We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel with trattoria serving sensational slow cooked food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo la Foresteria
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinalunga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had a good stay and excellent food. Firstly the direction, as the hotel is hard to find. From Sinalunga on the “superstrada” in the direction of Siena, leave the highway on the height of AGIP fuel station. Behind the fuel station on a small hill stands the hotel, a bit lost in the countryside. A car is an absolute must when staying in the hotel.
The rooms are newly renovated, are spacious, simply but comfortably furnished, all are a/c equipped. Wifi connection is free and fast. The bathroom is clean, spacious and furnished with quality toiletries. We could not hear from our room noise from the super highway. The traditional restaurant serves regional food. All freshly prepared, slow cooking, with fresh products from the nearby farms. The quality is excellent. Especially on Sunday lunch time a reservation is required, as the restaurant is popular with the locals. The price level is attractive.
For breakfast homemade bread, croissants and various cakes were on offer. On demand eggs with lard and ham are prepared.
We appreciated the warm welcome by the owner who received us at our arrival with a glass of wine and some fresh fruits from the garden. When in the region, this place will be the place to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Albergo la Foresteria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Albergo La Foresteria : TOP MARKS

I will list why this hidden gem remains our home on our yearly visits to Tuscany.

* Perfectly situated close to the autostrada/provincial highway for Tuscan and Umbrian excursions. All major attractions are within 30 minutes to 2 hours drive (Montalcino, Montepulciano, Assisi, Sienna, Gubbio, Chianto Road, Todi....on and on). Pump in the GPS or use your map for effortless excursions to the sights of these two regions.

* Clean, comfortable and restful accommodations to recuperate from daily excursions.

* Fuel station adjacent to hotel to keep your car rental ready for trips.

* The most fantastic pizza in Italy cooked lovingly by Raphael (who is from Naples). I personally have seen Raphael pick up ingredients daily, fresh from the market to create his masterpieces that range from 4-8 EURO.....simply incredible pizzas.

* Fine for solo, couple or family travellers....rooms of all types available.

* Complimentary breakfast in the morning with artisan cakes and pastries cooked fresh daily.

* Assistance from Raphael, Mario and Luca with local outlet mall shopping, wineries and tips on bargains locally. For example, Raphael called a local "Cantina" and we purchased the famous "Brunello" wines at wholesale prices.

* Again, returning to the menu. Extensive wine list, including a bargain "rosso" and "blanco" table wine that would shame most wine lists in America. Excellent Tuscan Fare that has affordable dishes with truffles and the famous "Fiorentini" steak.

* It is reassuring to stay in a place away from home where your security and safety is not an issue. This combined with a good sleep and delicious food, make for a stress free home away from home base.

Our family has travelled Italy 22 times in the last 20 years.......Albergo la Foresteria is our Tuscan pick over all others.

Safe Travels
Dale

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here only one night while transitioning from the Riviera to Toscana. We had slight difficulty locating as the GPS didn't have it quite correct. BUT, if you follow the hotel directions and look right behind the gas station on the hill - its just as they directed. Better to do this in daylight, FYI. We loved the hotel. Spotlessly clean, very friendly, three months old. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and help in any way. We were treated like family.
Bathroom was large, well designed and had a fantastic shower. Quiet area, felt really safe and couldn't be a better location for a homebase to explore villages during the day then to return to a great dinner, wonderful wine selections and owners really eager to please. We left knowing we had new friends in the owners and absolutely will stay there again. We have traveled extensively and expect high standards and service. They met our expectations and more.

Room Tip: It's a quiet area on a hill and although you can see the roadway all rooms would be nice. Great...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoinTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We found this hotel while searching for a room for one night in Tuscany as we were transitioning from one place on the Meditearranean to central Tuscany. This was a great surprise! We've traveled many times in Tuscany and always enjoy making new friends. This facility was extremely clean and the staff was very diligent. It appears to be a family managed facility that you could sense their desire to please. The son and the father were extremely accomodating and we really enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant. After our departure, we intended to go back ther for lunch and/or dinner, but were unable to make it. In 2014, we are taking our family of 10 to Tuscany and plan to take all of them ther for lunch or dinner Most of all, we enjoyed making new friends. We are enjoying their sample of handmade olive oil.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have enjoyed many memorable meals and overnight stays at this wonderful hotel and restaurant. The Liccardi family make you feel like you are royalty, and the cooks are some of the very best in Tuscany. The location makes it easy to do day trips to all of the most beautiful Tuscan hill towns, and the views from the hotel are the typical rolling hills and cypress trees. In the restaurant you can have a delicious pizza, or a grilled Fiorentina steak, and there are always the specials of the day. In the summer you can eat outside in the garden. For an authentic experience in Italy, this is the best place to stay!

Room Tip: For the best value, stay in one of the "suite" rooms behind the main building.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golosa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel is run by a wonderful family who were very friendly and helpful. Our room was behind the restaurant, away from the highway. The room was very good value being very comfortable. We used this venue as a base while travelling around Tuscany and Umbria. The family provided good ideas for smaller towns to visit which turned out to be very beautiful towns. This family provides good accommodation, good service, good wine and good food and made us feel part of their family. Thank you. Highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Units on ground behind the Restaurant/Hotel were great away from the highway.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PnMWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Daniele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ola9, Proprietario at Albergo la Foresteria, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinalunga
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apogeo
Hotel Apogeo
#1 of 1 in Bettolle
146 reviews
3.0 mi away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Forum
Hotel Forum
#2 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santorotto
Hotel Santorotto
#5 of 5 in Sinalunga
61 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
427 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel la Toscanina
Hotel la Toscanina
#4 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo la Foresteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo la Foresteria

Address: Via Boscolungo ,193 | Loc. Mulinelli, Raccordo Siena-Bettolle, 193, 53048, Sinalunga, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sinalunga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinalunga
Price Range: £90 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo la Foresteria 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Foresteria, located in a central position as to the most beautiful art cities of the Tuscany and Umbria, offers a place for a very special holiday. Here it is possibile to relax yourself, in the calm of the surrouding country. The hotel is far only one km from Valdichiana tollgate and is situated in a hillock of Sinalunga town. Until few years ago it was the heart of a big factory, then a recent and accurated restoration transformed it in a welcoming holiday house which is divided in 16 rooms and three suites of very new construction. The restoration of the farmhouse, made under the direction of the architect Mietta, has been made keeping the same structural characteristics and its original charm…..walls made by stones and bricks, rafters, vaults, arches. The single rooms, with French bed, and the double rooms include Tv, heating, air conditioner, telephone, bath and fridge. Together to the services listed above the suites have also a living room, hairdryer and safe-deposit box. The price of the room includes also a really good breakfast with homemade cakes. The family running hotel places an excellent restaurant with typical Tuscan food at their guests’ disposal, a very good pizza house with wood-burning oven, a stock of a large choice of red Tuscan wines, bar, parking and a big garden where it is possible to stay to have dinner during the summer period. Everyone loves to rigenerate the body and the spirit and it is possible to do it in one of many thermal centres which can be reached in a few minutes by car from our hotel; really near there are swimming pools, golf, horse-riding centre, tennis, flying school and for shopping lovers we are far only one km from the new Valdichiana Villane Outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo la Foresteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo La Foresteria Sinalunga, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing