We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel close to old city”
Review of Relais Sant'Eligio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Sant'Eligio
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel close to old city”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed at the hotel while attending an archaeological conference in the old city - just a short walk up the hill. The staff/owners were remarkably friendly and helpful. It is fair to say that they really went out of their way to be of assistance! Room was good and the view out over the olive groves to the sea was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigA304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    108
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
134
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We were bikiing through Puglia and they had a safe place to store the bikes. The room was adequate with breezes coming in through the windows with a distant view of the sea. It is an easy five minute walk into the town center for eating and shopping and enjoying the busy Italian life. The breakfast was fabulous with meats, fruits, croissants, and breads and homemade Italian cake which brought memories of my grandmother. the front desk was helpful and kind.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannecorkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I was travelling by bicycle and as soon as I arrived a member of staff came out to show me where I could leave my bike safely overnight.
In the morning I had to drag one of the staff from serving breakfast to enable me to check out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years and always enjoyed it. Its a place I will always be happy to go back too, as the staff are always helpful and friendly.

If you like staying at large faceless chain hotels, then this is not the place for you. But if you want to stay with typical Italians and experience the Italian way of life then this is a hotel for you.

Its within a few minutes walk of the town, with a good selection of bars and restaurants. Breakfast is basic, but they always ask if you need/want more of anything.

The last time I stayed (March 2012) we had an early flight so had to leave at 5:30am. They were willing to get up early (5:00am) and make us breakfast, try getting that in most hotels!

Room Tip: I always get a room at the back, that looks towards the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crisbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2008

we hadn't booked so moved around Ostuni area.
felt we would like to settle so picked Relais.
It was pretty empty and not cheap and run by 2 seemingly amateurs. They were very polite but running all on a shoestring including breakfast.
Best part bed although a bit short, small room and bathroom kept bumping myself with only shower. Window opened out to sea and terraces lost sun early on due to being blocked by town.
Ate in restaurant first night and quite creepy as noone else there. Fortunately location convenient for walking up to town, only 5 mins not 15.
Car parking excellent hence we did not stay in town.
We like sea and spent most days touring around coves.
Ostuni excellent location to go to and next time would hire trulli or appartment.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — size of bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tory-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 08. Room was billed as "superior sea view" which was a bit of a joke, as anyone familiar with the geography of Ostuni will know - we were facing east towards the coast certainly, and could just about see the white specks of yacht sails in the distance, but that's not exactly what you normally mean by "sea view"!

The room was definitely not Superior - the bed was a King size and quite comfortable, but the rest of the room had just enough space to move around it. Bathroom was likewise very much on the small side with just a shower cubicle; shower was OK, but I couldn't get anything more than a trickle of hot water from the basin taps. Air conditioning definitely didn't, so the first night we sweltered, the second and third were woken at dawn by sun rising into our eyes because the shutters were fixed to the windows, so window open = shutter open, and as i mentioned we were facing east.

Staff were friendly and helpful on email prior to the trip, and there is free parking around the hotel - because it's out of the boundaries of the town really. Others have said the location was great, i wasn't so sure - obviously it's a hill town, so getting into the centre is steep, and although the hotel was below the walls of the old town, it would be at least a 15 minute steepish climb to get in for supper in the evening. We took the scary narrow lane driving option instead and took the car in each night. Personally i wouldn't have wanted to be at the hotel without a car, and if you have to have one anyway, might as well try one of the Masseria a few minutes' drive into the countryside and perhaps get better value for money.

The staff were less helpful once we got there. Weirdly, there only seemed to be about four other people staying, and perhaps because of that the breakfast service was minimal (not enough to keep a waitress busy, so she'd wander off and chat in another room). Also the food was a self service buffet type (fairly basic - croissants, cereal, tinned fruit, yoghurts, a bit of cheese and ham, juices) and i wondered how many days things were getting recycled for with only a few of us eating. Although the breakfast room was theoretically a restaurant in the evening, i never saw any lights on let alone anyone eating there, and there were no menus in evidence anywhere.

We paid around £80 for the room, and i didn't think it was good value compared with other places we've stayed in Italy. I wanted to go to the Hotel La Terra which was properly in the old town, but couldn't get in; next time i think we'd try something out of town if necessary.

  • Liked — Bed was a large one, and quite comfy
  • Disliked — Rooms are too small
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k4ssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2006

The hotel was in a good location for all local amenities i.e., restaurants, bars and the historical centre. It was very well furnished but unfortunately the breakfast was basic, the room was small and the mini bar was inadequately stocked. The guest bar was not open and there was no menu on display to encourage guests to use the restaurant. I am not sure whether this was due to the timing of our stay as it was mid September and there were only a hanful of guests staying at the hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of facilities
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Helenisapickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostuni hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 21 in Ostuni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Terra
Hotel La Terra
#6 of 21 in Ostuni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Sommita Relais
La Sommita Relais
#5 of 21 in Ostuni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.5 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 21 in Ostuni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Sant'Eligio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Sant'Eligio

Property: Relais Sant'Eligio
Address: Via Giuose Pinto 50, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ostuni
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ostuni
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Sant'Eligio 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais Sant'Eligio Situated along the "via della Procaccia", the Hotel Sant'Eligio has always assumed the function of dwelling, due to its strategic location that, just off the fortified walls of the "White City", dominates over the verdant plans of the magic Ostuni. Commissioned by queen Bona Sforza d'Aragona, the hotel was erected, in the half of the 16th century, with the intent to establish a post office that could link the maritime poles of Otranto and Naples, and so taking the name of "Camposada". In the variegated context of Ostuni, the "White City" of Apulia, our hotel represents the best formula, due to the excellence of the gastronomic offers and the accommodation facilities. Our four-stars-hotel towers just around the perimeter of the old town center, just 6 km away from the sea. Its sophisticated architectures includes 22 rooms that, respectively, face marvelous panoramic views, with the comfort of the most innovative technologies that, however, coexist with the original architectural profiles. Immerged into the elegant shapes of an internal courtyard, singular spaces where conversing, and a panoramic terrace, our guest is welcomed by a warm ambient that, surrounded by the fertile Apulian vegetation, blurs looking at the sea, in a rhythmical communication with the secular olive trees. Not by chance, in fact, an inscription tells the guests: QUISQUIS HUC VENIT HUC REDIET, meaning "Those who accommodate here, will come back" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Relais Sant'Eligio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Sant'Eligio Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing