We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience”
Review of Hotel La Terra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Terra
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Hotel La Terra is well located to enjoy Ostuni, and a good place to use as a base for exploring the region, or for visiting the beaches.

Having got very lost trying to find the hotel, a call to them meant there was soon a friendly face who lead us to the hotel car park (5Euro a day) and then took us onto the hotel. (The hotel will also take you back to the car park with your bags at the end of the stay). The car park is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel for when you use your car during your stay.

Located in the Centro Storico of Ostuni, the hotel is excellently located for exploring the city, and for using the many bars and restaurants nearby, plus visiting the historical sights of Ostuni such as it's churches and cathedral.

Service throughout was friendly and professional.

Visiting during a very hot spell of weather, the air con in the hotel and room was efficient and appreciated.

Our room was a decent size, very clean, with a good size shower room. Best of all was a view across the city over the roofs.

The hotel, although modern, had characterful touches throughout. A roof terrace just outside our room, another elsewhere, plus the cave like bar with well.
Second floor rooms have some rather grandly furnished rooms close by, plus a terrace

Although centrally located, there was little or no noise.

Breakfast was fine. The hotel restaurant was not functioning whilst we were staying there - not a problem due to the large number of other options to eat locally.

If ever visiting Ostuniin the future I'd stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor can have good views. Don't miss out on exploring the old city of Ostuni
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinkyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    100
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
136
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel is really quite impressive, meaning the building id beautiful and full of little quirky bits that u just dont see from a modern building...the restoration work really couldnt be faulted, and its lovely...

Now, the actual hotel... Firstly, for the money I would personally think that u should get a.bit.more.. Like really comfy pillows (they weren't), or a flat screen tv thatis bigger than a 19 inch (didnt have a tv remote either), thick towels, free parking, etc, etc...

That being said, there was nothing wrong with the hotel or the stay, just feels like there are parts missing that would make u really feel that u were in a boutique hotel.

The room was not tiny, not massive - perfectly reasonable. Breakfast had all the usual continential choices. Staff were visable without being annoying. So, yeah, good hotel, great location (not sure there are even that many other choices of hotel) in a lovely little town.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pestef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The hotel is really well located. Right in the center of the "Città Bianca" . The staff is definetely kind, efficient, professional and attentive. Rooms are rather spatious (on request ) and wonderfully mixing ancient charme and modern comfort .The hotel restaurant worths a visit ; pretty good quality/price ratio . Few improving points would be : better parking facilities , fancier technology equipments (TV rather small, Wi-Fi connection unavailable unless in the common spaces , small shower ) .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arouet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We toured Puglia in March. Many nights we had no set destination or reservations. Being off season we knew we would easily find accommodations, what we didnt know was what they would be like. We arrived in Ostuni on a grey and rainy afternoon and were amazed at the charm and beauty of this ancient white hilltop village. The Hotel La Terra is inside the old city walls so one must park a bit away in a public lot. It is worth the walk to the hotel which is set in a lovingly restored medieval building in a perfect location to wander up and down the maze of enchanting streets. The rooms are very comfortable. The pretty tiled baths are new and have good plumbing . The furnishings are simple and tasteful, the king size bed very good quality. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast is served in the lovely restaurant adjoining to the hotel and it was ample and delicious. Go to this wonderful town and stay in this perfect hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexidocNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina Franca, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Perfect location in the historic centre of Ostuni.
Very friendly staff. The renovation of this hotel has been very kind. Original stone features, beautiful sitting areas and antique furniture around the hotel.
Although it is in the centre I had a wondeful sleep here and found the stay very relaxing.
I would return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaFrancaSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We have visited Ostuni on several occasions and always stayed in rented apartments and houses in the City. We decided to stay in La Terra because we understood it was the best hotel for miles around. We were very disappointed. Whilst it is 'historic' and the staff were friendly and helpful the facilities are very poor. The rooms (we changed ours because we found it very cold) are basic and the en-suit in both rooms are dated.
There are no tea or coffee making facilities and the room service is very expensive. Whilst we accept that we were travelling out of season there was absolutely not atmosphere in the hotel.
We would not recommend this to a friend. There are some lovely apartments and houses in the city for rental. This hotel does not compare with anything we have stayed in previously.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandylloydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Hotel is old converted "castle", strangely sprawling, and I found it easy to get lost trying to find the breakfast room. (Look for the elevator, and then you won't be lost). Several beautiful outdoor patios that look out over the white city of Ostuni. Rooms we stayed in were adequate, but not especially roomy, and only a little window. Thankfully, it had tall ceilings, so we didn't feel claustrophobic. If you stay there, watch for the glass stairway. Stepping down it is a leap of faith.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostuni hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 20 in Ostuni
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
0.3 mi away
Relais Sant'Eligio
Relais Sant'Eligio
#7 of 20 in Ostuni
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Sommita Relais
La Sommita Relais
#6 of 20 in Ostuni
461 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
2.5 mi away
Citta Bianca Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Terra

Property: Hotel La Terra
Address: Via Gaspare Petrarolo 16, 72017, Ostuni, Italy (Formerly La Terra Rione Antico)
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ostuni
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ostuni
#6 Family Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Terra 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Terra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terra Hotel
Hotel La Terra Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing