We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay-but be aware of hidden costs!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
12 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Sinalunga, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Andy H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay-but be aware of hidden costs!”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great place to stay, when food was supplied very nice, fantastic location. But please be aware of hidden costs, either hire a car or use local serrunga taxis. Do not arrange the villas taxi service as it will cost you dearly. The town in my opinion is not walkable from the villa as described it would take you a good hour by foot and there are no footpaths on the roads, but by car is it only several minutes away, we were shocked when we organised a taxi via the villa for a trip to the local town market only to be charged 60 euros about £52! We did this over three days and was appalled to have a large bill of almost €100 at the end of our holiday to pay this off, this was between 4 other family members what I would call a nice little earner, left a bad taste in the mouth after a beautiful week!

Date of stay: September 2016
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Dear Andy, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this Review. We would like to take the chance and explain the local taxi situation:
In Sinalunga there is no taxi line waiting for calls or passengers like in bigger cities. Therefore we have to pre-book and organize the Taxi Company which is of course no problem, even on short notice. The company we are using is indeed the local taxi service of Sinalunga. The prices are very normal for this area especially if you consider that you had a taxi for max. 8 people booked and the price is based on both ways including the driver waiting for you at your location to take you home. So divided by 8 people the 60 € trip to Sinalunga is 7,50 € each which i would consider to be normal.
For our future guests who are reading this, please, if you are unsure about the costs for taxi services here in Sinalunga or transportation from airports etc... just email us and we can send you before hand all prices! The walking distance into town is about half an hour and there is a route through the woods and also you can walk along the small country roads. The walk might be a "medium challenge" if you would like to arrive at the top in the old town center. We hope this helps and avoids confusion in the future! Thanks again and all the best! Sonja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy G
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Tuscan Countryside Experience”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I can't recommend this beautiful villa highly enough. We went with a group of 20+ friends. The location is gorgeous, the grounds are immaculate, and the hosts - Michael and Sonja - will show you the greatest time if you'll let them! Tuscan feasts, wine tasting, and even a trip to the local pub to catch a football game! We ate food and drank wine of the highest quality, took in the beautiful Tuscan countryside, and had an amazing time. Will be back!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay H
El Segundo, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tuscan Villa”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I’ll make this easy for anyone looking for a villa in Tuscany. Villa Scopetello is simply wonderful.

The villa is spacious, clean, comfortable, and above all, charming. It’s full of so many interesting rooms and spaces, it allowed our large group of five families to each have privacy, yet also had amazing communal spaces for doing what we do best: eating, drinking, laughing, and enjoying the storied Tuscan landscape. It’s the perfect blend of indoor and outdoor spaces.

The grounds are lush and beautiful: indoor and outdoor kitchens, covered patios, vineyards, horses, swimming pool, tennis court, hiking trails, even a zip line! The views are stunning, and the close proximity to Sinalunga, and easy drives to Siena, Multipulciano, Pienza and many other hilltop towns make the location ideal.

But perhaps our favorite part of Villa Scopetello was the flawless care and concierge-level service from Sonja and Michael. First off, they let us know they would be there when we needed them, and invisible when we didn’t. That was true, but we found we loved having them around. They cooked wonderful meals, gave us unique sight-seeing advice for the region, they even took us to the hidden gem local wine shop in Sinalunga (where all the area restaurants get their vino della casa). They even graciously gave up a few late nights when we invited them to drink wine with us under the stars. Like the villa itself, they are fun and interesting and a joy to be around.

You will love this place.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafna A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuscan countryside paradise”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I visited Villa Scopetello as part of a large group to celebrate our friend's special birthday. We knew it would be fun and beautiful, but we didn't expect such a personal experience! In addition to a gorgeous property and great location for day trips, Sonja and Michael were remarkable hosts. They fed us several delicious and authentic home-cooked meals, provided recommendations, arranged activities, and were super fun to socialize with. The villa has about a dozen bedrooms, a few common areas, two kitchens, balconies, a large patio, a lovely pool, walking trails, and basically lots of space to relax and take in the Tuscan countryside. We spent a really special week at the villa with spectacular views and great company-- we didn't want to leave!

Date of stay: June 2016
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: View, hosts, meals!
Liked least: Wi-fi didn't work in most of the house, lots of bugs because we were in the countryside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P
Chico, California
2 reviews
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was an absolutely beautiful place! Sonja and Michael were wonderful hosts. We were a large group of people (20) and they accommodated every one of us. They welcomed us with a pizza party with pizzas made it a traditional Italian wood fired oven, were extremely knowledgeable about local people and places, even going so far as to organize a private lunch at a restaurant in Sienna. The pool was amazing with an outstanding view of Sinalunga and the valley. Would definitely go back again!!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: hanging out by the pool
Liked least: everything about this place is great
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne P
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Under the Tuscan sun, moon and stars”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had reservations about booking such a beautiful, enchanting villa over the internet. With all the 5-star reviews, we trusted we'd be in for an adventure, and we were blown away upon arrival. My husband turned 50 and we invited a total of 21 people to join us at Villa Scopetello. The pictures just do not do this location justice. Sonja and Michael are incredibly hospitable, relaxed, jovial and a delight to be around. The bedrooms are well placed in the villa. Everyone had space to relax, spend time alone, be a part of the group, play tennis, swim, pet the horses, go on walks, eat, drink and be merry! We had set-up a pizza party on the first night for our guests. The kids loved it; the adults loved it. Sonja cooked an incredible cingalle dinner for us the next night with 3 courses. What we didn't expect was Sonja offering to cook lunch and BBQ for us on separate occasions. If Sonja offers to cook DO NOT SAY NO!! She has a perfect culinary hand. We had time to go on day trips and plenty of time to lounge. I personally wish we stayed at the Villa with a Campari Spritz, in the pool. 2 of our friends booked for 2018!! We may be back sooner than we expected.
Embrace and ENJOY Villa Scopetello. It is the perfect getaway in a lovely town.

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjphipps
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surpassed all expectations”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I could not recommend Villa Scopetello more highly. We had an amazing week with unmatched hospitality. Sonja and Michael were incredible hosts and attended to our every need. We were a group of 20 adults and three small children. This place is ideal for families with children and adults who like to have fun and sometimes behave like children. Upon arrival I was offered a glass of wine. I sat down with Sonja and Michael while overlooking a spectacular view. I immediately felt a kinship with them and knew that I chose the right place. They arranged a hike/castle tour, an epic lunch in Siena for our entire group, wine tasting, Futbol viewing at a local pub, transportation and baby sitter for an evening out. I also can not stress enough how great of a cook Sonja is--she cooked several times for us and each meal was spectacular. Our group was sad to leave because we felt that our hosts were not just providing a service, but they were our new friends. I hope to come to back soon and look forward to my continued friendship with Sonja and Michael. Thank you for a truly memorable week.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Our hosts, the location, pool, the villa itself
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.