We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel on the outskirts of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Masseria L'Ovile
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cute hotel on the outskirts of town”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed on night at the Masseria L'Ovile and it was a nice stay. The room was a good size, the bed was average in comfort. The bathroom had a slight odor that we could not figure out where it was coming from. The wifi in the room was poor (our room was on the end of the building) but it was fine in the courtyard just outside our door. The breakfast was a nice assortment of breads, pastries and drinks. The pool was nice but the deck furniture could use some updating. The hotel only took cash for payment which was not a problem as we only stayed one night and had cash on hand but it would we did not find this out until check-out in the morning

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NealCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    57
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
77
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Old Masseria transformed into a hotel, with big rooms facing a large patio with flowers (and a cat).
Rooms are divided in two bedrooms (may be claustrophobic for some), and trips to bathrooms can be tricky, because of low arches .
Rooms and baths are modernized and very clean.
Buffet breakfast with plenty of choices (fruits, cakes, different types of bread , croissant, ham, cheese, Yogurt, eggs, jam, Juice, Water, Milk) served in the dining room.
There is a beautiful pool, overlooking the olive fields.
Gaetano who owns the hotel with his wife (he is also a composer/singer) will help you indicating the better routes to Lorocotondo, Martina Franco and Alberobello.
If you have to go out for dinner, you may try Gaetano’s sister in law restaurant with excellent food/price.
Wi-fi works very well anywhere, and hotel has a computer for guests in the reception area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaldeckSerpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Masseria for a week and we had a lovely time. This family run B&B is what the real Italian holiday is all about. Relaxed and family friendly atmosphere, excellent service, welcoming people, great food and wine. Since the first day we arrived we felt like home and there was nothing that Gaetano and lovely Domenica would not do to make us feel comfortable and relaxed. The rooms are spacious and clean, we had two connecting rooms with two bathrooms and we enjoyed maximum comfort. The breakfast was always delicious with variety of pastries and cakes. The Masseria provides shuttle to any of the surrounding beaches including supply of beach gear.. Our children had memorable holiday and still want to go back there.
Excellent example of a real Italian hospitality! We highly recommend it.
Arrivederci all'anno prossimo!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trusted777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst travelling in the area. It's a great little place where the family and service and fantastic. We had a delicious home cooked meal one evening where the gorgeous food just kept on coming! Each and every dish delicious. Good wine too.
The room are clean authentic and charming. Slept well both nights!
The pool also is a bonus.

The only negatives for this place is that the sun loungers around the pool badly need updating! A lot are broken and nearly all are shabby. Please update them. Finally occasionally you could smell the drains in the pool area. Some maintenance was taking place so maybe this was getting fixed. Not sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark-Rainsforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
275 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Friendly, clean. Family friendly but owners toddlers are up early and down late.

Just adjacent to motorway off ramp but is quiet. Handy to Ostuni.

Comfiest bed in Puglia.

Usual breakfast to keep you going but no other meals. Room rate is good for this area. Great value.

Room Tip: Shared common area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astropig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaetano S, Direttore at Hotel Masseria L'Ovile, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Sirs
first of all we thank you for the compliments and for honored us with your visit in our Masseria.
However, we wanted to let you know that the children who were running around from early in the morning, in the out door courtyard of the Masseria,
were not our children, but some guest's children who were staying in the room next to yours.
It has been asked to their parents, more than once, to keep them a little bit quieter ( expecially early in the morning), but almost with no results. This family being
our guests in Masseria like all of you at that present time, belive us, we found ourselves in a situation not so easy to manage.

Our two children (a boy of three and a girl) have completely different habits: the girl goes to school from 07:45 a.m to 01:00 p.m., the boy (...good for us and our guests, too) sleeps until noon! So, normally they are in Masseria just in the afternoon.

We are still glad that despite of this "discomfort" for wich we apologize, you have been enjoying your visit in our Masseria and we hope to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avellino, Italy
Level Contributor
259 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Located in an old shepherds and animals shelter complex, nicely refurbished, this hotel is quiet and comfortable, set in the middle of olive groves, about one Km from tghe sea and 8 from Ostuni.
Rooms are big, with A/C and mini frigo. There is a swimming pool (may to september).
The owners are friendly and very helpful, we have a 9 month old daughter and they helped us in every special need.
They also provide a complimentary shuttle to/for Ostuni (beautiful town) and the beaches, although I think it's advisable to get there by car if you want to enjoy all the surrounding beauties.
Breakfast is served until 12.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Photos_On_The_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Normally we stay in hotels that are centrally located to a town. Not really knowing what a Masseria was we discovered it meant "farm house" and it was about 6-7 kilometers from Ostuni. We had only booked B & B as we like to go out in the evenings to discover different restaurants, however the Masseria's set up was so well organised that we paid for one of their evening meals. Unlike any other half board that I have ever been to, the Masseria offered a service where by they drove you (by mini bus) to a different restaurant each night so that you could experience new venues. After the meal you are picked up and dropped off back at the hotel. The mini bus service offers free day time rides to the beach and evening rides to the city of Ostuni 6 days per week. If you go to one of the near by beaches you can book a free sun lounger and umbrella (other places on the coast were charging 25.00€ per day). The Masseria is very tastefully decorated and the staff extremely friendly, our hostess, Angela, spoke good English and was very helpful. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere and breakfast is served until noon, so enjoy your lie in. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HazelEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostuni hotels
1.1 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
5.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 21 in Ostuni
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Masseria Tutosa
Hotel Masseria Tutosa
#15 of 21 in Ostuni
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 21 in Ostuni
520 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
5.2 mi away
Relais Sant'Eligio
Relais Sant'Eligio
#7 of 21 in Ostuni
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Masseria L'Ovile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Masseria L'Ovile

Property: Hotel Masseria L'Ovile
Address: 1 Loc Rosa Marina-Pilone, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ostuni
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Masseria L'Ovile 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mystical atmosphere that comes to mind to ancient times, a familiar housing, a sense of peace that winds the rooms, a genuineness of our products . These are the first emotions that you can feel in our Hotel Masseria L'Ovile, correct mix between "agriturismo" and hotel, destination for guests of all ages who are interested in the right mix between quality and price. If you consider also the strategic position near the crystalline sea, Ostuni ("The White City"), Valle d'Itria ("Trulli-Shire"), Lecce and its Baroque Art, the Hotel Masseria L'Ovile represents the ideal destination for an holiday Made in Puglia. Embedded in the charming beauty of the olive grove and orchards, the Hotel Masseria L'Ovile rises around an ancient central square, around which are disposed the different local recovered after years of abandonment to their new use. The owner, Domenica e Gaetano, will be very pleased to meet you in this "oasi" of pacefull and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Masseria L'Ovile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Masseria L'Ovile Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing