We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star [--] up”
Review of La Sommita Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Sommita Relais
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We are currently staying here on our honeymoon. First thing we asked for when we booked was a bottle of prosecco in our room for our arrival. Day 3, and it hasn't appeared!
We drove from naples, nice drive, great car..... Then we arrived in Ostuni, which is beautiful. First impressions somewhat tainted however, as we could not find the hotel. The only way to access it is on foot or using the hotels trike shuttle service from their parking facilities on the outskirts of town. We did not know this and after nearly an hour of driving round, following signs and driving through the tiniest of cobbled streets (whilst constantly trying to phone the hotel, whose number was out of service!!!) we parked in a car park miles away and walked up hundreds of steps carrying our luggage. When we got to the hotel we then had to wait, very hot and bothered, for our room to be made ready ( it was 2.30pm!!!)
We laughed this off, and enjoyed our evening wondering round the beautiful city. However, along with the no phones, was no WIFI. Not ideal!
Day 2 - phones and WIFI fixed by morning, but no hot water in our room. Gave up on cold showers and went for breakfast. Nice food, very slow service. Ate outside and no plates cleared so plagued by wasps! Nice coffee. On return to room, hot water back on, so showered and went to lovely locals beach as recommended by one of the staff. Great day and great lunch. We then had a massage, which was good, although punctuated by sounds of the plumber just outside banging etc, no not the most relaxing experience! Another lovely evening exploring, eating and drinking in Ostuni!
However when we got back to our room at midnight, there was NO WATER AT ALL!!! Went downstairs and was given 3 bottles for free to brush teeth etc. Good sleep, very comfy bed!
Then this morning.... (Despite everything we were still relatively good humoured about the whole thing) there was once again no hot water. So we did suffer very cold showers as we hadn't been able to have one last night. On going down for breakfast ( during which the service seems to have slowed to a stop.... Didn't get asked if we wanted hot drinks until after we had finished!) we explained about the water. They said to give them until 12pm! Got fed up at breakfast waiting for our coffees. Came back upstairs to be told hot water now working (it is luke warm at best!) we asked for our coffees in our room. We have been waiting for them now for 30mins. Hence writing this. Husband has just finally lost the plot and gone downstairs. Watch this space.............

All I can say is this place is and should be nice, but this week so far has been beyond a joke. Not what you expect from a 5 star honeymoon. We understand that things go wrong, but every effort should be made to compensate, and so far this is not happening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MWA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneSommi, Responsabile reception at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to apologize one more time for the problems occurred during your stay.

Sure the slow and not accurate service is a problem to be solved by the management.

Regarding the water and the internet, we are very sorry but in the day 10th august 2013 one lightning fell a few meters away doing a lot of damage, we done our best to solved the problem, in AUGUST, in the shortest possible time.

Is true this is not your problem, and is for this that the Manager has provided you the 20% discount in your stay.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Ostuni is stunning and the La Sommita is stunning. It's not cheap but it is worth the price. Great views, great service, beautiful surroundings. Had dinner at the restaurant which was very good but not great in our opinion. But the hotel is terrific.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adagio503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Three nights of heaven in Ostuni,puglia staying at la sommita. Could not have been better. Staff at hotel fabulous, Vito at front desk helped us organise everything from a driver to take us to nearby towns to booking delicious restaurants. Ostuni town the most beautiful and happening place in the area. Must have a drink on purple bean bag bar next to hotel, very funky.

Room Tip: Had room with a view, beautiful scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Firstly, don't try to find it! la Sommita nestles close to the duomo at the top of the hill and you have to leave the car parked somewhere and then call the hotel who will come and collect you or leave the car and then traipse through the warrens of Ostuni and eventually hope you'll find it. We did the later and it was fun.
The hotel recommends a car park for ten euros a night, but you can park just outside the walls of the old town for free.
We booked a room with a balcony and a view - the room was a terrible disappointment, especially as we were staying for a week (and given the price we were paying). We asked for a change - and got one. A much nicer room, one you would want to stay in for a period, with space, high vaulted ceilings and a view to the sea. Would advise to forgo a balcony as one of the joys of this hotel are the quirky seating areas dotted around.
The rooms are fairly spartan - TVs, no dvd, no music players - and our shower leaked right into the main room. Bed was large and wonderful, looking straight out to the countryside of olive and fig trees and beyond that the sea.
There is no pool as such, but a plunge pool in a cute area with only five loungers.
Breakfast: a terrific buffet, with a daily changing selection of fresh pastries. Take up the option of scrambled eggs as well, worth having.
The restaurant at night is simply outstanding (see restaurant review).
Rooms have a/c and if you want to sleep with the windows open (of course you do, who doesn't), bear in mind that you'll be woken by the ringing of the duomo's bells, which are far from melodic.
Staff are friendly and faultless.
It's a small place (15 rooms) and you don't see too many other guests. La Sommita's position in the centre of the old town means it is ideal for exploring what is a remarkable and wonderful city.
Just outside the doors of the hotel, an old couple spend their day in their small apartment preparing capers and olives, which they sell in jars. A few steps from there is the brilliant little bar mela bacata, sit on the beanbags on the steps with a glass of prosecco and be grateful that life holds such simple pleasures
This is a great hotel for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Go for a sea facing room without balcony. No 4 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have just returned from a 10-day break in Puglia and stayed at La Sommita for three nights as part of the trip. Ostuni is a stunning, hilltop town and La Sommita is dramatically positioned at the top of the hill, with spectacular views of the sea. The hotel is exceptionally good - we opted for a Superior Room with a view and we had a private balcony, and we enjoyed watching the setting sun with a glass of wine! The room was beautifully decorated and well appointed, with one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in. We ate in the restaurant on one of the evenings and the food was delicious (one Michelin star). There are plenty of good local trattoria's in town for more simple, local food. The hotel staff are delightful and very friendly. This is a great little hotel and we will definitely go back

Room Tip: Room 7 has a private balcony with spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

i only went there for an aperitivo with friends, so i didn't see the rooms. i can say, however, that it's a very elegant relais in a secluded position in Ostuni. splendid terrace facing the sea. courteous and professional staff. if you ask they can even pick you up with their little panoramic cars!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneSommi, Responsabile reception at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kindly words.

We hope to welcome you again at Relais La Sommità.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We think this was the best hotel right in the city center. The hotel, restaurant, room and even the pool were all fabulous. We were traveling for 30 days and disappointed that there was no English speaking channels, so Vitto got us a dvd player and brought us movies each day. It was really nice to come home after dinner and relax and watch a movie.
I loved everything about our stay here!

Room Tip: We had a 2 story room that would be good for a family. We were told there were rooms without any win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1trina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneSommi, Responsabile reception at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Guest,

very GRAZIE!!!

We hope to welcome you again at Relais La Sommità.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostuni
0.4 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
0.2 mi away
Relais Sant'Eligio
Relais Sant'Eligio
#5 of 20 in Ostuni
303 reviews
4.3 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 20 in Ostuni
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Masseria Torre Maizza
Masseria Torre Maizza
#1 of 6 in Savelletri
591 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme
13.7 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sommita Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sommita Relais

Address: Via Scipione Petrarolo 7, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ostuni
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range: £130 - £721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sommita Relais 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais La Sommita' is a mansion of 16th century and represents the diamond at the top of the historical centre of Ostuni, with 15 elegant rooms divided in Deluxe, Deluxe View, Suite and one Master Suite.This is a retreat, a shelter, a moment of quiet in an over stimulated life, an environment that meant to envelop rather than impress.The interiors walk the line between an ascetic minimalism and a stylish luxury, in a palette of creams and off-whites, with the sort of quiet and solid furnishings that are the signifiers of high-end modern interior design. Stone walls, natural textile, wood are the materials that characterize the interiors of Relais La Sommita. The bathrooms are always characterized by the same minimalist style of wood, marble, stone, archway and Culti brands products and Bulgari for the Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your La Sommita Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sommita Relais And Spa
La Sommita Relais & Spa Hotel Ostuni
La Sommita Relais Culti Ostuni
La Sommita Relais Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing