We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Kavanagh Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Kavanagh Cottage, Hook Head
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kavanagh Cottage, Hook Head
Upstairs Lounge with panormic views Relax in the tub in luxury bathroom with walk in shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Kavanagh Cottage, Hook Head
Upstairs Lounge with panormic views
Relax in the tub in luxury bathroom with walk in shower
Master Bedroom - bright and modern with lots of storage
Master Bathroom
Upstairs Lounge with stove for those cold evenings or watch the sunset on Dunmore East
Patio, with BBQ, chimena, benches,  tables & chairs
Kitchen, all mod cons and well kitted out.
Double Kingsize Bedroom - with ensuite downstairs
Downstairs Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Dining Area
Kitchen presses
Upstairs Bathroom
Upstairs Bathroom - Shower
Finishing touches
View from upstairs window of garden
Lots of seating outside on Patio
Relax and read your paper over coffee
Views from Living Room upstairs of Dunmore east and Passage East
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fethard On Sea, County Wexford

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Aoife L
County Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
“Magical Kavanagh Cottage”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a wonderful place to go off grid and get away from it all. On sunny days this place is a slice a heaven. On rainy windy days it is magically wild & you can feel the ocean in your bones! This cottage has all the comforts of home and more! You will not want to leave. Barbara is a most gracious host (for want of a better word). She makes you feel that her house is your house while you stay there. She encourages you to use all the lovely little luxuries she has incorporated throughout this utterly charming cottage. You will never forget your stay in Kavanagh Cottage on the beautiful Hook Peninsula and I for one will definitely be returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces6...
1 review
“Absolutely amazing house”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a week in late July at Kavanagh Cottage with two adults and two childen (7 & 9). Simply everything was great. Beautiful bedrooms, a fine garden with lawn for childrens playing, a large kitchen nearly perfect equipped, a fantastic living-room with a spectacular view and two bathrooms.

Unfortunately one week was too short to discover the whole Hook Peninsula, but we visited lovely Baginbun Beach, played Footee Golf at Abbey, discovered New Ross with famine ship Dunbrody und the Tapestry, Tintern Abbey and of course had a fantastic view from the top of Hook Lighthouse.

We are going to come back again if possible.

This house is absolutely recommendable and Barbara is a wonderful host. Thanks for a wonderful holiday at Kavanagh Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsetdie...
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Kavanagh Cottage is in a great location for exploring the surrounding area. The accommodation is stunning and Barbara could not do any more to help prepare and make your stay the best possible.

We were very lucky with the weather and were able to get out and about every day although as the views from the lounge are amazing and the house is so inviting and comfortable it wouldn't have mattered too much if we had to spend a day at "home".

We will definitely visit again and I have already recommended the house to several of my friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kavanagh Cottage Hook Wexford”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed for the June bank holiday at Kavanagh Cottage, we had a fantastic weekend, the house is spotless, and had every thing we needed. The upstairs living room is fantastic, watching the ship's coming into and leaving port etc. Barbara had thought about every detail, it is just like a home from home. I would highly recommend Kavanagh Cottage, it is a great base for exploring this scenic party of Ireland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Christmas getaway in an enchantingly decorated cottage!”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

What a place. 6 of us ranging in age from 19 months to 92, and we had the most amazing Christmas - everything worked so well. Christmas dinner was easy to organise (in someone else's kitchen - how incredible is that?!);we had the most awesome storm - watching the seas crashing over the rocks, the foam blowing on to the road, and the blowholes blowing - there isn't a thing to touch it; shops near enough for essentials, but really we hunkered down and enjoyed the wood burner, the alcohol almost on tap (it was Christmas!), and spent a lot of time watching a baby learn to 'bump' down the stairs! It was perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicFusco
1 review
“Kavanagh cottage!”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just home after a lovely relaxing few days at kavanagh cottage, house is fabulous, Barbara is so helpful and took the time to send recommendations for places to visit/eat etc. We hope to get back for another stay soon! Would highly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky1764
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in beautiful location!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Barbara is a wonderful host right from the moment of first contact. She responds quickly to emails and provides all the information you need right from the beginning so that your stay can be as relaxing as possible. She is very friendly but professional and I felt confident that we were in good hands. The house itself is beautiful, it is sheer luxury, in fact the photos do not give a true idea of the size of the rooms - they are all very spacious, and the house is immaculately clean throughout. We have stayed in several self catering properties and Kavanagh Cottage is definitely at the top of our list, Barbara has thought of everything and provides just about every single thing you could possibly need. It certainly does feel like a home from home. The area itself is stunning, there is so much to do in the immediate area - the Lighthouse is a must, and is only a 10 minute stroll from the house. We also visited the Dunbrody Famine Ship Museum at New Ross, something else we would recommend and not too far, and we visited Waterford City and the Crystal Factory which we also enjoyed immensely. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer......still this just means that we will have to visit again!! Thank you Barbara.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House was beautiful and Barbara very professional - everything clear and explained thoroughly at point of booking.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing