We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tuscan Fitness offer at an equally breathtaking Borgo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fontebussi Tuscan Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cavriglia
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
931 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Amazing Tuscan Fitness offer at an equally breathtaking Borgo”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Amidst the Chianti hills 30 minutes south of Florence the Tuscan countryside is extremely tranquil and relaxing. Tuscan Fitness has taken over a host of rooms ranging from private villas to apartments whatever suits their clients and it operates not only a health and fitness programme but it is also a leisure retreat on the premises of the Borgo.

For us it was a great getaway to a holiday when we ate great food that is healthy and organically sourced. Regrettably, it was too short.

We chose to participate in some of the daily activities like Yoga in the morning by the swimming pool, hikes and bike rides through winding roads and paths that surround the property amidst the stunning environment.

There were others who engaged themselves in a challenging weight loss programme, aimed at toning and improving fitness, with a personal professional trainer in group circuits. Each guest can design the daily schedule and itinerary best suiting his/her goals.

The Borgo is self sufficient in every way. Two swimming pools (adults and kids) and a traditional Tuscan restaurant served by extremely friendly staff who pamper the guests in every way they can.

The best thing I found was that Alexandra, the vision behind Tuscan Fitness has designed each meal with a careful mix of ingredients with well balanced source of protein and salads varying from day to day. At breakfast we were treated to some delicious homemade peanut butter, hand made granola with fruits and yoghurt and even wholemeal pancakes! The concept is that losing weight and keeping healthy is not about starvation but about eating the right types of food in correct proportions with a balance of herbs and spices to give your body what it needs keeping it fully satiated and leaving you trim and healthy feeling energetic.

Alexandra's warm, personalised and friendly approach is extremely rewarding and you can see her working those pounds off with you!

We had a wonderful stay and will be heading again in 2014 for a full week to relax in Fontebussi and to really take advantage of the programme and explore many interesting surrounding towns!"

Room Tip: All outer property rooms and villas have excellent views to the Chianti hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    58
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
49
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We've just returned from a week's stay in Borgo de Fontebussi. This was our first stay in this part of Tuscany and it's definitely worth the visit. From here you can easily reach both Siena and Florence within the hour. Make sure to check out neighboring towns and restaurants for the local tastes.

Having said these pro's about the location within Tuscany, Borgo de Fontebussi is an expensive place to stay. Everything is optional and must be paid for. Wifi is 9 euro and works only half the time. The small bar next to the restaurant is convenient but expensive. The restaurant serves okay food but you can get better for your money by simply driving up the hill into Montegonzi and beyond at the La Forra restaurant (which I will also review later). Even after cleaning your own apartment, we had to pay 80 euro cleaning cost. The breakfast comes at 10 euro per person even when they are kids. The apartment (we stayed at Rosa) was sparcely furnished with a TV that didn't work, limited kitchen appliances and a very small place to eat outside.

On the plus side, the pool is huge and kids loved it (even though the water was very cold). Although expensive the small bar next to the restaurant is handy and serves a nice small lunch. Lots of fellow Dutch people so kids easily made friends (they did miss a field to play soccer). I loved running in the hills surrounding the location but we missed a tennis court (which can be found next to the La Forra restaurant up the fills into Montegonzi).

Overall a medium rating and fortunately the surroundings make this a unique location. We'll look for an alternative for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkStadhouders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for a week in apartment Aglio, which is a small 2 person apartment, With a small built-in kitchenette in a closet.
Me who likes to cook with regional ingredients didn't have enough with this kitchenette.
The service overall in the Borgo was really nice and very friendly especially towards the kids.
For me, the restaurant quality doesn't reflect the overall quality and that's a pitty. We participated at the (weekly I suppose) BBQ, and that was not a success.
The surroundings are simply beautiful as is the Borgo itself. It's very well maintained with beautiful gardens.
The Borgo is very close to all Chianti wine makers around Gaiole in Chianti, which is very nice for wine lovers.
I would say it's a perfect place to go with kids.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurentBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in Fontebussi in a two bedroom apartment with kitchenette - Panse. The area is great for kids, the pool large and also a very nice fountain for the smallest children. Lots of sunbeds so there are plenty for everyone.
The breakfast at the restaurant was great but we mostly ate our own on our veranda with the spectacular view. The kitchenette was well equipped to make lighter meals and a large fridge for all our Tuscan delicacies. The sitting room isn't very cozy and the couch a bit tattered but since the weather was great we did not spend much time indoors.
Fontebussi was a great base for seeing Tuscany. We did several day trips to Sienna, Florence and Brolio castle. We always finished the day with a well needed swim in the beautiful pool.
Great helpful and child loving staff. We ate dinner at the restaurant a few nights and the atmosphere on the terrace is great. The food is good.
Will defiantly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LottaaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villastrada, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

In the second week of June we were with a group of Dutch friends, 32 in total, in Borgo di Fontebussi from where we made excursions in Chianti and the Casentino.
We enjoyed a wonderful stay in this perfectly reconstructed borgo.
The rooms are different but all of them well furnished and equipped.
Patricia and her staff are very friendly and extremely helpful and speak good English.
The swimming pool is really big and well kept. Separate facilities are available for small children.
Really excellent is the food in the restaurant.
The restaurant both inside and outside on the terrace is well equipped and has a splendid view on the surrounding landscape.
Marco and his staff are great. The service is excellent and the menu varies from day to day.
One morning we did the cooking class, very instructive and funny. Our home made lunch afterwards was delicious!
Patricia organized a bus for the excursions and taxis to and from the railway station and the airport.
Fontebussi is very nicely located in the Chianti region, very quiet and not far from Florence.
All the participants of our group were impressed about what the Borgo di Fontebussi offers in terms of location, service, price and quality. For us, appreciation: 10.
Grazie mille!
Henk & Marlene

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. Our room was amazing with beautiful views of the hills. The room was very big and had a big bathroom. The room was very clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was good and the food in the restaurant was great. The only thing that could have improved our time there was wireless internet in the rooms. The hotel is a short drive out of town (or reasonable walk up a hill) so bring all your basics and some snacks with you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were in Fontebussi for a week. It's a lovely, small resort, were staff makes you feel welcome and at home. People are all very helpful and do their best for you. Even though we were there in September and the season will probably come to an end, all staff was very enthousiastic. The village is build on a former Italian village. With the rebuilding they kept the Italian style but didn't forget modern needs. Amazing views from our apartment! We were given another apartment then originally booked because the kitchenette was broken. They gave us a choice. Or this one or the one with the broken kitchenette.
The apartment was very clean. Never seen it this clean before. Beds were good, although not that long, but probably long enough for the most of us. The bathroom was good as well. Only the shower couldn't be adjusted to you length because it was fixed.
The "village" itself was beautiful. It realy looked like an old Italian village. A little square in the centre and rooms and apartments situated around it. The pool was big enough, but a bit cold :-). There were nice beds around it, so you could nicely lay down for the sun.
We had diner in the restaurant of the Borgo and didn't regret that. The food was very good and cooked on a wood oven. Very friendly staff there as well. We feld at home there too. Breakfast was good there as well. Enough choice and that for € 10 p.p. And we were sitting on the teracce there in the morning sun. Superb! You canhave lunch there as well and there is a possibility to have a small lunch at the pool as well. I can recommend the Palenzella there! You can buy drinks and stuff at the pool too.
All the nice cities in Toscane are close by and Florence took just 45 min by train from Montevarchi. Siena and Arezzo can be reached within the hour by car.
For the shopaholics; there is a outlet village a long the A1 on a 45 min drive, Valdichianna. The one day it was cloudy and even rained we went there.
So, may you think about going there; If I were you, I would go there. 200 meters from Fontebussi there is La Poggiarina. It's a part of Fontebussi with an own pool.

Room Tip: We had the apartment Viola which look over the hills and valleys surrounding the Fontebussi. A very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavriglia
5.3 mi away
Hotel del Lago
Hotel del Lago
#2 of 2 in Cavriglia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
6.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
7.1 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontebussi Tuscan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontebussi Tuscan Resort

Property: Fontebussi Tuscan Resort
Address: | Loc. Fontebussi, 52022, Cavriglia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cavriglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cavriglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontebussi Tuscan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontebussi Tuscan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Fontebussi Cavriglia
Fontebussi Tuscan Resort Italy/Cavriglia, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing