We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in amazing city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Sommita Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Sommita Relais
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
Otford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel in amazing city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms for a one night visit on our way further south. Very modern, minimalist but well designed. Perfect location within the city. One issue we had was the aircon in room 12 didn't work and the room really felt like an oven, management provided a complimentary bottle of chilled wine but unfortunately they were fully booked and couldn't provide another room.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank safa_in_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    99
    34
    21
    13
See reviews for
43
286
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Always pity to stay in a hotel where a high potential is manage in a wrong way...
La sommita is well located in a magnificent old village who must be expected the best...5 stars but no service at all....the terrace during our stay wasn't exploited each day certainly because the waiters were lazy to dress up the table at breakfast or lunch...never we have seen some open arms to welcome us to enjoy warmy lunch or breakfast With amazing weather....worst ! The breakfast was serving inside !!!! Of course, it needs less logistic for the staff. Also for the lunch, we were obliged to motivate the staff for serve us outside !!...the pool was empty ( 29°c outside ) And sofa around the pool dirty....we had the feeling to disturb And to be in a opening atmosphere before that the hotel open....With this level And prices...its indecent...
Rooms are nice but simple..even in a minimalist design ..start to looks hasbeen...
It was clean. Foods And restaurant was amazing, Nice cooking With super quality of products. Except one young waiter, the others one never got to us a smile !!...they were tired And not symapthic at all !!.! The manager should start to see what goin on in his hotel And restaurant !..untoleratable for customers like us choosed la sommita for his ( supposed) quality.....reception team was great and smiling.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

As we approached La Sommita by taxi, we climbed through ever narrower, ever steeper streets until we thought we could climb no more. And we couldn't. After rounding the cathedral, we had to proceed the last hundred feet or so on foot as the lanes became that much narrower.

And the climb was more than worth it. This 15-room, boutique hotel is built into an ancient palazzo (and adjoining monastery) without losing any of the charm of the original buildings. We felt like royalty in room 8, with a private balcony that looked down thousands of feet to the plain below, and then out to the ocean. We felt like staying in our room for the whole trip; although, fortunately, we didn't, as Sommita matches its rooms with an exceptional restaurant and a fascinating old town. If you are anywhere near Ostuni, I would highly recommend La Sommita.

(One minor quibble though: why would a hotel provide WiFi but not tell its guests that it was available? Why did I have to phone the front desk to find out? Odd.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Wow, the service is outstanding. My sister in law just had a wedding there and the staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect for all the guest staying there. It's a truck to get up the hotel but once your in you're IN!!! There's a driver that can pick you up in a Mini Cooper once you arrive at the clock tower or where ever in the white city and haul your luggage and yourself to the hotel. You just need to make sure you call the hotel to pick you up once you arrive in Ostuni. If you have a rental car there's a place near a car wash to park for free if you're a guest at the hotel. All the rooms are different shape and very unique. Best beds in Italy by far......omg the best!!! They're restaurant is amazing too.

Room Tip: Worth it! We had the whole hotel for a wedding and the reception went till 5am. One of the best hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,459 reviews
370 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,282 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were ambling happily in Trulli- country when we settled into exploring the White City. White certainly does not goes out of fashion,as this town exemplifies ..... purity,innocence and gob-smacking beauty.
Ostuni , built on the crown of a hill girth'd by olive trees and close-standing houses,lime- washed in shining white, which from a distance looks like an outsize egg-white meringue. Strolling through its pretty town centre with lovely bright labyrinth of lanes and alleys..
People say ,it's difficult to find La Sommita. Why not get lost in the experience rather then the expedient straight road,after all,you are on holidays,nest- pas?
Friends in Georgia,USA recommended this pile of excitement. Its a historic palazzo furnished totally by the owner's minimalist products of his label. Check-out the lighting for atmosphere and cool. selected fragrances and music to match.
I am glad,that the owner decided not to make this ensemble look too much like a formal showroom. The installed palm-shaded loggias,Spanish garden with orange trees and of-course,the panorama from our windows of the White City is breathtaking,extending all the way to the deep blue sea.
Choosing to stay here was an exceptional indulgence,nay a reward, for traipsing through the hot and dusty environs of the area.
The restaurant is an absolute foodie-heaven ,offering aromatic Apulian dishes,with a 'vino teca to help you consume,err try, the local samplings of the vines. There is no pool but this is made-up for in the outstanding atmospheric hammam.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Wow is all I can say about this hotel. I travel a lot for business and leisure but this property blew me away. My wife and I were in Ostuni at the end of March for a mini vacation and everything was perfect. Our room was a spacious two level suite with a large, well appointed bathroom. The service was excellent and the common spaces and outdoor garden areas magnificent with sweeping views over Ostuni and the surrounding countryside. We had a delicious Michelin-starred dinner at the hotel's Cielo restaurant which was very reasonably priced for the amount and quality of the food served. We had delicious lamb and local burrata cheese. I am drooling just thinking about it. The managers Mariantonietta and Moreno were excellent going above and beyond in their level of service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PathologicalTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Round numerous corners on the top of Centro Storico you will find the hotel. From the beginning to the end of the stay of 4 nights you were treated royaly. Individual decorated room, vaulted sandstone ceilings and cleverly designed bathroom.
Parking is at the fot of the village and the hotel offers a very efficient and reliable shuttle sevice.
One draw back shared with the majority of hotels is the locaton of the safe. One has to kneel every time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostuni
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 21 in Ostuni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
4.3 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 21 in Ostuni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
20.7 mi away
Don Ferrante Dimore di charme
4.3 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sommita Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sommita Relais

Property: La Sommita Relais
Address: Via Scipione Petrarolo 7, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ostuni
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sommita Relais 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais La Sommita' is a mansion of 16th century and represents the diamond at the top of the historical centre of Ostuni, with 15 elegant rooms divided in Deluxe, Deluxe View, Suite and one Master Suite.This is a retreat, a shelter, a moment of quiet in an over stimulated life, an environment that meant to envelop rather than impress.The interiors walk the line between an ascetic minimalism and a stylish luxury, in a palette of creams and off-whites, with the sort of quiet and solid furnishings that are the signifiers of high-end modern interior design. Stone walls, natural textile, wood are the materials that characterize the interiors of Relais La Sommita. The bathrooms are always characterized by the same minimalist style of wood, marble, stone, archway and Culti brands products and Bulgari for the Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Sommita Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sommita Relais & Spa Hotel Ostuni
La Sommita Relais And Spa
La Sommita Relais Culti Ostuni
La Sommita Relais Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing