We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great italian food and a good Bistecca!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Nena

La Nena
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Anghiari
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great italian food and a good Bistecca!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

La Nena is a good restaurant at the top of a roman road which adds to the atmosphere, we sat outside one evening and liked the roadside location with an amazing view of the road to Sansepulcro.
My husband had the bistecca which he thoroughly enjoyed and the meal was very good, I had the Italian sausages and beans which were excellent. My only comment is that though the service was very good and efficient, it could have been done with more of a smile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    177
    42
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Grove, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in a villa near Anghiari in June 2013, and this restaurant was recommended by a few locals. WE actually ate here twice and found the food to be excellent. We shared a platter of stuffed zucchini flowers (not on the menu but we saw another table get them so we just asked!). My husband loves these so he was in heaven! I had papperdelle with wild boar--homemade pasta of course. Friendly staff, outdoor seating although right on the street which can get a little noisy. Nicely decorated inside and cool!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Food was lovely - well worth the visit and really nice setting. We had 3 main courses (tortelloni with truffle - AMAZING, Italian sausage and beans and gnocci in tomato sauce - all very good)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaxSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We went to La Nena on our last night in Italy and we really enjoyed ourselves. The Tuscan bean soup was the best I had during the holiday, rich, tasty and a good portion. My wife had the smoked duck to start, I tried a bit and it was absolutely delicious too. We then shared a plate of pappardelle with wild boar and it was again a decent portion although not as outstanding as the other dishes. I finished with the Florentine steak which was mind-blowing (and very large), the Mrs had fillet steak, very tender. We stuck with the house wine and it was a decent drop. Friends tell us it is not worth sitting outside at this restaurant unless the main street is closed due to noise and fumes. Also it is sensible to at least try to speak Italian here, it is popular with locals and we got the feeling that the waiter appreciated our efforts (unlike a nearby table who ordered entirely in English and seemed outraged that he was not fluent!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thomasjenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants.uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place by a local in a wine bar. It's was in walking distance from our apartment. So we popped in and got a table. Stunning building. Very helpful and friendly waiter and staff. Tomato soup to start was really good, the mains were amazing. The vino della Casa ( house) so smooth and fruity and for €8!! Would recommend to everyone. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank renpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Nena also viewed

Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
 
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to La Nena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing