We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic"”
Review of Villa Saulina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Saulina
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lastra a Signa
Port Stanley, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“"Fantastic"”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Wow, What a great place to stay. We just loved the setting, the views were incredible and the staff very nice. The accomodations were roomy and clean and very comfortable. Josef, one of the hotel staff was so nice and informative. We enjoyed his stories and knowledge of the region. A holiday we will never forget. A+++++

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejgalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    115
    52
    23
    15
See reviews for
77
137
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Fabulous stay. Food was superb and very reasonable. Generally, I'm disappointed with a location if I can't eat out in different restaurants but for our 3 nights here, we enjoyed eating in the restaurant each night. Produce was so fresh and local. Wine great.
Staff, extremely friendly and eager to help with anything. We did not have a car so arrived to the train station and were picked up by the hotel. Enjoyed the pool, clean and the surrounding view of Tuscany hills and vineyards.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SMKHIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We booked our four night stay at the Villa Saulina because of the remoteness and location in the countryside - we weren't disappointed!

After driving three and a half hours from Rome Airport (which was good fun in itself!) we arrived late afternoon in sweltering heat to an excellent welcome by a chap who spoke perfect English. As our room was in a converted farm building we loved the surrounding scenery.

The room contained a large dresser, bedside tables, safe, TV and minibar (the bottled water was extremely reasonable). The queen size bed was actually two singles pushed together but this was not uncomfortable. The bathroom/wetroom was huge with a lovely shower.

The restaurant was of excellent quality, and we eat there three out of the four nights - make sure a table is booked, more than one couple were embarrassed by assuming they could just find a table. Most guests made an effort to dress smartly, except a few who stood out like sore thumbs (mentioning no nationalities!). Good food for a good price, the house wine was actually produced on the premises and was amazing.

Tours of the farm were on Wednesdays, so we managed to arranged a visit to San Michele a Torri about 15 mins drive away. A guided tour was 10euros which also gave the chance to taste about six or seven of their wines and their other produce - bread, olive oil and meat.

Over all a great location, nothing to complain about.

  • Liked — Location in the countryside, good restauarant, near to rail station, great staff
  • Disliked — Flies!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phantom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Saulina. The rooms were some of the best we had in Europe -- newer, with large bathrooms and comfortable beds (and air conditioning !). The location is really beautiful and peaceful, with views of vineyards from the back patio dining area. Unless you are staying for a very brief period, I would recommend a car. The train from Lastra a Signa runs every hour to Florence, but if you go or return later in the day you have to get a cab, which is expensive and inconvenient. The hotel will take you to the station for 5 euro if it is earlier in the day.
We ate twice in the dining room (patio). It was very good food, somewhat but not terribly expensive. There is a pretty good restaurant nearby in Luna also. Villa Saulina has two pools, and ping pong and video games for the kids. You can get wireless internet access for free if you take your laptop to the lobby. Unlike previous reviews, the staff now speaks excellent English, and they will sell you train tickets at the front desk, which is convenient.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lmg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

The villa is a little out of the way, but it's a nice place to stay. (And the railway line into Florence isn't too far away.) The property is made up of a main house with hotel-type rooms, and lots of apartments in surrounding buildings. There are two pools, one quiet and one a bit noiser with a small bar. (Sadly the draft beer ran out!) The hotel-type rooms were pretty basic but clean. However, despite the villa advertising air con, it just didn't work in the main building. The view over the vineyards and surrounding hills is fantastic, and the food in the restaurant was pretty good (although the choice is a little limited). Breakfast was disappointing, and maybe the villa is spoiled a little by being on the approach path for Florence airport, but the staff in the property were excellent and very friendly. I'd definitely go back if I'm in the area.

  • Liked — Secluded location with views over the hills
  • Disliked — Lack of functioning aircon
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Island, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

WOW - what a fantastic surprise. We were a bit concerned because of the low cost what we would actually find. It was like being transported into another place. The vineyards, the villa, the fabulous food, the scenery - all very beautiful. We recommend it to anyone who is going to Florence. What is even better is that you can drive the 4 kilometers to the train station and in 2 stops be in the center of Florence. It can't get any more convenient than that!!! The help at Villa Saulina is superb and just makes the stay more enjoyable.

  • Liked — internet
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Willbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in September 2007 and had a wonderful week. The hotel was quiet and peaceful set in the beautiful Tuscan hills and was surrounded by the owner's own vineyard and olive groves.
You do need a car if you stay at this hotel as it would be difficult to visit any of the sites by public transport.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were basic Tuscan farmhouse type, which suited us and were very clean and comfortable.
The restaurant was a bit expensive, but quite acceptable if you have had a long day site-seeing and are too tired to venture out. You do have to book for this. We went out on a few evenings and found 2 great restaurants in Montelupo.
There were only two drawbacks. We did not have internet connection in our room, so had to pick up emails laying by the pool in the sunshine (to be recommended!) and also the hotel is in the flightpath of Florence airport, so they do fly immediately overhead.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience the real Tuscany.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — No internet connection and only Italian TV
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DorkingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lastra a Signa
22.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
430 reviews
21.4 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
282 reviews
22.9 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saulina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saulina

Property: Villa Saulina
Address: Via Maremmana 11, 50055, Lastra a Signa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Lastra a Signa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lastra a Signa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Saulina 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Saulina is a noble country house built in the early 19th century located on top of a pleasant sunny hill along the bank of Rimaggio creek few miles from the beginning of Carolingian Maremmana road. The main body of the villa is surrounded by an huge holding with centuries-old olive trees, generous vineyards and ancient woods; five beautiful farm houses and two bright swimming pools. Breathtaking view over the hill crest is captured by medieval villages, bell towers and wine cellars. A breeze of history will let the visitor jump back in the heart of Renaissance. The spirit of Leon Battista Alberti still survives by the lovely Romanic church of San Martino a Gangalandi not too far from us. Guest rooms and flats are designed to reflect the spirit of Tuscany tradition and to meet our guest's needs. We offer traditional accommodation as well modern refurbished room with WiFi, Plasma TV and air-conditioned. Most of them are suited for wheelchair access. Outdoor space with tables and barbecue settings is also available. Flats are perfect for long stay and are equipped with kitchen, sitting-room and one ore more sleeping-room. A comfortable meeting room up to 60/70 persons theatre style, is located in the Villa. The old wine cellar of the Villa has been converted into a romantic restaurant with 60/70 covers. An out-door gazebo is also available for summer dinner or banquets up to 160/170 covers. Our Menu includes dishes from Tuscany tradition as well from Italian and international gastronomy. Our oven is always ready to offer pizza, bread and olive oil bannock. We are located closet o the crossing of Via Maremmana with the country road to Malmantile medieval town and Marliano village. 5 Km form Lastra a Signa Railway station. 6 Km from Signa railway station. 16 Km from Florence airport Amerigo Vespucci 75 Km from Pisa airport Galileo Galilei. By car is easy driving by Highroad Fi.Pi.Li. (Superstrada: Firenze.Pisa.Livorno) just exit in:Lastra a Signa if driving from FlorenceMontelupo if driving from Pisa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Saulina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saulina Hotel Lastra a Signa
Villa Saulina Lastra a Signa, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing