We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”
Review of Therasia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Therasia Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Isola Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

my wife and i stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon, and couldn't have been more impressed. The staff were amazing before we even arrived (thanks Carmen), liaising with us to pick us up from the ferry terminal and also organising a suprise boat trip with a picnic and bottle of wine for the 3rd day we were there.
The food in the 2 restaraunts is amazing, on our last night we ate in Il Cappero (reservation essential) and indulged on the 8 course tasting menu which was amazingly tasty and very skillfully done - the highlight being the dessert made to look like breakfast.
The views are simply stunning, and its the perfect place to lounge by the pool or private beach with a nice drink, or one of their delicious pizzas at lunch.

We also used the benessere centre to indulge in massage and the hydrotherapy pool which was very nice and not something i'd usually do. Its in a good location a short walk or courtesy bus to the centre of vulcano, from where we climbed the vulcano for amazing views of the islands. We also went sea kyaking which the hotel arranged pickup/dropoff for as well as the boat trip.

breakfast selection is huge, fresh with range of cooked to order eggs, pastries, cakes, cold meats, breads (try the milk bread) yoghurts juices and even spumante

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    159
    50
    11
    6
See reviews for
140
544
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We choose the Therasia as it was different from your normal Maldives honeymoon etc. It was a perfect honeymoon great staff good food beautifull room and views.

We didnt want to do anything but lay by the pool in the sun somewhere which is what we did. We were upgraded to a room with a huge balcony overlooking the pool and the best in the hotel of the other islands.

My only downside was that i dont like fish and about 90% of the menu is fish ! Apart from at lunch time when you can grab a pizza. The breakfast was the best meal of the day with a massive selection it was great.

The smell everyone talks about is of the sulphur baths by the port which is where the smell stays. We were there for 8 days and did not smell anything the whole time we were there. The island has a small town which for us was a bit rubbish nothing really there apart from shops selling tacky stuff for the island hoppers. Also the restaurants in town all looked a bit rubbish.

All in all a really lovely stay though for what we wanted and the hotel staff were lovely. Oh and the Spa is great to relax in as well. Thanks all

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottenham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. It's location is great (regular 5min shuttle to what little town/port there is) and the views are "to die for". It has a great well maintained pool looking towards lipari across a narrow channel. You can also go down a few flights of steps hewn into take cliff side and dive straight into the crystal clear and calm waters. The rooms are fine and big enough with all the amenities one would need including a free minibar (non alcoholic). The free wifi works well enough too. As is the case in most of the Italian hotels which have used tiled floors extensively - the noise from neighbors or cleaners scraping things on tiles can be quite irritating and guarantees early morning wake ups - so be warned if you think you will get lots of rest. The restaurants are good. The only minus is that the room rates in high season are a complete joke. We had a room rate of euro730 per nite till 15 Aug and then it dropped to euro320 per nite. At euro320 the price seemed fair value but at euro730 - gotta be kidding - but clearly there are those who will pay that rate else it would reduce. That aside - a very good location with amazing views.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great facilities, great rooms, absolutely superb stuff, small but good gym, stunning view and such a relaxing feel. We stayed 5 nights. We planned to enjoy the other islands but it was just so pleasant to stay and lay by the pool that ended up not leaving at all. The food was also good, and less overpriced than most hotels at this level. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jochimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Everything was tremendous. Pools, sea access, chartered trips, two restaurants, all at a reasonable value. This place is great. I would recommend it for couples and families. Thank you, Therasia Spa staff for a wonderful trip to a truly scenic place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattcarey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped for drinks at sunset then continued to dinner. The setting is breathtaking and the service meets the highest international standard. The food is all Sicilian of high quality served with creativity and style. I have never had better and I have traveled to Sicily many times. You will not be disappointed. This is the real deal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank oyezman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Therasia Resort is climbing on a volcanic rock and with its particular architecture it takes full advantage of the fabulous panoramic view of the Mediterranian Sea and the Aeolian Islands. With that follows also that there is no beach, only steps down to the water for a swim and the location is a bit isolated. Instead the hotel offers complete relax, perfect service (the pool attendant being the only exception but improved) and two first class restaurants plus a lunch bar. However, as we dined in the in the hotel every night the same menu felt limited after a week and requests for alternatives were not encouraged.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 583Bengt583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isola Vulcano
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
#3 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Sables Noirs
Les Sables Noirs
#2 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.2 mi away
Orsa Maggiore
Orsa Maggiore
#4 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Therasia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Therasia Resort

Property: Therasia Resort
Address: Localita Vulcanello, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola Vulcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isola Vulcano
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isola Vulcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Therasia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the island of Vulcano, surrounded by unspoilt nature with the open horizon of the Mediterranean sea, lies Therasia Resort.The hotel is perched at the top of a promontory, overlooking the faraglioni of Lipari in the enchanting tranquillity the Aeolian Islands. The hotel’s light shades superbly contrast with the black volcanic stone, while the harmonious décor united with elegant furnishings give the hotel a welcoming, warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Therasia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Therasia Hotel Isola Vulcano
Therasia Resort Isola Vulcano, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing