We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Ostuni”
Review of Casa Tavani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ostuni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Tavani
Ranked #15 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Ostuni
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at La Terrazza in late May. The apartment is large, airy, and probably is more light than any other apartment around, given the top floor and corner. The location was incredibly convenient. Wonderful eating places abound, and day trips to surrounding towns (take back roads, well worth it) are of course a must. The apartment is just steps from the historic center, yet quiet. The view from the patio over the town, then the 5 or 6 miles of olive groves, and then the sea, is to be savored at least 2x a day.
It is a bit of an adventure to get the luggage up to the apartment when arriving, and our car was too big, but it was well worth it. After a week there, we knew how to get around the town, so leaving was a breeze. We went knowing it would be a good time; we left knowing we would probably return.

Room Tip: We really loved the openness of la terrazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mew01921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

I cannot recommend the lovely L'Alcova apartment more highly. The decor is stylish and it is well stocked with books and films (in the unlikely event that the weather is wet). It is brilliantly located just 2mts from the Plaza Liberata where there is a tourist information shop, excellent restaurants and the local bus stop. Angela and Tim had provided exceptionally detailed information by e-mail before our holiday and provided another folder of information and maps in the apartment. The welcome pack was excellent - no need to shop until the first afternoon. The apartment was immaculate with lovely towels and the kitchen was extremely well equipped. We had a wonderful 9 days in Ostuni and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

L'Alcova is a beautiful apartment and has everything you need for a wonderful holiday in Ostuni. The balcony, even in April, was a real suntrap and the neighbours really friendly. We could quite imagine ourselves living here!!
The location within Ostuni is fantastic, with the Piazza and Centro Storico just around the corner. All of the information given to us by Angela and Tim (the owners) was spot on and really helped to make our short stay stress- free. Truly wonderful - highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabiHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had an amazing week in Tim & Angela's house Casa Esmeralda right in the centre of one of the most beautiful towns in Italy - Ostuni, aka 'the white city' after its lime-painted houses. They have thought of everything: really helpful descriptions of local restaurants, beaches and places to visit; lovely linen and towels; cosy beds and chilled prosecco in the fridge. The house is a stunning, lovingly transformed old Italian stone town house with probably the best views we've ever seen of spires, statues, sky and sea from the rooftop garden. Less than 15 minutes from the door are one of the most graceful basilicas in Italy, one of the most delicious Puglian restaurants. one of the friendliest corner shops and miles of white sandy beaches that in April were absolutely deserted as we swam and sunbathed. To think that it cost us less than £50 each to get there from freezing, sleet-battered London - and just 20 minutes from Brindisi airport....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard_addis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed in L'Ombroso for a (too short) break in July 2012. Angela and Tim couldn't have been more helpful - showing us the town, sharing their enthusiasm, helping us with taxis and generally offering great suggestions. The information pack was comprehensive, up to date and extremely useful. L'Ombroso suited us (3 adults) perfectly. We loved the way it had been decorated and furnished and the kitchen is amazingly well equipped. It was great to have a welcome pack of Prosecco, bread, milk etc so there was no rush to go shopping until the day after our arrival. Ostuni is a beautiful hilltop city and it was great to be so near the centre and yet in a quiet area. We managed to negotiate the local buses in order to get to the beaches and our rudimentary Italian seemed to get us by. Angelo's taxis were great too for the airport run or going somewhere the bus doesn't get to. The weather was beautiful throughout in what was a bad summer in Britain. We enjoyed a tourism event in the main square with local craftsmen and women demonstrating their work, all filmed for TV with, as is to be expected in Italy, glamorous hostess sporting a tie dye catsuit. The huge Saturday market was well worth a visit too. We will certainly return, hopefully for a bit longer next time, and friends have already been on our recommendation.

Room Tip: We saw all Angela and Tim's flats and Casa Esmeralda and all are glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

After a disasterous stay in another part of Puglia we were rescued by our stay at La Terrazza. At the last minute Angela and Tim agreed to open up the apartment for us although it was officially closed for November. The apartment at the top of the building was beautifully furnished and well equipped with sensational views from the roof terrace over Ostuni old town. Our thanks to Jane, the onsite manager for all her help including turning on the heating a couple of hours before our arrival and being on hand for any queries we had. It was really useful having a local agent on hand.

Room Tip: We viewed all the apartments in the building and chose La Terrazza as the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

When you open the front door of Casa Esmeralda, in its steep street of little white-washed houses, all you see is a near-vertical flight of stairs. But don't be daunted: drag your bags up the stairs and you reach the charming living area, with long dining table, sofa/divan and chairs and tiny cooking alcove off. The higher you climb, the lovelier it gets. Up you go, past the main double bed (very comfortable), out onto a large terrace and up onto the roof, with spectacular views across the rooftops to the cathedral. Beyond are countless olive trees and the distant line of the sea.
But perhaps it would be wiser to pause in the living area first, where you'll find a welcome pack that includes prosecco and delicious local bread. You'll also find as many instructions and tips as you could possibly need on matters ranging from restaurants to beaches, from what to visit to how to get around. We hired a car, parked it free 5 minutes away, and explored Puglia, from Otranto to Taranto to Trani. But you can spend happy days just wandering around Ostuni on foot, pausing every now and then to eat or drink before returning to snooze on the terrace.
We invited three friends to stay for a few days. They loved it and were very understanding about bathroom discipline etc but the space is small, the downstairs loo and washbasin tiny and some of the ceilings quite low. (Our tallest friend developed rather a stoop!)
Ideally, Casa Esmeralda is for a couple, or a couple and two good friends, or a couple and two or three children of eight upwards. The stairs are too steep and tricky for young children or people with limited mobility.
Tim and Angela Devlin, who own the Casa Esmeralda and three flats in the next street, are about to improve the upstairs bathroom (putting in a new shower) and the kitchen area so next year this lovely place will be even better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostuni hotels
4.4 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
0.4 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
0.2 mi away
La Sommita Relais
La Sommita Relais
#7 of 20 in Ostuni
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 20 in Ostuni
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Sant'Eligio
Relais Sant'Eligio
#5 of 20 in Ostuni
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 20 in Ostuni
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tavani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tavani

Address: Via Giuditta Tavani Arquati 8, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Ostuni
Price Range: £43 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town centre self-catering apartments in picturesque residential area. Only two minutes walk from bars, shops, and restaurants in lovely medieval Ostuni. Ten minutes drive from beaches. Four bright apartments in a beautiful 18th century traditional stone house, some with vaulted ceilings. Available for holiday rental throughout year (min. two days). Ideal for couples and small groups. Air conditioning, central heating, TV, DVD all bed linen and towels provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tavani Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing