We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, worth the hill!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset View Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2009

The Sunset View are nicely located out of town. The worst bit also accounts for the best bit. The apartments are located up a steep hill away from the main road. Despite the sharp incline and final stairs to reach the property, when you arrive you have a commanding view of Parikia and the islands of Serifos, and Sifnos in the distance.

Its got a gorgeous pool which was rarely used and is fairly quiet all day.

The rooms are spacious, but if you are on the ground floor some can be a little dark - the compensation for this is that they are also cool!

Its a beautiful place to stay, can't recommend it highly enough, though would not be suited for the less mobile

You are 15-20 minutes out of town, downhill on the way down for your evening meal but uphill on the way back!

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank Hellonophile20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Sunset View Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2008

Stayed at the sunset view 18th of july. Was slightly worried what I had booked but I should not have worried.

Flew into Mykonos where we had a pleasant wait of 4 hours for the ferry but It was nice to relax in the harbour and grab lunch.

The coach dropped us off on the main road and Parikia and we looked a bit lost but the Sunsets owner was there to grab our cases and point us up the hill to the apartments.

We were given a apartment next to the pool with a patio area. The partments a quite big and comfy with a nice seperate bathroom. The cooking facilites are typical of all greek apartments but it they were clean and fairly new and adequate to make breakfast and lunch in.

The Sunset has a lovely large pool and a snack bar/restaurant on site where the food is good if you don't fancy a stroll into town .

The week we were there, we were surrounded by some great other people who made the holliday. We kept finiding ourselves sitting out each evening chatting away to the couples in the apartments adjacent to us. Enjoying ourselves so much we werent making it into town for dinner till 10pm each night.

Parikia itself is a lovely traditonal old greek town/port. Theres plenty of choice for bars and restaurant. We found the best to be in the old town area. If you can find the cafe opposite the wired internet cafe ran by the Scottish lady karen. She is an awesome host and the bar even has live music some nights and they do an fantastic breakfast to boot. She will also give you directions to the best steak house in town sorry i cnat remember its name.

Didnt have a bad meal all week and found the best dessert's at the Love cafe.

The sunset actually are better than the pictures show of it in any brochure. The place has been done up since the brochure pictures were taken. Only downside is the little steep hill upto the property so it's totally no good for the older generation im afraid unless you are very fit.. Theres a supermarket on the main road just down from the apartments so its not to far to haul the groceries

Hired two quad bikes to see the island and we managed to find some very isolated little beaches . The island such a lovely small place to explore. Santa maria in the north has probably the biggest stretch of sand but Parikia's beaches are great if you don't fancy exploring

We had a great holiday i just wished it could have carried on for longer. You wont be disappointed by what you get at the sunset or in Parikia. And to the others who we met thank you for such a great time and yes im still in the uk

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We booked a two centre holiday on Naxos and Paros through Kosmar for my wife and four year old boy and fortunately we chose Paros as the second week and this as our apartment.

Arranged own transfer on blue star ferries on line which was easy and reliable. Got to Sunset View about 10am. Taxi's will know the location. Surprised to find that the room was prepared and ready for us at that time. Considering the Kosmar reps are invsible we were relieved that we were expected at all. The wife of the owner speaks good English and was friendly and welcoming.

We were given a one bedroom apartment with terrace which opened out onto the pool. The bedroom alone was bigger than the whole apartment on Naxos. Kitchen equipment was adequate and to be honest hardly needed. (except fridge which was vital). Rooms were kept clean and we had no mosquito problems inside (used zapper and windows fitted with nets). We did get a few bites during the evening when sat outside by the pool watching fantastic sunsets and I would struggle to think of a better location to beat your wife at Crib, Scrabble etc while the little one sleeps close by! No noise disturbance at all experienced mainly because of the walk up the hill to the apartments. It isn't far, but in the heat of the day when taxi's also seem to siesta it can be draining.

The pool temperature was great and the pool has plenty to interest children of which there were not many. In fact I only noticed one other child guest. Pool surface was dragged with a net daily. There is some sand/flaky paint debris on bottom but nothing to worry about. The staff all work very hard and they had just hired another two while we were there.

The reception will arrange car hire if you want it and they deliver and collect from hotel. Generally the island is much easier to get around than Naxos and the beaches better. Both main towns are lovely. Recommend the water taxi from the harbour front for some close great beaches.

We met lots of nice people during our stay (even more competitive than us!) Hi to all. Would thoroughly recommend these apartments to anyone but elderly/infirm.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogman229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We enjoyed our staying in this hotel very much!!! The hotel is on a hill close to the centre of Paroikia, so every balcony has a breath taking view! We loved the sunset and the night view of Paroikia from our balcony! So we would strongly recommend this hotel for young couples for romantic moments! Really nice hotel with comfortable rooms, a roofed private parking area, the breakfast was ok, the only negative we can say is that the pool was a little bit filthy, but who cares! Paros is an island with great beaches!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NIKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

We stayed at Sunset View as part of a two centre Paros/Mykonos trip that webooked through Kosmar. We'd looked up its reviews here on TripAdvisor before we booked, so we were confident it would be a good place to stay. We weren't disappointed and in fact it would be safe to say that it exceeded our expectations by quite a margin. Simply put this is one of the best places we've ever stayed, especially in Greece which has a reputation for being a little on the basic side.
Our accommodation consisted of a 1 bedroom apartment with a large, spacious, well decorated and well appointed bedroom, a very good bathroom, seperate cooking and sitting area (which we never used, except as "extra space" for stashing stuff), a small front terrace and air conditioning that was icy cold. The windows were fitted with mosquito screens so you could leave them open without worrying about insects getting in, as well as with bars so you also didn't have to worry about miscreants getting in - not that there were any around.
There was daily maid service and towel change and the rooms were kept spotlessly clean, as was the whole complex, which is very picturesque. The views over the ocean are lovely, especially as evening descends. We enjoyed a pre-hitting-the-town drink on the terrace overlooking the sea on a few occasions.
As stated in another review, the staff consisted of the owner, his wife and a maid, though they were assisted by the son & daughter occasionally. This is typical of Greek family run businesses and is not a problem, provided they can cope with the workload. At the time we were there they could cope admirably, though admittedly it was not quite the busy season, which began the weekend that we left.
Gripes? We only have two. First is the long uphill slog from town; there's nothing that can be done about that, it is where it is, but Kosmar don't make mention of it and it would be no good for those with walking difficulties or just those who are plain unfit!
Second, one day we were going to Naxos, a neighbouring island, and needed our passports, ferry tickets and money out of the safe (which is in reception). Reception was locked and there was no one around, which gave us mild panic for an hour or so until the owner returned. Lucky the ferry wasn't for another hour or so. I'd think that for safety if for no other reason there should always have been someone around and hopefully this is not something that's repeated often.
At the time that we went the other guests were all what I would politely describe as "older couples", older even than us and we're in our mid 40's. This suited us fine, as we wanted somewhere quiet and relaxed, not overrun by boisterous youths or screaming kids.
As a resort Parikia was perfect. Almost 2 miles of seafront backed from start to finish with great tavernas, bars and cafes. We wanted to try every one of them - without exception there was nowhere we looked at that we thought "I wouldn't go in there". The Kastro area is lovely, as are the pretty, narrow backstreets, especially in the evening when the shops seem to come to life. It's a great base for seeing other islands too with regular ferry departures. We visited Naxos from here and also travelled to Mykonos.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SymiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

This hotel has everything!!

* Perfect location - only 10 min walk to the port centre and the sea. The town is filled with sea front restaurants, chilled out music bars and the winding streets are crammed with tiny shops selling everything from olives, cakes, souvenirs and wine

*Beautiful panoramic views over Parikia Bay (apt name for the hotel) Sunsets here are the best,

*Lovely pool with amazing water feature and with kids section and swim up tables for drinks

*Gorgeous, reasonably priced food and drinks if you want it
(esp. the greek salads) You can have meals at your terrace if you want!

*Fab rooms with sea views, well equipped kitchen area, huge upright fan, sky tv, fridge and lovley sit down shower

*Friendly staff - came and collected our cases on arrival and will do anything from booking a taxi to helping with Greek phrases!

*Spotlessly clean - towels and bins changed every day and floors and surfaces cleaned every day

But most of all the peace and tranquilty is great. This hotel is a gem, one in a million and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank louise247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2007

We made our second trip to Sunset View on the 5th May and were pleased to find it exactly as before; but with one huge improvement. The pool problem we encountered on our last visit, and the justifiable complaint of a previous reviewer seems to have been resolved. The water was very clean and it was frequently used by my wife, who wouldn't have dipped a toe in it last year.
We really love the views and value the peacefull atmosphere. As it is the start of the season there were only a few others there, but that is fine by us. The steep road up to the rooms reminder us that a little more exercise wouldn't go amiss, but this was rewarded by being able to rexal with a cool glass of Mythos and watch the sunset or the activity down at Parikia port.
Will I go there again ? Next year with a bit of luck.

Dave A

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parikia
2.4 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
4.7 mi away
Senia Hotel
Senia Hotel
#5 of 46 in Naoussa
547 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paros Agnanti Resort
Paros Agnanti Resort
#10 of 46 in Parikia
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#7 of 46 in Parikia
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cyclades Hotel and Studios
1.1 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#1 of 46 in Parikia
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset View Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset View Hotel & Apartments

Address: | Klimata, Parikia 84400, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
#7 Family Hotel in Parikia
Price Range: £55 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset View Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset View Hotel, is one of the best hotels in Paros, it has been built amphitheatrically above the town of Parikia. The hotel offers a pleasant stay with a variety of amenities. The rooms of one space and the apartments are surrounded by large terraces or balconies with amazing views of the town, the pool, the unique bay with the deep blue of the sea and of course the BEST SUNSET. Only 10 minutes from the port but away from the noise of the center, 9 km from Naoussa and a junction point for the other villages and beaches. The quiet atmosphere and aesthetic quality, make your holiday at Sunset View a highly wonderful experience. All the one room apartments are featured with a double and a single bed and can accommodate 2-3 people. The two bedroom apartments, feature a double bed and single beds to accommodate 4, 5 and 6 people. The two-room suites feature a separate living room and large terrace. Featured with restaurant and lounge cocktail bar with a stanning view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset View Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset View Parikia
Sunset View Hotel Parikia
Sunset View Hotel & Apartments Paros, Greece - Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing