We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant Casa Tavani”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
140 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 140 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Bagginsab...
uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Casa Tavani”
Reviewed 27 July 2009 for a stay in July 2009

Stayed in L'Alcove for 10 days in July. Fabulous apartment in a very fine town.

Angela and Tim have put a huge amount of effort into creating beautifully styled apartments in a wonderful old building. They were there to greet us on the day we arrived and made us feel very welcome. Alcova is small and compact, but has everything that you could want for a stay in Puglia. We spent many happy afternoons relaxing on the balcony watching the world go by. Talking across the street the neighbours was such fun and gave us a chance to practice our very bad Italien.

The food in the locale was fab, very fresh and tasty

Need a place to stay in Puglia, this place should be on your list

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NM_Family...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful week in Ostuni”
Reviewed 26 July 2009 for a stay in May 2009

We had a wonderful time in Ostuni, and our stay in Casa Esmeralda made the trip for us. Both of our daughters especially loved the terraces, and the loft was perfect for two older kids. (The stairs are probably too steep for young children.) Angela and Tim provide two special things for us. First, Al Italia lost our luggage--it's the Al Italia "style," as our taxi driver said. Tim and Angela stayed in their apartment to await its arrival the next day and negotiated its return (in Italian) so that we could start our holiday right away. The other is that they had a dairy-free loaf of bread and margarine in the apartment when we arrived--very important since our daughter is very allergic to dairy. Angela took us around to all of the shops and helped us buy the food we needed to make the stay wonderful.

If you go we recommend a trip to the castle in Carovigno. We had quite an adventure taking the bus there and met a sweet tour guide named Mary Lou--it was a highlight of our trip. Definitely off the beaten path.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truetrave...
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Culture and seaside- a glorious combination”
Reviewed 26 July 2009 for a stay in July 2009

We stayed in L'Alcova, the studio apartment owned by Angela and Tim Devlin. It waqs brilliantly equipped, with great decor and the thoughtfulness of the owners made our stay for a mere 4 nights so easy/ There were beach towels provided, soap, tea,coffee and a welcome pack to get us started! Also DVDs and VHS tapes to provide in-house entertainment.
Ostuni itself is a great base from which to explore the other cities like Lecce. To return in the evening gave us a choice of so many restaurants and just sitting in a bar watching the people go by!
It's also close to the sea- some 15 mins by car or bus and that gave us what we wanted- morning swims before heading off sight-seeing.
We'd strongly recommend it to couples wanting to get away from it all and enjoy the delights of this part of Italy.
We'd strongly recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INGAScotl...
SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical roof terrace”
Reviewed 20 July 2009 for a stay in July 2009

We spent only 2 nights at Casa Esmeralda but loved every minute. Before we arrived, Angela had sent us every possible bit of information to make our holiday go smoothly.The best bit was the roof terraces - yes, there were 2! The view of the old town was magnificent. The apartment was extremely well-appointed and clean with lots of personal touches. A perfect romantic hideaway for 2!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria1...
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Casa Esmeralda”
Reviewed 3 July 2009 for a stay in June 2009

We had a fantastic holiday in Ostuni, Puglia and what made our trip so great was Casa Esmeralda. The apartment is split over two floors with a lovely balcony and two roof terraces from which you can enjoy the wonderful view of Ostuni. It's located just behind the main square in the historic centre which is ideal for reaching all the restaurants, cafes and bars which the town has to offer. The Owners (Tim and Angela) are lovely people and great hosts, they are always on hand if you need anything and make you feel very welcome from the off.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane_pail...
charlton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful week in Casa Esmeralda”
Reviewed 30 June 2009 for a stay in June 2009

Ostuni is a medieval gem characterised by its whitewashed buildings and defensive walls, narrow alleyways and splendid cathedral at the summit of the hill on which it is built. Inspirationally designed internally, Casa Esmeralda makes a great base from which to explore this small city and the surrounding area. The accommodation is ideal for two(as we were), but perhaps a little tight for three or four, particularly the kitchen which had been ingeniously fitted into what appeared to be a former inglenook. There are though many good restaurants to enjoy. The roof terrace had superb vistas of the cathedral and old town from where it was great to enjoy breakfast with freshly baked bread from the fabulous nearby bakery or a bottle of Prosecco in the evening! (Buy Prosecco for 3 Euros in the little supermarket at the top of the street!)

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiers12
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Outstanding apartment, location and hosts!”
Reviewed 10 June 2009 for a stay in June 2009

We have just returned from 2 weeks in wonderful Ostuni. We stayed in La Terrazza and have been completely spoiled for any other accomodation in the future. There is a wonderful amount of space which has been delighfully decorated keeping the orginal features whilst providing every comfort. The terrace itself is exceptional with fantastic views of the historic centre which is just a few paces away. Tim & Angela were marvellous with their recommendations of restaurants and shops. They were available whenever we needed assistance whilst being invisible otherwise, the perfect hosts. They also arranged a Pughlian cookery lesson for us in the apartment which was facinating and ended with a lovely meal eaten on the terrace. We are hoping to return very soon and there can be no better recomendation!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing