We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for exploration of Puglia”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
140 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 140 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
kportgirl
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Needs tlc”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I think new ownership has made a difference here as our experience definitely seems to have been different from the guest book comments (last one seem to have been in 2016). First the good: great location and well stocked kitchen. Lovely terraces and it was wonderful to have a washing machine.
Now for the less than ideal. Basically, the place needs more upkeep and tlc. I’d also think it could do with a stem to stern deep cleaning. When we arrived the place was damp and musty. I have no idea when the last guests were here but the guest book last comments were in 2016. When I looked at the bookshelves, there was plenty of dust, spider webs etc. I’d say all the books should be removed and the shelves given a thorough cleaning. About halfway through our 5 day stay here, we took out the cushions for the terrace and found them to be quite damp. Probably didn’t help the damp mustiness if the place. One liquid soap only for the entire unit. Had to share between 2 bathrooms and kitchen. No starter washing machine kit and instructions not even for the current machine. Pillows, or what passed for them, mediocre at best. Broken toilet paper holder in one bathroom and one almost coming the wall in the other. Out dated literature. Unfortunate, as well,was that our contact person here, while communicating re arrival time, key etc in English, said she could not speak English when we met up with her. We chose to communicate in poor French as we could not speak Italian at all. When we tried to ask questions about Ostuni, she said she could not help as she didn’t live here. ??????She was pleasant enough, but it hardly sounded like the welcome other people got. She indicated some wine left from “the proprietor “. Interesting as well was that the communication liaison from the UK, wanted to make sure there would only be two of us staying (not a problem) as the owner wanted this to be luxury couples resort. But we definitely heard a child in one of the downstairs units and there were many things missing what I would consider luxurious. I don’t like leaving less than stellar reviews and as I said earlier I think that it could be a great place with more upkeep and a few tweaks in the hospitality area. Please get window slats open a bit before new guests arrive, if you can.

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2darnhot2
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base for exploration of Puglia”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at the Casa Tavani. The rooms were nice and also self-catering so we could make our own meals when we wanted to. The washer was great as it allowed us to pack lighter in the first place. There was masses of information about the surrounding area which had been added to by many previous guests. And the hosts were wonderful and as helpful as they could be. The one thing to note is that the stairs up to our flat were VERY steep - not for those with bad knees (or really heavy suitcases). Highly recommended!

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England43
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Louise & Andy”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in a wonderful apartment in the heart of Ostuni. This is the best way to do it. you can get up when you like, cook when you like and have a taste of living like a resident. Discovering the bread shop and markets, the wonderful Centro Historico and the hidden cave style restaurants. The boutiques are good too!! the beaches and architecture are beautiful and this is definately a place to come back to time and time again. Plus also the Olive farms called Massarea's they are so interesting. Our hosts Hailey and Anthony were really helpful and very nice.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AichaSock...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views of a chalk white city”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend staying at this beautiful house, we were lucky enough to have the room with 2 terraces which had views of the sea and of the whole town and old town. We had a warm and helpful welcome from our hosts and although we were only there for a few days we settled very quickly into local life. The information pack in the room was great and helped us make the most of our time there, the room/apartment was well equipped and had everything you need for a really easy self catering holiday, including lots of good books and dvd's and good working wifi for the quiet times. We made trips to the local shops and market and had a heads up on the best bars and restaurants around, we even managed to get in a trip to Pompeii and Sorrento which are a 3 hour drive away, although this was an added bonus and not needed as the area of Puglia has enough to keep you occupied. Will definitely be returning. A+

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevew102...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great apartments and great hosts”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed one week in Ostuni split between two of Tim and Angela's apartments. Both we really cosy and unique and filled with lots of homely touches. It's really well located just off the main square and boasts great some great views from the roof terraces. Not only were the apartments fantastic, and Tim and Angela's hospitality first class but we also fell in love with the town itself. Great atmosphere in what feels like an untouched part of Italy. Food lovers will certainly add it to their list of favourite destinations.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond19...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Apartment in the Beautiful 'White City'”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Ostuni was a highlight of our trip to Puglia. We stayed in and loved apartment Casa Esmeralda which had everything we needed. We particularly loved sitting up on the rooftop terrace with a Campari in the late afternoon and enjoyed breakfast on the lower terrace each morning

Ostuni was great fun especially in the evenings with late dinners and drinks in the numerous restaurants and bars and there was always plenty going on in the Piazza. It is also a terrific base for exploring the region or spending a day at the beach.

The apartments come with extensive information including arrival by car and parking which was no problem in a free zone a few minutes walk from our apartment. If we ever had to pay it was a minimal amount for a 24 hour period.

Thank you Tim and Angela.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUSAN L
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Amazing view from lovely apartment”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have stayed here every year for 7 years and it never disappoints. The view of the cathedral and old town of Ostuni is magical especially all lit up at night.

The apartment is up 2 relatively steep sets of stairs but once up there it is all one level including that amazing terrace.

The open plan living area is relaxing and spacious with all you can need. The domed ceiling in the beautiful double bedroom is just lovely. There is a very well equipped kitchen/diner at one end of the living room and 3 comfortable sofas at the other end. The bathroom includes a shower over the bath with, unusually for Europe, a high wall fixing so you can properly stand under it. Air conditioning in all rooms and never ending hot water, cannot think of anything more you would need. Ostuni old town with its summer evening entertainment and copious restaurants, modest and smarter, is minutes walk away. There is an English lady available locally for any problems, although we had none. We'll be back next year!

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing