We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cabin in geiranger” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cabin in geiranger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed in a 26 sq m cabin here for four nights. Location wise its quite hard to beat this place, it is right by the fjord about 2km from Geiranger town centre. You will need a bike/car if you are planning to stay more than a few days. Reception is friendly and helpful and someone was always around till 9PM or so. The cabin was clean, practical all the equipments and facilities mentioned in their website were there and functional. Even though wifi isn't listed as available for the smaller cabins we were receiving signal off and on.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, if we are visiting Geiranger again we can easily consider staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingshukB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We visited this camping in 2009. In our opinion this campsite is too expensive.
For car + caravan + 2 kids (15 y.) + strom you pay 320 NOK ! For almost NO (free) facilities.
(so, owner, this is with 2 kids, NOT with 4...!!).

With the very, very touristic village of Geiranger nearby and the daily passing cruiseships, the surroundings of this camping are quite 'Disneylandlike', so NOT the 'real' outdoor Norway.

Our experience was that the facilities on this camping are poor, especially for the younger kids. The owner has the opinion that there is more then enough to do, but he only mentions walking and renting a boat. Well, well...

One can rent boats on lots of locations in Norway, often for low tariff. Or for a bit more NOK's, but then it's not per hour, but for half a day. Petrol included.
On this camping guests do rent a boat often, but this could mean that these guests do not know what it costs elsewhere. Furthermore it does mean anyway that the suggested popularity of the boatrental is the reason to ask high rental tariffs, because that's quite often ' how it works ', economically.

Then there are two tariffs for (the size) of caravans.
We do not understand this, because (at least in high season) caravans on this camping are placed with the back or with the front to the fjord. Because of that, there is no difference in a caravan of 5 metres or one of 8 metres length. They all have a width of about 2.35 m. Regarding the way guests need to 'park' there caravans, it would be more 'fair' then if you pay more if you use extra space because of the width of a caravan (mounted awnings !!), so not for the length.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

The accommodation was located in an ideal place with a view of the Geiranger city centre and Geirangerfjorden on the other side. Staff were welcoming. Cottages were spacious and cozy as 5 of us stayed there. Would highly recommend it to any traveller visiting Geiranger.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanzim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Price for family (children: 15 y.), car, caravan and electr.: NOK 320,-- !!

And that's just for the view, because there's almost nothing else to do.

Boat rental perhaps ? Yes, but price on this camping for one hour is the price where you can rent a motorboat elsewhere in Norway for half a day !

Free WLAN...? Well, that's quite normal at a price of NOK 320,-- !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernardus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finn G, Owner at Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Sir:
I am very sorry that you obviously had a bad experience staying at our camp ground in your caravan last summer. For others: You were staying at our camp ground and not in one of our cabins.

About the prices on our camp ground: If you paid NOK 320 for one night, you must have been 2 adults and 4 children + a big caravan with car and also got electricity. Unlike most other campings in Norway, we think it is fair that a big caravan with car or a big camper pays more than a small camping car. That's why we have graded our prices into three categories: 1) big caravan 2) Medium camping car 3) small camping car.
You may not like it, but we think this is fair that people that take bigger space pays more, and people that take less space pay less.
For comparision: Price for a smal camping car + 2 persons + electricity: NOK 200,- for one night.

If you visit our web site www.geirangerfjorden.net and see our new prices for 2013 you will see that the prices are not going up, they stay excactly the same as last year. Compared to the other campings in Geiranger we are now in the middle, one is more expensive, one on the same level and one is cheaper.

We have had a guest from the same country as you, Holland, coming back for over 20 years staying for 2-3 months every summer. He told me that our pries are really low. He pays more in touristic places in Holland or Germany. Camping in Western Norway is actually cheap. The prices in Western Norway is also much lower than in Eastern Norway or Southern Norway. The prices in Geiranger is in the middle: cheaper than in Eastern/southern Norway and more expensive than in Western Norway. You can't compare Geiranger to remote places in western Norway. We will always be more expensive than those places.

You also write that "there is nothing to do". I disagree very much! For me, my wife and children Geiranger is paradise in the summer time. For people that are active and like to use the nature (as we say in Norway), there is a lot to do. There are lots of fantastic walks, short or longer, easy or more difficult. You don't have to walk far to get big experiences. I will strongly advice you to visit the Skageflå farm. I will guarantee: to walk up to this farm will be you best memory from Norway.
For the walks we have a map and can advice you if you ask in the reception. All who work in the reception are experienced and know the routes.
We also have motor- and rowing boats for hire. You must remember that the prices includes petrol. You can't therefore compare our prices with the prices on the remote islands where people rent boats to stay on one spot for a week to fish. People come to us to rent boat for one or two hours drive around in the fjord to see the Seven Sisters and Bridal Veil waterfalls. Our boats are very popular and many people come to visit us for one main reason: they want to rent one of our boats.

Geiranger is very special, but isn't for everybody. People are different. If you expect a Disneyland or Waterworld you have come to the wrong place. For sure. But if you want peace and quiet and want to experience the scenery and be active: you have come to what is my paradise. That's why I (and many with me) come back year after year. This is really not my job, it is my life. And if you still think it is expensive, I can assure you that we are using every penny (NOK) to upgrade our product and making it better for our guests for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

LOCATION – Easy to find on the main road around the fjord. It’s just a little way from the main hub of the town which makes it a bit more peaceful. Fantastic view of the fjord right outside your cabin. There are just a few cabins on site with space for tents and mobile homes. Groceries and restaurants in the town but no petrol station.

CABIN – We stayed in the small cabin which was quite basic but comfortable and spotlessly clean. Well equipped kitchen, microwave, hotplate, coffee machine, fridge with freezer compartment and good utensils. Cable TV and WI-FI in room. Nice patio area to sit outside and enjoy the view. Very peaceful surroundings for a good night’s sleep.

FACILITIES – There is a sanitary block for those camping which we didn’t have to use a garden and a playground.

VALUE FOR MONEY – The price for the cabin itself was a tad expensive, but you are obviously paying for the location/view which did make it value for money.

SERVICE – Extremely good and friendly. All spoke very good English. Guy on reception told us when we were booking in that there was a problem with our TV and someone was returning from a nearby town with a new one. Joked that my partner was desperate to watch an international football match and they came within 10 minutes to set up the cable TV and apologised profusely

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Over_Land_And_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Rented a cabin of 26 m2 for some days in July 2012.
The location is really beautiful, it is a nice camping site.
But NOK 950/night for a cabin with such a low standard is really bad. Small nice kitchen but no oven, very few kitchenwares and cook wares, and no kitchen fan. Poor light.

There is just one electric radiator in the cabin- not enough, darker wooden walls and cealing and small poor lights makes the whole cabin unpleasant and dark. Paint it in white!!
No TV, no radio, no thermometer, huge lac of hooks to hang up things on.

Poor safety, no fire extinguisher, no fire blanket, but yes there is a fire alarm.

15 minutes of walk to the village of Geiranger, really nice walk!

Really, I feel fooled. This cottage is like from the 70's.
With just some more effort they could turn it into really good and I would come here again or recomend it to friends - now I will do neither of it. But as usually in Norway a lot of things are way dated back.

Room Tip: Come here with a tent or caravan instead of renting a cottage, a much better deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izu
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed three nights. One bedroom cabin (actually there were two bedrooms). The cabins are well equipped and ours had a balcony facing the fjord, the bedroom too. It was clean and spacious. It is self contained so If you do not have your own linens/towels you can rent them for a small fee at the reception. The place is a combination of hotel, cabins and camping so at times it has some traffic of people going to the common areas, but it is quiet and well managed. The cabins have their own bathroom and the kitchen has all the equipment you will need to prepare meals. The town nearby has a supermarket where you can buy all necessary things to prepare a meal. And if you do not feel like it there is a hotel serving mostly buffet dinners and some simple restaurants in the town nearby. We eat in the room as it was very comfortable and when weather was nice we sat down and enjoyed a drink overlooking the fjord. Also there are washing machines in the communal area very handy when traveling for extended periods.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odoriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geiranger hotels
10.1 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
2.0 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter

Property: Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter
Address: Grande | RV 63 at the base of Ornevegen, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the best location in Geiranger, in peaceful and quiet surroundings close to the Geiranger fjord. We have 17 high standard cabins/bungalows with one or two bed rooms, private bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and living room. Free WiFi. Free parking. Free charging for EV for guests in our cabins. Laundry. Rental of motor boats. Fishing is free. Camping site for about 50 campers or caravans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing