We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but looks a lot better in the website”
Review of La Sommita Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Sommita Relais
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Everything at the hotel was very good, service was friendly, the room cozy, although not like it looks like in the brochure. Everything is a little more barren and worn and shabby. I booked the suite with the fireplace expecting to use it on a cold December night and I was told it wasn't for use....bit pointless paying extra for that specific room then! We also had a large bathtub, which is surrounded by glass and quite hard to get into. Also the water never got hot enough to have a sufficiently warm bath.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was quite luxurious for us. Very comfy room & bed. Amazing breakfast buffet. Lovely sitting area outside the room with nice music playing, A perfect location to explore the centro storico & convenient to get the car from the car park & go trulli-hopping in the countryside nearby!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Beautiful hotel with an amazing restaurant. The master suite is very lovely - it has a huge jacuzzi room and private terrace. The staff were professional and efficient rather than very friendly. The restaurant is excellent - we had a fantastic meal (one of the best of our honeymoon) and also enjoyed exploring Ostuni. The lack of on-site parking is a bit of a pain but it's fun being transferred to your car in the hotel's scooter-van. My wife enjoyed her massage in the spa though the masseuse didn't speak a huge amount of English (nor we Italian). Definitely a lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArabianPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

No doubt that Ostuni is a fascinating place, and La Sommita a wonderful location from which to experience her charms. Our room had wonderful views across the olive groves to the Adriatic several kilometers distant. There are many sitting out spaces around the hotel, so even if you choose a room without a view, there are plenty of opportunities to enjoy it. The breakfast was excellent, and I'd expect nothing less from a restaurant capable of producing food of the quality of Cielo at La Sommita. The Michelin star is well deserved- we ate a fabulous meal here, with exquisite service. We also ate very well on our second evening at the Osteria El Tempo Perso a few yards distant in the 'centro storico'. There is much to see in Ostuni itself, and of course it's only a short 25 kilometre drive to the truli at Alberobello, which were fascinating. All in all a very special place, highly recommended. By the way, I've read comments here relating to the shuttle service operated between its car park and the hotel. We had absolutely NO issues with this although the hotel was quite full, it simply required good communication and a little patience. The benefit is to stay in a unique location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at La Sommita two nights in September 2013 as part of a bike trip across Puglia. It's a really beautiful, boutique hotel in the heart of Ostuni's centro storico. We started both evenings we were there with drinks on the wall overlooking the olive groves in the plain below and the Adriatic beyond - absolutely perfect setting.

All of the staff were really great - proactive, friendly, and helpful.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night - very nice experience and a good wine selection.

Room Tip: We stayed in a delux room, which was very nice and spacious, and really felt like you were staying i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfeStreetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

La Sommita proved to be sheer bliss for our recent 4 night stay in beautiful Ostuni, the perfect location for exploring the central towns of Puglia. From their partner parking area, we were whisked up and through the winding narrow roads in their service vehicle. At check- in we learned that we were given an upgrade to Le Volte, the luxe and spacious Master Suite, which opens to a very large terrace with views that extend from surrounding olive groves out to the sea. Magical! There is plenty of storage within a bank of cabinets that run along a raised platform behind the comfortable King- sized bed, where fresh robes await--slippers too at the ready. An arched-stone ceiling enhances the spacious sleeping area, and a small dining table is tucked conveniently into a corner. . A spa- like bathroom was just beyond frosted volte doors. Outfitted with a large round Jacuzzi for two, double sinks, bidet, toilet, and rain shower, this bathroom is among the largest you will find anywhere in Italy. Sheer luxury! La Sommita is very well maintained. Exquisite linens, from tables, to bath, to bed. Nicely- set tables. All areas, including outdoors, were spotless. Staff was very friendly, polite, attentive, yet unobtrusive. We passed through the kitchen area several times each day, and the aromas were divine. In the evening, the smell of pastries and cakes was evident in the breakfast room, a hint of the superb offerings awaiting us each morning. We appreciated the miniature Sfogliatelle and other pastry- nice to be able to sample smaller sizes, and the entire breakfast spread was fresh and delicious. Fresh fruits, an array of cakes, breads, meat. The cheeses are simply perfection - several choices of fresh varieties like ricotta, the creamiest burratta, and more. Highly recommend that you grab one of their large crusty rolls, which seem to disappear from the buffet fast. Also available are freshly- cooked eggs. I requested poached eggs one morning, and they arrived perfectly done! Can't speak highly enough of the staff. They are always ready to assist you. One night after stopping by the lounge area to use WiFi, I commented on the wafting smell of chocolate coming from the kitchen. Before I knew it, I was presented with a small plate of chocolates from the kitchen.

Highly recommend La Sommita. Two things that would have made our stay beyond perfect would be better WiFi ( although this may not be the fault of La Sommita, but more their location) and the access to parking. La Sommita does provide complimentary transport into the town and the parking area. A necessity, but the service is always provided by extremely polite and friendly staff.

I am already planning our return to beautiful Ostuni, and La Sommita!

Room Tip: Le Volte was exquisite! Beautiful views from the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOGA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We exchanged our wedding vows here and the five days we spent in this hotel was the best we've ever had.the rooms are beautiful and the view from our suite was astounding.Service was impeccable and the staff were very professional.Breakfast was served in the courtyard and the spread was sumptuous.the hotel manager Miss Mariantonietta D'Allesandro made sure our ceremony ran smoothly and made us feel completely at ease and very special.we are very grateful to her and appreciate her kind nature and her exceptionally high standard of service to her guests.we will definitely return many more times to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneDayInYourLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostuni
0.4 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 20 in Ostuni
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relais Sant'Eligio
Relais Sant'Eligio
#6 of 20 in Ostuni
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 20 in Ostuni
608 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
13.7 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sommita Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sommita Relais

Address: Via Scipione Petrarolo 7, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ostuni
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range: £119 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sommita Relais 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais La Sommita' is a mansion of 16th century and represents the diamond at the top of the historical centre of Ostuni, with 15 elegant rooms divided in Deluxe, Deluxe View, Suite and one Master Suite.This is a retreat, a shelter, a moment of quiet in an over stimulated life, an environment that meant to envelop rather than impress.The interiors walk the line between an ascetic minimalism and a stylish luxury, in a palette of creams and off-whites, with the sort of quiet and solid furnishings that are the signifiers of high-end modern interior design. Stone walls, natural textile, wood are the materials that characterize the interiors of Relais La Sommita. The bathrooms are always characterized by the same minimalist style of wood, marble, stone, archway and Culti brands products and Bulgari for the Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Sommita Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sommita Relais And Spa
La Sommita Relais & Spa Hotel Ostuni
La Sommita Relais Culti Ostuni
La Sommita Relais Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing