We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

The accommodation was located in an ideal place with a view of the Geiranger city centre and Geirangerfjorden on the other side. Staff were welcoming. Cottages were spacious and cozy as 5 of us stayed there. Would highly recommend it to any traveller visiting Geiranger.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanzim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Price for family (children: 15 y.), car, caravan and electr.: NOK 320,-- !!

And that's just for the view, because there's almost nothing else to do.

Boat rental perhaps ? Yes, but price on this camping for one hour is the price where you can rent a motorboat elsewhere in Norway for half a day !

Free WLAN...? Well, that's quite normal at a price of NOK 320,-- !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernardus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finn G, Owner at Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Sir:
I am very sorry that you obviously had a bad experience staying at our camp ground in your caravan last summer. For others: You were staying at our camp ground and not in one of our cabins.

About the prices on our camp ground: If you paid NOK 320 for one night, you must have been 2 adults and 4 children + a big caravan with car and also got electricity. Unlike most other campings in Norway, we think it is fair that a big caravan with car or a big camper pays more than a small camping car. That's why we have graded our prices into three categories: 1) big caravan 2) Medium camping car 3) small camping car.
You may not like it, but we think this is fair that people that take bigger space pays more, and people that take less space pay less.
For comparision: Price for a smal camping car + 2 persons + electricity: NOK 200,- for one night.

If you visit our web site www.geirangerfjorden.net and see our new prices for 2013 you will see that the prices are not going up, they stay excactly the same as last year. Compared to the other campings in Geiranger we are now in the middle, one is more expensive, one on the same level and one is cheaper.

We have had a guest from the same country as you, Holland, coming back for over 20 years staying for 2-3 months every summer. He told me that our pries are really low. He pays more in touristic places in Holland or Germany. Camping in Western Norway is actually cheap. The prices in Western Norway is also much lower than in Eastern Norway or Southern Norway. The prices in Geiranger is in the middle: cheaper than in Eastern/southern Norway and more expensive than in Western Norway. You can't compare Geiranger to remote places in western Norway. We will always be more expensive than those places.

You also write that "there is nothing to do". I disagree very much! For me, my wife and children Geiranger is paradise in the summer time. For people that are active and like to use the nature (as we say in Norway), there is a lot to do. There are lots of fantastic walks, short or longer, easy or more difficult. You don't have to walk far to get big experiences. I will strongly advice you to visit the Skageflå farm. I will guarantee: to walk up to this farm will be you best memory from Norway.
For the walks we have a map and can advice you if you ask in the reception. All who work in the reception are experienced and know the routes.
We also have motor- and rowing boats for hire. You must remember that the prices includes petrol. You can't therefore compare our prices with the prices on the remote islands where people rent boats to stay on one spot for a week to fish. People come to us to rent boat for one or two hours drive around in the fjord to see the Seven Sisters and Bridal Veil waterfalls. Our boats are very popular and many people come to visit us for one main reason: they want to rent one of our boats.

Geiranger is very special, but isn't for everybody. People are different. If you expect a Disneyland or Waterworld you have come to the wrong place. For sure. But if you want peace and quiet and want to experience the scenery and be active: you have come to what is my paradise. That's why I (and many with me) come back year after year. This is really not my job, it is my life. And if you still think it is expensive, I can assure you that we are using every penny (NOK) to upgrade our product and making it better for our guests for next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

LOCATION – Easy to find on the main road around the fjord. It’s just a little way from the main hub of the town which makes it a bit more peaceful. Fantastic view of the fjord right outside your cabin. There are just a few cabins on site with space for tents and mobile homes. Groceries and restaurants in the town but no petrol station.

CABIN – We stayed in the small cabin which was quite basic but comfortable and spotlessly clean. Well equipped kitchen, microwave, hotplate, coffee machine, fridge with freezer compartment and good utensils. Cable TV and WI-FI in room. Nice patio area to sit outside and enjoy the view. Very peaceful surroundings for a good night’s sleep.

FACILITIES – There is a sanitary block for those camping which we didn’t have to use a garden and a playground.

VALUE FOR MONEY – The price for the cabin itself was a tad expensive, but you are obviously paying for the location/view which did make it value for money.

SERVICE – Extremely good and friendly. All spoke very good English. Guy on reception told us when we were booking in that there was a problem with our TV and someone was returning from a nearby town with a new one. Joked that my partner was desperate to watch an international football match and they came within 10 minutes to set up the cable TV and apologised profusely

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Over_Land_And_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Rented a cabin of 26 m2 for some days in July 2012.
The location is really beautiful, it is a nice camping site.
But NOK 950/night for a cabin with such a low standard is really bad. Small nice kitchen but no oven, very few kitchenwares and cook wares, and no kitchen fan. Poor light.

There is just one electric radiator in the cabin- not enough, darker wooden walls and cealing and small poor lights makes the whole cabin unpleasant and dark. Paint it in white!!
No TV, no radio, no thermometer, huge lac of hooks to hang up things on.

Poor safety, no fire extinguisher, no fire blanket, but yes there is a fire alarm.

15 minutes of walk to the village of Geiranger, really nice walk!

Really, I feel fooled. This cottage is like from the 70's.
With just some more effort they could turn it into really good and I would come here again or recomend it to friends - now I will do neither of it. But as usually in Norway a lot of things are way dated back.

Room Tip: Come here with a tent or caravan instead of renting a cottage, a much better deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed three nights. One bedroom cabin (actually there were two bedrooms). The cabins are well equipped and ours had a balcony facing the fjord, the bedroom too. It was clean and spacious. It is self contained so If you do not have your own linens/towels you can rent them for a small fee at the reception. The place is a combination of hotel, cabins and camping so at times it has some traffic of people going to the common areas, but it is quiet and well managed. The cabins have their own bathroom and the kitchen has all the equipment you will need to prepare meals. The town nearby has a supermarket where you can buy all necessary things to prepare a meal. And if you do not feel like it there is a hotel serving mostly buffet dinners and some simple restaurants in the town nearby. We eat in the room as it was very comfortable and when weather was nice we sat down and enjoyed a drink overlooking the fjord. Also there are washing machines in the communal area very handy when traveling for extended periods.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odoriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We had heard much about Geiranger and how it was a ‘must see ‘ place, so we included it in our itinerary. We stayed a week at the fjordsenter in a cabin (hytte). The campsite is located at Grande, 3 kilometres out of the village centre and adjacent to another campsite, which, we believe, was run by the same family. We paid 6,417 NOK for 7 nights in, what was a posh wooden tent. (£95 a night, one pays for the location.) This was almost as expensive as the two well-equipped, very good apartments we had in the other places during our trip. The cabin was 34 m², had a separate bedroom with 3 bunk beds, we brought our own towels, duvet covers, sheets and pillows (standard practice) and I’m glad we did as the (very soft) mattress, duvet and pillows were shoddy and, in addition, the duvets very thin. The kitchen was a corner of the main room and had a double hob, one behind the other - so the back one was not really much use, a microwave, a coffee machine, a fridge and a sink. No oven or any frills. There was a wall-mounted TV which surprised us, given the standard of the other things in the hytte. Our kettle and other useful equipment we carry with us, like a decent knife, for example, were used here. The standard of cleanliness was okay. It was big enough for two, I would not like to put 4 people in there (one would have to sleep on the settee in the lounge).
All other facilities at the campsite were charged: 40kr to use the washing machine, 40kr to use the tumble dryer, internet access was 50kr a day, we did not avail ourselves of it; boat hire was expensive – 200kr an hour.
An advantage of the location is that one can fish right from the site- I caught a sei (coley) with my first cast, my husband a cod, but then we proceeded over the week to lose about 10 lures without much more success.
I’m glad that we did not come in a camper van here, seeing how they were sandwiched in was an eye-opener : no 6 metre rule here- you were lucky if there was 3 metres between units.
Of course getting to Geiranger is dramatic, either travelling by ferry from Hellesylt or driving down the many hairpin bends from either direction; and the scenery is excellent. Once there, though, we quickly tired of the many cruise ships which came every day of our stay, with their music and announcements shattering the peace. There were 3 in on some days, with Geiranger swollen by an extra 6,000 people. It reminded us of Flåm which we visited 2 years ago; both are now on the UNESCO World Heritage list and attract masses of visitors as a result.
I would advise anyone staying in Geiranger and self-catering to bring all their food with them; the only food shop in the village, a "joker", is very expensive; even more than normal high Norwegian prices.
There is no footpath going all the way into the centre of the village from the campsites, and precious few footpaths joining the tourist attractions in the village, so that many people are forced to walk on the road. This combined with all the traffic: buses taking people from the cruise ships to Trollstigen and Dalsnibba, large camper vans with enormous wing mirrors, the many cars passing through or just going shopping, creates mayhem in the village every day.
We came away with the impression that Geiranger was a village that was intent on making as much money as possible during the summer season and felt rather used as a consequence. We won’t return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Price per night with family with kids under 12 is about 260 NOK, which is expensive (at Norwegian standards). Average price at this facilitylevel should be 210 NOK.

The location and view are great, but that's the only positive thing !

Sanitarybuilding is cleaned once a day, but because this is a busy camping in summer, the sanitary should be watched (and cleaned a bit if necessary) for a second time. The bin for paper in sanitarybuilding is full at noon, but is not emtied then. Too much work ??

Than the pitches.... This is a very negative point of this campsite ! No problem when you do not leave the camping during your stay, but, if you do, don't be surprised that the bit 'space' you had is completely gone when you come back ! Every inch of space will be used by the owner, despite the 260 NOK you paid !! No privacy at all !! Making money is the main goal of this camping. And take 50 m. of cable with you, because 25 m. is often not enough.
And for children ? Just two swings and some sand. The trampoline was broken 2 years ago and was not replaced by a new one. Which confirms the main goal of making money by this campsite. A pity, but true.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
3  Thank Jim500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geiranger hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
350 reviews
2 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
1.9 mi away
Hole Hytteutleige
Hole Hytteutleige
#7 of 14 in Geiranger
52 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vinje Camping
Vinje Camping
#5 of 14 in Geiranger
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter

Address: Grande | RV 63 at the base of Ornevegen, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Geiranger
Price Range: £78 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the best location in Geiranger, in peaceful and quiet surroundings close to the Geiranger fjord. We have 17 high standard cabins/bungalows with one or two bed rooms, private bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and living room. Free WiFi. Free parking. Free charging for EV for guests in our cabins. Laundry. Rental of motor boats. Fishing is free. Camping site for about 50 campers or caravans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing