We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antico Borgo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautiful rooms with an incredible view on the valley.
Very good internet connexion.
Breakfast would gain to have fresh bread and not only cakes and pastries. Think about diabetic people.

No cappucino but coffee in thermos brought directly from the house of the owner who do not live in the building.

Quite scary for women travelling on their own.

No telephone in the room in case you would need to reach the owner.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Citron9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgantico, Proprietario at Antico Borgo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Lady,
you congratulated me on the breakfast: "The best one since you arrived in Italy..." If there was not enough bread, you could ask me and I would have brought it again, as well as cappuccino or espresso.

As I have already told you, I sleep in the next house when there are many guests; I don't think that travelling alone is something terrible (many of my guests are alone and they have never found something frightening here).

B&Bs don't have telephone in the room (they aren't hotels), but if you needed something you could use the telephone from which you called me when you arrived at about 11 o 'clock, even though check in time starts at 15 o 'clock.
--------------------------------------------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Civitella in val di Chiana is really a place where normal life wins over tourism. There's only two places to sleep, 2 restaurants and one village shop to buy the most crucial things.

Antico Borgo is really a jewel with a very original atmosphere. We booked the suite with the 360° view over two valleys which was i n c r e d i b l e to view the sun set/ rise. We were the only guests during our stay so we had the whole house to ourselves.

Breakfast was very good and you had everything you want in the morning. Also freshly baked cakes and pies with absolutely the b e s t bread we had in tuscany. The friendly lady explained us everything very well and gave us tips for day trips and activities.

Parking nearby the piazza only allowed until 19h (7pm), after this hour it's only for residents. Therefore you have to park just outside the city walls and take the -steep- stairs towards the b&b. Nothing to be found to eat or drink in the proximity of 8 km. Very close to Arezzo and the Prada outlet in Montevarchi.

If you look for a romantic or authentic Tuscan place to stay, this is really it!

Room Tip: Suite gives you 360° with 30km views over the two valleys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GusMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank loma71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: la Camino era perfetta, vista stupenda, bagno grande
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgantico, Proprietario at Antico Borgo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgantico, Proprietario at Antico Borgo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitella in Val di Chiana hotels
3.5 mi away
La Solaia
La Solaia
#3 of 4 in Civitella in Val di Chiana
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B Il Fondaco Del Moro
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo La Loccaia
Agriturismo La Loccaia
#1 of 15 in Civitella in Val di Chiana
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dodo Village
Dodo Village
#11 of 15 in Civitella in Val di Chiana
65 reviews
0 mi away
Palazzo Tarlati
Palazzo Tarlati
#2 of 15 in Civitella in Val di Chiana
74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Le Terrazze
Agriturismo Le Terrazze
#8 of 15 in Civitella in Val di Chiana
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo

Address: Piazza Lazzeri, 22 | Civitella Val di Chiani, 52041, Civitella in Val di Chiana, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Civitella in Val di Chiana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Civitella in Val di Chiana
Price Range: £62 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanes border the houses around the ancient Cassero where recollections of the Middle Ages spread. Set in the main square of the ancient “Vallis Clanarum” Bed & Breakfast L’Antico Borgo welcomes his guests in an old building dating back to the nineteenth century, which is part of a much older one along the town walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Civitella In Val Di Chiana, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing