We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza in town !”

Sax Risto Pub Pizzeria Pucceria
Ranked #7 of 217 Restaurants in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: One of the best places in Ostuni and surroundings where eating well and so, without spending a fortune (many say spending very little) WI-FI Free
Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The best pizza in town !”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Small place in a secluded street of charming Ostuni managed bY a charming sir and his wife. We had two delicious pizzas, tasty and delicate along with two big Ceres beers for only 18 euros! It's been one of the best pizzas i ever had recently so it is highly recommended ; they also had pastas and fish, a
I didn't try but it looked good.
Ciao.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aquilasicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    302
    107
    45
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff & Food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Came here for a quick dinner last week, and ordered pizza and pasta. There was a small mixup with our order but this was corrected accordingly. The food tasted good and the service was quick as well as nice. Afterwards we got some of the home-made sherry on the house (due to the mixup), it is stellar!! Would definitely visit again :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rymson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostuni, Italy
1 review
“The best pizza i Have had in a long time!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was looking for a take out pizza in ostuni , all the takeaways looked too touristy so I went in to sax to ask if they did take out, they did.the owners were so polite and didn't mind that my Italian was so bad .i had I lovely beer while I was waiting which was only 5 mins .The pizza was amazing and so was the price, I'm going back tomorrow.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Owner speaks English!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great pizza and great bread! Everything came out Hot Hot Hot! Just what we want. The menu is in Italian and English which was huge for us. (In some restaurants we would order not knowing what we ordered) The owner explained the different ingredients to our table that we didn't know and everything he recommend was a hit. I had a simple pepperoni pizza and it was Awesome......no funky stuff on it and my 3year old and 4year old scarfed it down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pizza out of Medieval Times - and tastes almost as fresh”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Good Tripadvisor reviews convinced us to seek out this place a few weeks ago, but it was closed. So we were overjoyed to find it open tonight. Expectantly, we descended two flights of stone stairs into the cavernous interior. The decor was the first thing that put us off. The high-backed wooden chairs and brown-checked table cloths give the gothic roofed interior a decidedly Transylvanian feel. That, I told myself, need not be so bad if the food is good. So I still felt optimistic when I ordered my pizza. All the pizzas here have the names of musical instruments, and I asked for the Violino, a red pizza with sausage, cheese, and arugula. In addition, I also ordered pepper carpaccio ("pepperone," that is, pepper the vegetable, not the spice). This sounded intriguing. What in fact arrived was a dish of cherry tomatoes carelessly tossed over marinated yellow pepper with insensitively hewn little pieces of cheese. The reason I like to go to restaurants is that I am a very bad chef, and the reason I am a very bad chef is partly that I do not have the patience to chop everything up into nice regular shaped pieces. Well, the cheese should have been cubed but instead the pieces ran the geometric gamut from triangle to rhomboid. Still, the carpaccio was so much better than the pizza. Okay, food is pretty good in Italy, so may be, I thought, I should judge this pizza by world, not Italian standards. So, I asked myself, would I say it was a good pizza if I were served it, say, in the Czech Republic? Well, I wouldn't. How about the restaurant of Bulgarian local train? No, I wouldn't. How about, may be, a supermarket pizza kept cold in the fridge and then warmed up? Yes! This at last may be a good comparison. If I warmed up the pizza in the microwave then it would be soggy. But if I put it in the oven it would be dried out and crunchy … wait a minute, this may just explain Sax pizza! To be fair, the ingredients on the pizza were not bad at all. But the crust - the crust definitely tasted Hipermercato. The only thing that made this awfulness tolerable was the service. The maitre speaks good English and is very kind. It gives me no pleasure to put down his restaurant, especially since he asked me to write this Tripadvisor review. The lady, who may be his wife, is also very kind. I even got a chance to take a peep at the kitchen, and it is clean and cheerful. But the truth must be told. And anyway, I am sure that, bad reviews or good, enough tourists will always wonder into this place, situated as it is inside the old city.
The tourists will benefit from their visit. For after this, pizza elsewhere will taste so much better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DJDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaxRistoPubOstuni, Gestore at Sax Risto Pub Pizzeria Pucceria, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Google Translation
IL MONDO E' BELLO PERCH'E' VARIO!!!!!!!! Buongiorno Sig. DJD Toront, siamo Asia e Angelo del Sax di Ostuni e siamo davvero costernati nel leggere la sua recensione! Non pretendiamo certo che le nostre portate piacciano a tutti ma troviamo inspiegabile il suo comportamento. Siamo venuti diverse volte al vostro tavolo a chiedere se tutto andasse bene e se le piacessero le pizze: tutto bene e molto buone le vostre risposte! Da noi, se non ci dovesse piacere qualcosa, la lasciamo nel piatto; i vostri, tutti, sono tornati in cucina forse ancora più puliti di prima che fossero stati utilizzati. Se ci aveste detto che le pizze o il carpaccio non vi piacevano, le avremmo fatte rifare o sostituite con altre diverse, ma così non è stato! Ci ripetiamo, possiamo non piacere a tutti, ma se lei afferma che può mangiare una pizza migliore nella repubblica Ceca , su un treno bulgaro e che la nostra è uguale a quella precotta di un ipermercato, solamente riscaldata da noi, beh, ci permetta di dissentire. Probabilmente gli altri utenti di TripAdvisor che, a centinaia, esprimono giudizi favorevoli sulla nostra pizza, si sbagliano e SOLO LEI, è nel giusto visto che ha anche affermato che, dopo aver assaggiato la pizza al Sax, si potranno meglio apprezzare le pizze altrove!!! Come d'altro canto, è veramente singolare, se non unico, il suo giudizio sul nostro locale: non le sono piaciute le sedie alte in legno, i tavoli con le tovaglie marroni, l'interno cavernoso, l'atmosfera gotica da Transilvania, insomma NIENTE. Eppure scriveva che era venuto da noi attratto dalle recensioni positive su Trip; beh, quelle recensioni sono corredate da oltre 140 foto che mostrano in maniera molto particolareggiata com'è il nostro locale. Sapeva perfettamente cosa aspettarsi e che avrebbe dovuto scendere due rampe di scale per arrivare in un posto che A LEI non è piaciuto ma che (è opinione comune) è uno dei più bei locali del circondario! Siamo spiacenti comunque che non sia stato bene da noi e che non le sia piaciuto nulla ma, ci creda, saremmo rimasti meno male se non ci avesse detto a parole il contrario di quanto ha poi scritto!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sax Risto Pub Pizzeria Pucceria also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Sax Risto Pub Pizzeria Pucceria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing