We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS SITE WELL WORTH A VISIT”

Ocean Island Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fethard On Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Island Caravan Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS SITE WELL WORTH A VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our weeks stay at ocean island caravan park the mobile home we rented was perfect modern clean and well presented owners Ann and Lar were very helpful with advice on places of interest nearby and beautiful cycling routes have recommended ocean island to family and friends . Will be back next year .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    2
    3
    0
    12
See reviews for
19
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Myself, my husband and our three children have just returned from a stay in a mobile home at Ocean Island Caravan Park where we had a wonderful time. The weather was fantastic and we were able to visit a lot of the lovely local beaches, where we discovered a fantastic little spot called Dollar Bay. The kids had a great time at the playground and in the games room where they meet lots of new buddies and hung out to watch the World Cup. We felt very relaxed as we always felt they were safe. The park is very family run and the staff were very friendly. I would recommend this holiday to anyone who wants to get away for a relaxing quite week. We will definitely be returning next year or maybe we will dust down the tent and go camping before the kids go back to school as it also has a lovely big area for camping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Dirty showers & toilets, had to pay for showers which were cold. The tents were all in a big field, no privacy and drunk people keeping half the campsite awake. Staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. The worst campsite I've ever used.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ElaineD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fethard On Sea hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This campsite appears to exist purely to make money, with none of the pride or enthusiasm shown by owners in other Irish campsites.
Nobody worked on site (reception had a sign telling you to park up in any vacant pitch).
The woman who ran the campite drove into the touring campers area a few times during our stay (once in the dark) and proceeded to knock on doors and tents to look for money. There was no smile, no welcome, no information provided and she was extremely rude. She warned us not to dare use any appliances such as kettle or microwave because it would trip the power for ALL campers. She said that noone was available to reset it should this happen (although she was available to come in for payments often). The laughable thing was that she still charged €4 per night for electricity.
When we complained about this fact, she said "well, you're free to leave if you want." We were quite shocked at this woman's level of rudeness and said as much to which she merely shrugged and walked off. We were speechless.
It was the talk of the campsite with campers comparing notes on their awful experiences with her. All of us swore we would never return.
The limited electricity (max 5 amps) meant we could not boil a kettle, put on a heater, use our shower, use a toaster or microwave, charge mobile phones. Basically all it gave us was light. Our cooker works off gas.
The toilet block was not clean. There were signs instructing you to put coins in to pay for hot water to wash dishes!!
The actual camp area was very pleasant with pitches set out around the perimeter and a huge green in the middle with picnic tables and plenty of bins. It was very quiet (on a hot, sunny June weekend which was odd) and very few residents present in their holiday homes.
It was the dearest campsite we have come across in Ireland so far and the services are not good. It was a long walk from camp to chemical waste disposal.
There is no alternative campsite for miles in this area and we concluded it is the ONLY reason that she is getting customers. It was such a bad experience I am going to write to Camping Ireland about this site. Stay away if you can possibly avoid it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank TotsandTeensonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in our own caravan for 3nights.We had arrived late so didnt notice anything out of the ordinary.In the morning we plugged in our kettle and tripped the switch.The owner came and re set it..never telling us that no electrical appliances could be used..not even the kettle..so we tried again...this time when he came to reset it he told us he wouldnt re set it again for us ..so out came the saucepan to boil the water!!
The bathrooms are absolutly filthy..the water doesnt drain from the shower tray and there were dirty nappies in the black bin from the nite we got there till we left.While my son..whos 10...was up having a shower,kids from the permanant mobiles were climbing up onto the cubicles and the man who was camping beside us left as this also happened him.These are the same kids who told the Belgians who were camping to go home to their own country!!They also loved knocking on the doors of vans and running away and this could go on till 2am.No supervison by parents or owner.Games room filthy with kids standing on the pool tables while the blonde in the shop sat watching tv with full view of what was going on.On one of the days there were 2stunt bikers ripping up the middle green.I had to ring the owner to come down.The beaches are fab hence we stayed and its the only place in fethard.I dont know how camping Ireland have given this place a 4 star..I wouldnt even give it one.It was very quiet...eventhough the weather was great.Word has gone round allready..I hope...for the tourists sake..and it was one of the more expensive sites.NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank everlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very disappointed in this campsite. Basically the camping area is a field at the back of the rented mobile homes. This area is very far from the kitchen, the toilets, the playground, shop etc.
The kitchen area was very dirty, you had to pay 50c for hot water in the sink to wash the dishes.
This park may have been a good camping area 20-30yrs ago but it has not progressed in that time and has a long way to go. Electricity is €4 a night, it will not boil a kettle, it trips out. You have to ask for it to be turned on again where you are told that if it trips twice it will not be turned on again. Total waste of €4!!
I found the staff rude, the person that checked us in was rude, she also smoked right at the entrance to the reception/shop/games room/across from the playground, totally disgusting habit.
There is no hot water in the sinks in the toilets.
You have to enter the shower, take off your clothing and the exit the shower to put the token in as the token machine for the hot water in the shower is out side the door, what a complete joke.
A washing machine token is €8, this is the most expensive I have seen on any campsite, total rip off.
Other observation is that they lock the door to the chemical toilet, you have to ask for a key in reception, this I just found weird!
Overal my experience of this campsite is the worst I have experienced in years. The owners of this place need to go visit other campsites and gain a little experience of what is available for the same tarrif. I do not understand how Caravan Camping & Motorhome guide 2013 gave Ocean Island 4 stars, it is two at best. 2 is very fair compared to the othe 4 star parks in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ramblingtraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was really looking forward to staying in a mobile home for a couple of days with my two grandchildren and as i have been here 20years ago i thought why not. God was i sorry,I ran out after the first night . The mobile home inside looked has if had not been cleaned in 20years chairs and beds had a smell off them . The pllastic sink had a crack in it and the carpets smelly awful things.What they call a shop on site had little or nothing all I wanted was a paper . My advice is to stir well away.The two grandchildren who are not too fussy were in the car before we had everything packed ready to run.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lyndublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fethard On Sea
4.8 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.7 mi away
GrangeVille House
GrangeVille House
#1 of 4 in Fethard On Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel BnB
Sanibel BnB
#2 of 2 in Fethard On Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Seashells Bed & Breakfast
Seashells Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Duncannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon
Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon
#1 of 3 in Duncannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glendine Country House
Glendine Country House
#1 of 3 in Arthurstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Island Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Island Caravan Park

Property: Ocean Island Caravan Park
Address: Fethard On Sea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Fethard On Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Fethard On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing