We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis in heart of Puglia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Masseria Tutosa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ostuni
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I wasn't sure quite what to expect when I first booked this place (a cross between a hotel, farmhouse and outdoor haven.

As soon as you drive down the driveway laced with wild flowers you get a sense of something special. The garden(s) and pool are very clean and you may often find the odd cricket or cat in the vicinity is your nearest companion.
The rooms are traditional farmhouse style but beautifully kept and kept clean every day. The Masseria is a perfect base to see the best Puglia has to offer which is why many guests seem to choose it. We were lucky enough to have a garden view room.
The Signora and owner, Antonia, and two receptionists Mima and Elisabetta could not have been more accommodating – although it does help if you can speak a smattering of Italian as this is the place to be if you want to move away from the tourist trap.
Anna Maria is the cook that comes in each day and you may well see dishes such as roasted calf or aubergine parmigiana on the menu. Breakfast, like most of the food is homemade with produce from the Masseria’s grounds. Anna Maria creates the wonderful marmalades and jam which you can buy (along with olive oil ) although this is not advertised. They are very good!!
Word of advice though, we booked flights back from Bari which is about an hour’s drive from the Masseria. Better to get tickets from Brindisi which is just circa 22km from the hotel. Nearby are the beautiful Rosa Marina Beach (1km walking) and Ostuni which is about 7.5km.

In the summer months you will eat alfresco as we found the restaurant downstairs shut but this was perfect,.

This is not rave central by any stretch but if you want complete relaxation, warm and kind staff and a central base of the beaten track you just can’t beat this place.

Room Tip: We booked a ground floor room by the pool and these have tables outside giving you direct access to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Masseria Tutosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

This masseria is the best place to be if you want to combine sun, see, relax and nice places to visit at night for dinner.
We have been visiting puglia for many years now and have stayed in many Masseria's and hotels, but I must say that this Masseria is the best.
We love staying here, the personnel is very friendly and the lady who serves the Breakfast is the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Uithoorn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This year was our ninth annual return visit to Masseria Tutosa. As always we stayed in one of their larger rooms which is furnished in traditional style. The minute you walk in through the arched wooden gates of this masseria surrounded by olive groves, there is a wonderful feeling of seclusion, peace and calm. The gardens and pool area are beautifully maintained and the staff are always friendly and helpful. Only breakfast is served which suits us because we enjoy having lunch at one of the beach restaurants and in the evenings we visit one of the surrounding towns for dinner. Therefore a car is essential to get around. Since we first started visitng Puglia 10 years ago it has become a far more "upmarket" holiday destination. However, the new 5 star establishments are not what we would look for and Masseria Tutosa continues each year to promise us a trully relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivienrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A lovely peaceful place to stay. The room was spacious and comfortable with efficient air conditioning although we had no private outdoor area. The room did have character and retained some features of the Masseria. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful - especially the receptionist who spoke good English (as our Italian is almost non-existent this was a great asset) and went out of her way to ensure we enjoyed our stay and experienced some of the best sights of Puglia. The Masseria is at least a 20 minute walk through an olive grove (a couple of minutes) and an adjoining holiday resort to a gorgeous beach and you need to cross a couple of roads. Overall a lovely place to stay in Ostuni.

Room Tip: The room we had was very nice but we had no private outside space - balcony or terrace which we woul...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Arrived here at the last minute. Staff were very nice. The masseria is on beautiful grounds with a lovely pool, but the rooms were not 4 star standard as claimed. The rooms were badly furnished - there was a "lounge" area with a tv, kitchenette and bathroom. Then there were some tricky narrow stairs to navigate up to the bedroom area. There was no hot water when we went to have a shower. We arrived midday and the restaurant was already closed, and considering it was over 30 degrees, there was 1 bottle of fizzy water in the fridge for refreshment - that's it. WiFi was charged at 3 euros for 1 hour, which again I find bad service for a "4 star" accommodation. There were bikes on offer to hire which was nice, but this did not compensate for the lack of comfort. Not recommended if you are looking for a Masseria experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJR_004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Wonderful place to stay. The staff was extremly helpful. A lovely park with a swimmingpool. Our rooms in the old part of the Masseria were just great, Unfortunately with had only time to stay for one night - we sure would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We were a family of 22 people, from the matriarch, her children, their spouses and 13 grandchildren. We went to Puglia to celebrate birthdays and graduations and a family reunion. The Tutosa has apartments with kitchens and 3 bedrooms, 2 baths or if you don't need a kitchen, they had 2 bedrooms with 1 bath. It could easily accommdate all of us. The masseria grounds and swimming pool kept the children of various ages busy during leisure time. Signora Antonia and her staff were lovely and treated us as family and not guests. The children and adults were very satisfied with the selection for breakfast. Tutosa is well located in beautiful Ostuni where pasta and pizza making, great restaurants, wineries, cheese making and interesting towns are a short drive away. Signora Antonia has a very good guide, Ana Capone who was very helpful to us. My family can't stop talking about the best family vacation we've ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaolaUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostuni hotels
0.9 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
4.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 20 in Ostuni
653 reviews
4.4 mi away
Relais Sant'Eligio
Relais Sant'Eligio
#6 of 20 in Ostuni
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
4.4 mi away
Citta Bianca Country Resort
5.8 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 20 in Ostuni
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Masseria Tutosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Masseria Tutosa

Address: Contrada Tutosa SNC | S.P.19-Ostuni-Pilone, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range: £75 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Masseria Tutosa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA MASSERIA (intro) This white fortified Masseria, beautifully surrounded by the sea, countryside, centuries-old olive trees and prickly pears, tells the rich peasant history of the territory and is located between the last hills of Murgia and a splendid coastal strip with candid beaches and rocky shores, one of the most beautiful in Italy. From the Masseria, guests can enjoy relaxing walks under the shades of the centuries-old olive trees along the 40 hectares of the surrounding countryside, enjoying the intense perfumes of numerous officinal herbs and the briny air from the sea and dunes of Rosa Marina, one of the most beautiful spots in the Adriatic sea and within walking distance from the Masseria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Masseria Tutosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Masseria Tutosa Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing