We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasure to recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
D'Orange D'Alcantara
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The location is a great base for visiting the nearby gorge and traditional mountain top villages.
Rooms a good size. Asked for extra pillows & they came at once. Plenty of hot water & loads of towels. Fridge. Staff always friendly & helpful. Food excellent.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

the hotel is situated in a noisy street. the entrance is dirty en very dark, not a grat welcome. he rooms are ok. the restaurant is terrible. the darkness of this room is a problem,so is the cold temperature.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 May 2013

Dear Sir,
if you talk "dirty entrance" about the ash, maybe is because couple of weeks ago we had a great eruption and a lot of cinder from Vulcano Etna covered Francavilla. We clean generally twice a day, but it is normal to see black ash all over Francavilla.
"Not a great welcome"
We welcome all our guests with courtesy, give the information about where the room is located, swimming pool, parking and breakfast opening hours. Next time you come back, I will reserve some hugs because I don't see a way how to do more "great welcome". To be honest, you know we tried to do all our best in fact when you been to our restaurant (you spend only one evening) your wife doesn't agree for the quality of our Spaghetti aglio, olio and peperoncino. this is your "terrible" experience at our restaurant. Of course we did not charge you for the spaghetti dish. Now I can see you did not forgive us as you told us.
In your 3 lines comment you wrote "he rooms are ok" and after "darkness of this room is a problem".
I am not able to reply to your comment because I do not understand the problem. About the temperature, each room has individual remote control to adjust the temperature, if missing just ask at reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We were really looked after, the transport helped with linear walks & the hospitality at the hotel more than makes up for slightly dated decor. Ramblers have developed a very special arrangement with the owners and it really makes the visit very special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Echoing other contributors, this is a lovely family run hotel with friendly staff. The food was excellent but not an enormous variety. The main issue we had was with the attitude of the banks in the village and Sicily in general.

Many banks refuse to change sterling cash. We went to 3 banks on different days and were told things like 'come back in the morning and it will be OK'. Yet when we tried in the morning all the banks refused to change cash as we were 'not clients of the bank'. When I asked the manager why he said come back in the morning if he did not actually want to change our money, he threw a pile of papers into the air and walked away!

We do realise cash cards work but they can be expensive and changing cash abroad is usually quick and cheap. The point being we did not find a bank in Sicily that would change sterling into euros and I mention this in case others have the same problem and it left a 'sour' taste.

Etna erupting was fabulous though!

Room Tip: Room 210 was ours and by chance, one of the best as it is a larger corner room with large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arkay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a Ramblers Worldwide holiday package. The accommodation was good and the food excellent. We were there in mid February and the heating in the end rooms was a bit problematic but, otherwise, there were no complaints. The staff were fantastic. Francavilla is rather a run-down town but it does provide a superb centre for walking. For groups, the hotel has a 24-seater bus which can take you up to more obscure starting points.
Packed lunches are best organised via purchases from small shops in the town rather than the hotel which charges a lot for a little.

Room Tip: Get a room near the boiler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lenmancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Great service and delicious dinners made this a very good experience. Anything amiss with the room or ensuite bathroom, once pointed out, was fixed, perfectly, same day. A family-run hotel the service couldn't have been better and the four-course dinners were absolutely delicious, especially the vegetables (and I am not a vegetarian).

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imogen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay. The hotel is family run and so there is a very welcoming feel. The meals every night were very good as well as the breakfasts. The rooms were pleasant and the balcony's were large and enjoyable. It may not have been five star luxury, but what made this hotel really enjoyable was that the family running valued you and went out of the way to be kind to us: we received gifts on the final night and when having bought some post cards, Giuseppe threw a few more in for free! If you are looking for a hotel which is not to expensive but still offers a pleasurable stay in Sicily, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which face's the front as there is an excellent view (If you can sleep with the o...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank MontyGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francavilla di Sicilia
1.8 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
#3 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
231 reviews
4 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
914 reviews
5.6 mi away
Alcantara Resort
Alcantara Resort
#1 of 1 in Gaggi
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
97.3 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#2 of 3 in Porto Empedocle
563 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#2 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
123 reviews
9 mi away
La Terra dei Sogni
La Terra dei Sogni
#1 of 2 in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Orange D'Alcantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Orange D'Alcantara

Address: Via Dei Mulini 12, 98034 Francavilla di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Francavilla di Sicilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Francavilla di Sicilia
Price Range: £27 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Orange D'Alcantara 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your D'Orange D'Alcantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d`Orange d`Alcantara Hotel Francavilla Di Sicilia
D'Orange D'Alcantara Francavilla Di Sicilia, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing