We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Why we love Casa Tavani”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
140 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 140 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
grahamkea...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Why we love Casa Tavani”
Reviewed 14 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

We're not so much visitors now, we're more addicts. Until we discovered Ostuni and this wonderful cluster of apartments converted so artfully by Tim and Angela Devlin from an historic and hugely atmospheric old merchant's house, we never used to go on holiday to the same place twice. Now we've been five times in four years, and when we go elsewhere (Brittany, Cornwall) we end up wishing we were back at Casa Tavani, so why fight it? We know where we most like to eat (Il Chiostro in town, La Vela at Villanova top the list) and which beaches we love best - still virtually deserted in blazing June. Tim and Angela are so friendly and helpful, the apartments are gorgeous, the locals are so welcoming, the food is fantastic. What's not to like?

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niki_Per
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect base to explore Puglia”
Reviewed 12 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

My husband, one year old and I stayed in L'Alcova, a small perfectly equipped apartment suitable for our every need. Angela and Tim could not have been more welcoming and helpful throughout our weeks stay and ensured we really got to grips with the local culture by organising a wonderful cookery course with a local ostuni chef. All basics were catered for and they really went the extra mile - even arranging toys for our daughter to play with during the week! The apartment is extremely central on a quiet street behind the main piazza withn all the restaurants and evening buzz seconds away. I would warmly recommend this apartment for anyone travelling as a couple or young child looking to stay in Ostuni.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda33...
Roseville, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Casa Esmeralda was not only magical -- it was as comfortable as home!”
Reviewed 27 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010

My husband and I stayed in Casa Esmeralda -- an apartment part of Angela and Tim Devlin's greater Casa Tavani -- for a few days. We wish it could have been forever! The apartment was like living in a hobbit house -- so full of character and color, romantic and whimsical. We hated to leave. It had every amenity one could want to feel right at home. We loved sitting on the upper terrace, sipping the chilled Prosecco and munching the fresh loaf of Pugliese bread that Angela left for us upon our arrival, gazing out at the Ostuni skyline. The bedroom was a dream -- white net curtains draped the bed and glass doors opened onto another terrace, replete with breakfast table and chairs. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and gracious. Tim gave us an hour walking tour to orient us to the town after Angela shows us around their own wonderful home nearby. The apartment is perfectly located -- just a short walk to the main piazza and the centro storico. With Angela's artistic attention to detail, I have no doubt that all of their apartments are equally lovely. We rate Casa Esmeralda with an A++++++!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami16
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful memory!”
Reviewed 25 June 2010 for a stay in April 2010

The apartment is lovely, comfortable, and equipped with everything we could possibly need to enjoy the time indoors, on the balcony, or exploring Ostuni and the surrounding area. But what made our stay even more special was Angela and Tim's warm welcome, their affection and knowledge of the town, and especially their tips on what to see and where to eat.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxStirne...
Latina, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary in Ostuni”
Reviewed 20 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful ‘house’ during last June (for a week, 7 nights) for our wedding anniversary: we got married last year! As usual, we choosed it following the Tripadvisor’ reviews and comments.

The owners, Angela and Tim, who live on the ground floor of their beautiful set of apartments, are really nice people: helpful, friendly and extremely EXTREMELY welcoming. They speak Italian as well as English, their native language.
When we arrived in Ostuni Tim met us in a square, where we had parked our car. Then we walked to the house, that is in the centre of Ostuni, one hundred of meters no more far from the central square of the city.
We left our bagagges and had a short trip/view of Ostuni. Tim showed us the city and suggested us several restaurants and bars, many times he introduced us to the owners of restaurants.
The famous, quite legendary bottle of Prosecco was in the fridge, we confirm. And we found too food for breakfast the next day (coffee, bread, butter, milk, everything).
The apartment - we stayed in L'Alcova – is absolutely full furnished. You do not need to take with you anything, except for your swimsuit or truncks! The apartment was very clean, with lots of little personal touches, which create a very nice mixture of styles and colours. Do not forget to ask to Tim and Angela to show the other apartments and the top of their house: we will have a wonderful view of Ostuni!
In pur apartment there was also a spacious balcony, with tables and chairs, which was great for breakfasts in the morning. Or you could also have a romantic dinner there. While you will sit in your balcony sometimes you will see the lovely couple that lives in front of l’alcova.
We confirm that the information on the town and surrounding area written by Angela and sent us by email before we arrived was helpful and detailed. We just would like to add a restaurant, that we found fantastic: “Osteria della Piazzetta Cattedrale”, not cheap, but with big value.
For meals, Ostuni will offer you a lot of alternatives. You could also buy cooked meat in many butcher’s shops and eat it in your apartment, with a bottle of rosé wine. (Try the ‘gnumeredde’, a typical kind of meat in Puglia).
We would recommend CASA TAVANI for a great, romantic stay inOstuni. We believe that also families with children could have there a nice stay.
We are sure we will come back, one day.

Fabio & Roberta

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmella0...
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Ostuni!”
Reviewed 31 May 2010 for a stay in May 2010

My husband and I spent a week at the Casa in the small apartment, which had everything we needed and was the perfect size for a couple. The main area included a full kitchen with washing machine, living area with TV and a nice selection of DVD's, with a double bed in a separate curtained off area, a separate bedroom with a single bed and nice selection of books, and a roomy and clean bathroom. Best was the balcony where we could sit with a table and chairs and lines to dry our clothes (just avoid the balcony when the plants above are watered, as a small stream of water drains on the the table)! A bottle of Proseco was in waiting for us upon arrival. The hosts were charming, friendly and available to offer suggestions, but not intrusive. Ostuni is a busy town, but the Casa is located on a quiet street, yet close to the main sights, restaurants and shopping. We often cooked in and frequented the wine shops, bakery with three hundred year old brick oven, pasta shop and the produce shops, and loved the large, Saturday market.There are beautiful views of the Adriatic Sea from the town. There is much to do in the area, but we recommend a day at the sea at a protected nature preserve, Lecce, the Trulli buildings and Matera. We would love to return and perhaps splurge for one of the upper apartments that have terraces with panoramic views of the town and sea, but would be fine with the smaller apartment also. A very unique and wonderful place to stay. I am very picky about where I stay and you be happy you picked the Casa as your home in Ostuni.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl G
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A real hidden gem!”
Reviewed 5 January 2010 for a stay in September 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Ostuni shines like a pearly white fortress, towering over the surrounding olive groves. It's interesting, has lots of character and bundles of personality. The labyrinthine town winds up, down and around past beautiful restaurants, cute shops, markets and snug cafés and a hunt around reveals many hidden gems. Casa Tavani is definitely one of these gems we're glad to have found.

We stayed in the lovely L'Alcova room, which was charming, and complimented the quirky town perfectly. It was very well stocked with everything we could have possibly needed and had a lot of nice little touches, from the cool artwork, the medieval vaulted ceiling to the welcoming basket of food & local Prosecco on arrival.

Tim and Angela were the perfect hosts, and their love for the place is infectious. They were friendly, welcoming and made you feel at home instantly. Their local knowledge and advice for the town and surrounding areas is second to none, and while we were still left to explore of our own accord their recommendations made our holiday so much more enjoyable.

The town of Ostuni is very well placed to explore nearby towns and the coastline, and Casa Tavani is very well placed right in the centre of Ostuni. However it is still very quiet and just a minutes walk from the main Piazza, where they had outdoor shows, restaurants, bars and of course Gelato. The accommodation far exceeded our expectations and it was great to have a real Pugliese experience there. We would recommend any of their rooms to anybody.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing