We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location - but isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fontebussi Tuscan Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavriglia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed here in the first week of July and enjoyed our visit. The Fontebussi is beautiful-and the property (including the pool) are beautifully maintained and the Tuscan views are outstanding. Our room was quite small and the bath/shower very difficult for my tall husband . The restaurant was outstanding, with excellent service and food. The negatives were that the hotel was extremely far away from the area which we visited during our day trips (Siena, Volterra, San Gimignano) which meant a lot of driving over winding roads and that the hotel itself is difficult to find - more signage would be an asset coming from the A1 highway. We enjoyed our stay nevertheless!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugabtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

Fontebussi is an old hamlet that has been turned into a hotel with restaurant and apartments. It's beautifully done; great gardens, nice buildings well restored, a fitnessbuilding, a conference hall, and 2 magnificent pools.
Our 1 year old son could play in de childerens pool without us worrying. It was like a shallow bowl with a soft floor. Absolutely perfect.
The staff was allways ready to help and freindly (even at this end of the season period).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay, it was fantastic !

The views are spectacular especially from the restaurant. Our room was in the main block but it was so quiet and peaceful. The room itself was incredibly dark as we only had a small door opening out on to the terrace but that helped given the heat. Do make sure you close your doors and use the air con before dusk hits though as we were bitten to death by mosquitos.

We didn't have any problems with building work or any evidence of land levelling either.

The pool is huge with plenty of sunbeds and there is a small snack bar open during the day.

The restaurant is open every night except Mondays and the food is incredible. The price is really reasonable too when you consider the view, the presentation and quality of food. We wish we'd eaten here again as other "cheaper" places turned out to actually be more expensive in terms of what you got for your money.

The restaurant at breakfast is another matter as you get plagued by wasps so you can't really eat outside and take full advantage of the weather and the beautiful views.

The staff are friendly and very helpful, we needed train times to Florence and the man at reception printed out times for us and told us how to get to the local train station of Montevarchi where we could park for free.

We visited Pisa, Lucca and Florence whilst staying here and although it was a fair trek to all, we couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

I would certainly go back, tomorrow in fact, if I could !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WitchyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed here for a much-needed week of relaxation, Tuscan food and sight-seeing. When we arrived we were told that the restaurant would be closed to guests on that night due to another function. This was very disappointing, as the nearest restaurant was a five minute drive away and this meant one of us sticking to the soft drinks.
Our first room was above the restaurant and was very noisy, we were kept awake until 1 am. We complained the next morning and were moved without any fuss to another room, which was much better.
The pool area was lovely. Lots of space and great views of the hills and local village. Unfortunately the peace did not last for long. A noisy truck went up and down the hill behind the pool all day. We were told that they are levelling the land for the construction of a new spa. This is great for the guests of the future, but really any construction work should be happening in the winter or off-season. We got used to the noise eventually, but this again was a disappointment.
We ate in the resturant on 2 occasions and the food was fantastic. The breakfast is buffet-style and the waitress will make you cappuccinos/ espressos etc.
We went to several tourist destinations whilst staying here- Siena, Arezzo, Assisi and Orvieto. It was a good base as it is reasonably close to major roads.
On the final night, we were again told that the restaurant would be closed to hotel guests. This was due to a wedding reception using the hotel. I came to the conclusion that this hotel does not put it's guests first. It would probably shut its restaurant to guests every night if it had a better offer. It really needs to have a separate area of the restaurant that is open to guests EVERY night.
On the plus side, the hotel is beautiful with amazing views and lovely grounds. The rooms are all air conditioned and the staff are helpful.
It needs to sort out certain aspects of it's business for me to start recommending this hotel to friends/ family.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawberryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Me and my wife spend our honeymoon at the hotel,
we travell to Tuscany, Italy at May,2007.
The tuscant valley is the romantic place on earth from my opnion of view.
The villa that we've get has two floors.
At the 1'st floor we've get:
* a kitchen (with refrigerator,dishwasher, electrical stove and all the stuff we need in the kitchen)
* a living room with satellite TV.
* a bathroom with a shower and a toilete.
At the 2'nd floor we've get:
2 bedrooms (all room have separate bathroom).

The hotel is so beautiful with swimming pool, restaurant and a beutifull view.

We can't describe the filling, we have the time of our life !

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MNM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

This is a hard one to describe . . . sort of like an inn. Each room is different. We were part of a group so we got to see some rooms besides our own. Ours was like a mini apartment One couple had a two story room while others had rooms that were more tradtional hotel rooms. It's a little, tiny village that's being converted into a resort which explains the unique accommodations.

This was perhaps the CLEANEST resort I've ever stayed in! I'm not kidding when I say, you'd swear we were the first to ever stay in our room, but I know that others had been before. It was absolutely spotless! Beware - No washcloths as I've heard is common in Europe. However, towels were generously sized, linens crisp. They even provide large beach towels for the pool.

The views from the Borgo are AMAZING! This little former village sits atop a mountain in Tuscany and has acres of olive trees around it. Our room had a french door leading out to our "backyard" that was lined with olive trees and looked over a valley to an old farm. We could hear a church bell in the distance and about a minute later there was one on the property that would chime. Calm, soft, peaceful are words to describe the Borgo. The pool area is GORGEOUS! It was too chilly on the afternoon we had some time to enjoy the Inn, so we didn't get to swim, but I can assure you that it would be idyllic if the weather would cooperate and you had the time.

It really deserves a 5, but that's misleading because we think of a 5 as fine, elegant resorts. However, in its class this most definitely is a 5. In short, this is a great choice for touring Tuscany!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Lizardbeth61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2005

This is a difficult one to review as it isn't a hotel but neither is it independant accomodation. We stayed in August for a week in a 2 bedroom apartment. The accomodation was cleaned for our arrival and was of a suitable standard. The kitchen was new and had a lot of cooking utensils and a dish washer. The shower leaked and the water sometimes smelt less than pure !! The living area was combined with the kitchen and was cramped.
We had been promised satellite TV but this turned out to be entirely German and Italian. We did eventually find CNN news but by then had become gripped to watching a programme about yodellers in an Alpine Village each evening.
We were on the second floor of an apartment and the adjoining property was let to a family who sounded as if they wore deep sea diving boots. As they came back at 2am each morning, we didn't get an unbroken nights sleep for the duration of our stay.
It was a bun fight for the sun beds each morning and by 10am they were all gone. The pool was of a high standard and clean. The pool area was newly paved and very safe, surrounded by railings which did not spoil the overall view of the beatiful countryside.
The restaurant was of a high quality and the food was good. We paid about E100 per night for 2 courses for 4 with a bottle of cheap wine. About on par with Florence prices.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The location is beautiful but a long way from any decent towns. There are no other restaurants of a good standard in the area and the surrounding villages are not up to much. It is about an hours drive to to get to Arezzo/Sienna /Florence.
On the whole, we were happy with our choice of Fontebussi as a holiday destination. Just for the overall cleanliness of the place and the beautiful setting.

Stayed: August 2005
12  Thank AIB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavriglia
2.8 mi away
Agriturismo Valleverde
Agriturismo Valleverde
#1 of 2 in San Giovanni Valdarno
53 reviews
6.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
554 reviews
3.7 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#3 of 3 in Montevarchi
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel del Lago
Hotel del Lago
#1 of 2 in Cavriglia
143 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
702 reviews
6.8 mi away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontebussi Tuscan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontebussi Tuscan Resort

Address: | Loc. Fontebussi, 52022, Cavriglia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cavriglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavriglia
Price Range: £92 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontebussi Tuscan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontebussi Tuscan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Fontebussi Cavriglia
Fontebussi Tuscan Resort Italy/Cavriglia, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing