View as part of a two centre Paros/Mykonos trip that webooked through Kosmar. We'd looked up its reviews here on TripAdvisor before we booked, so we were confident it would be a good place to stay. We weren't disappointed and in fact it would be safe to say that it exceeded our expectations by quite a margin. Simply put this is one of the best places we've ever stayed, especially in Greece which has a reputation for being a little on the basic side.
Our accommodation consisted of a 1 bedroom apartment with a large, spacious, well decorated and well appointed bedroom, a very good bathroom, seperate cooking and sitting area (which we never used, except as "extra space" for stashing stuff), a small front terrace and air conditioning that was icy cold. The windows were fitted with mosquito screens so you could leave them open without worrying about insects getting in, as well as with bars so you also didn't have to worry about miscreants getting in - not that there were any around.
There was daily maid service and towel change and the rooms were kept spotlessly clean, as was the whole complex, which is very picturesque. The views over the ocean are lovely, especially as evening descends. We enjoyed a pre-hitting-the-town drink on the terrace overlooking the sea on a few occasions.
As stated in another review, the staff consisted of the owner, his wife and a maid, though they were assisted by the son & daughter occasionally. This is typical of Greek family run businesses and is not a problem, provided they can cope with the workload. At the time we were there they could cope admirably, though admittedly it was not quite the busy season, which began the weekend that we left.
Gripes? We only have two. First is the long uphill slog from town; there's nothing that can be done about that, it is where it is, but Kosmar don't make mention of it and it would be no good for those with walking difficulties or just those who are plain unfit!
Second, one day we were going to Naxos, a neighbouring island, and needed our passports, ferry tickets and money out of the safe (which is in reception). Reception was locked and there was no one around, which gave us mild panic for an hour or so until the owner returned. Lucky the ferry wasn't for another hour or so. I'd think that for safety if for no other reason there should always have been someone around and hopefully this is not something that's repeated often.
At the time that we went the other guests were all what I would politely describe as "older couples", older even than us and we're in our mid 40's. This suited us fine, as we wanted somewhere quiet and relaxed, not overrun by boisterous youths or screaming kids.
As a resort Parikia was perfect. Almost 2 miles of seafront backed from start to finish with great tavernas, bars and cafes. We wanted to try every one of them - without exception there was nowhere we looked at that we thought "I wouldn't go in there". The Kastro area is lovely, as are the pretty, narrow backstreets, especially in the evening when the shops seem to come to life. It's a great base for seeing other islands too with regular ferry departures. We visited Naxos from here and also travelled to Mykonos.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return without hesitation.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, views, pretty pool area.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SymiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

This hotel has everything!!

* Perfect location - only 10 min walk to the port centre and the sea. The town is filled with sea front restaurants, chilled out music bars and the winding streets are crammed with tiny shops selling everything from olives, cakes, souvenirs and wine

*Beautiful panoramic views over Parikia Bay (apt name for the hotel) Sunsets here are the best,

*Lovely pool with amazing water feature and with kids section and swim up tables for drinks

*Gorgeous, reasonably priced food and drinks if you want it
(esp. the greek salads) You can have meals at your terrace if you want!

*Fab rooms with sea views, well equipped kitchen area, huge upright fan, sky tv, fridge and lovley sit down shower

*Friendly staff - came and collected our cases on arrival and will do anything from booking a taxi to helping with Greek phrases!

*Spotlessly clean - towels and bins changed every day and floors and surfaces cleaned every day

But most of all the peace and tranquilty is great. This hotel is a gem, one in a million and I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Beautiful views and peace and quiet
  • Disliked — The hilly stroll home! But taxis are cheap!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank louise247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2007

We made our second trip to Sunset View on the 5th May and were pleased to find it exactly as before; but with one huge improvement. The pool problem we encountered on our last visit, and the justifiable complaint of a previous reviewer seems to have been resolved. The water was very clean and it was frequently used by my wife, who wouldn't have dipped a toe in it last year.
We really love the views and value the peacefull atmosphere. As it is the start of the season there were only a few others there, but that is fine by us. The steep road up to the rooms reminder us that a little more exercise wouldn't go amiss, but this was rewarded by being able to rexal with a cool glass of Mythos and watch the sunset or the activity down at Parikia port.
Will I go there again ? Next year with a bit of luck.

Dave A

  • Liked — run by nice people, fantastic view, quiet
  • Disliked — the steep road to it, but that goes with the view.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2006

September 2006 We booked in the last week in September - the room was lovely and the view was fabulous, but there were only 3 other rooms occupied. The pool was filthy, full of leaves and dead insects, the bar was supposed to be open but there was never anyone in there serving - when we went down for water the water was never in the fridge, therefore it was warm and on top of that we could not get anything to eat without ordering it in the morning and then there was limited choice. There was only the owner and his wife and one maid there was no other staff. The place was well looked after and the position was brilliant but I would not go again and they definitely need a pool man ! Yuck!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the service
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go there
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonJovbiggestiFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parikia
2.4 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
1.1 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#1 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
4.7 mi away
Senia Hotel
Senia Hotel
#4 of 46 in Naoussa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Argonauta Hotel
Argonauta Hotel
#9 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#6 of 46 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#3 of 46 in Naoussa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset View

Property: Sunset View
Address: | Klimata, Parikia 84400, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
#7 Family Hotel in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset View 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset View Hotel & Apartments, one of the best hotels in Paros, it has been built amphitheatrically above the town of Parikia , in a unique traditional island style. The family hotel offers a pleasant stay with a variety of amenities. The rooms of one space and the apartments are surrounded by large terraces or balconies with amazing views of the town of Parikia, the pool, the unique bay of Parikia with the deep blue of the sea and of course the sunset. Only 10 minutes from the port but away from the noise of the center, 9 km from Naoussa and a junction point for the other villages and beaches. The quiet atmosphere and aesthetic quality, make your holiday at Sunset View a highly wonderful experience. All the one room apartments are featured with a double and a single bed and can accommodate 2-3 people. The two bedroom apartments, feature a double bed and the rest of the rooms are equipped with single beds to accommodate 4, 5 and 6 people. The two-room suites feature a separate living room and large terrace with table and chairs. Sunset view is featured with restaurant and lounge cocktail bar with a stanning view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset View Parikia
Sunset View Hotel Parikia
Sunset View Paros, Greece - Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing