We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Vinje Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vinje Camping
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Good communication by email when booking. Outstanding location with amazing views (we were in cabin 7 at the top of the site). Cabin modern and clean and very private. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Had windows shut at night (end of July) and didn't hear the waterfall. Just wish we had had more time to stay here. I would recommend the cabins without hesitation, I didn't use the communal facilities but from the outside everything was clean and looked really well cared for.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbertvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We just returned from the most amazing trip to Geiranger fjord. I can't imagine why anyone camping would want to stay anywhere other than vinje camping. We had originally planned on camping at the base of the fjord, but after driving and seeing the cramped camping conditions decided to head back up the road to Vinje campground. Needles to say, we were not disappointed in our choice. Vinje campground has epic views of the fjord, and is at a waterfall, so the only loud noises you will hear are the sounds of beautiful rushing water. I can't fathom that we will ever find a more peaceful place to pitch a tent. The water at the campsites is fresh and delicious. Hot water is readily available in a kitchen and at the sinks. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms, as they are regularly and very well maintained. From the campground you can take several hikes up into the mountains, one in particular goes through a sheep farm behind a large waterfall. The entire hike is epic views of the snow capped mountains, and the beautiful turquoise water of the fjord. It was painful to leave such a serene setting. I highly recommend Vinje camping for those looking for a peaceful, and beautiful setting right near a rushing waterfall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattFam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatley, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I had no idea what to expect because I had never stayed in a cabin before and I was delightfully surprised. It was very spacious and clean and the location was second to none. There were four of and there was room for a few more. The cabins are a nice walk away from the town, but it's more of a climb back, since it's uphill all the way back. I loved the sounds of the nearby waterfall. If you are going to visit Geiranger, definitely stay here. The price and location can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

we stayed at the cabins for 3 nights in July. the cabin was very clean and cosy (sofa a little worn but did not matter). The sound proofing was tested as we were next to a raging waterfall - could barely hear it when windows were closed. the duvets and pillows were clean and adequate. you can order fresh rolls from the shop for breakfast. the staff were very friendly and helpful. the campsite is a 20min walk uphill from the town. very well placed to access everything in Gerianger.i would definitely stay there again and recommend it - better than the UK campsites i have stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags_harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

When we arrived Geiranger by ferry, it was raining. We encountered the only problem this accommodation could bring to us: we had to climb up to reach it.... In the heavy rain it took us nearly 20 minutes to reach it. If you're lucky, you can catch a bus from the port which will take you to Hotel Union. From there, you can get to Vinje Camping in less than five minutes.

When we finally get to the cabin, we were astonished. It's all new and lovely decorated. The living room is spacious. There is a waterfall just outside our bedroom window and one more in front of the cabin. Since there is lots of rain and fog, we couldn't see the fjord, but I believe one can in bright days. The environment is simply stunning.

The hostess is great two. She is not only warm-hearted and pretty. I asked for a little vegetable oil to cook. She brought me a whole new bottle from her home!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanqiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed in a tent, but still recommended. 2 individual showers for the men (10 kr for 6 min). Nice view of the fjord and a big waterfall! Sounds like a big fan at night though.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iubell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We planned to stay at this camping for 1 night, but loved the place so much that we extended for another one. The camping is located a couple of minutes' drive outside the village of Geiranger, and high enough on the hill to allow for a direct view of the fjord from the veranda of each of the cabins. The cabins themselves are quite spacious, very well equipped and with parking right outside the door. Staff is very friendly, though the reception is open in very limited hours (1 hour in the morning and 2-3 in the afternoon). Their cabins seem to get fully booked even outside the main tourist season, so book in advance.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ogol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.0 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fjorden Campinghytter
Fjorden Campinghytter
#7 of 14 in Geiranger
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter
0.0 mi away
Fjellro Turisthotell
Fjellro Turisthotell
#2 of 2 in Valldal
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinje Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinje Camping

Property: Vinje Camping
Address: Geirangerfjord, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vinje Camping is idyllic and quiet, nicely located in the countryside with a waterfall on one side and mountains on the other. The campsite is very centrally located, just 1.5 km from the Geiranger Fjord and the center of Geiranger, where you can find grocery store, souvenir shops, cafes and restaurants. Vinje Camping is a great base for hiking, as well as other attractions and activities in Geiranger. The reception will assist with maps, both over the area and over hiking, we are happy to answer questions. The campground has a nice bonfire for all our guests and playground for the younger ones. In the kiosk we have a small selection of groceries and foodstuffs, as well as fresh rolls every morning. Vinje Camping has nice places for campers, caravans and tents, with electrical outlets for those who want it. Sanitary facilities with kitchen, washer and dryer. Draining and filling of water for campers and caravans. The cabins are beautifully located in nature, with a gorgeous view of Geiranger fjord and surrounding mountains. We have 7 standard cabins with one or two bedrooms, loft and sofa bed. The cottages have a living room / kitchen with sofa, TV, dining table, kitchen, fridge, 2 hobs and coffee maker. Bathroom with shower / wc. They are equipped with duvets and pillows. Bedlinen and towels you can rent. All cabins have large balcony with furniture and charcoal grill (charcoal may kjopest reception). Parking at all cabins. Contact us and state the number of people + desired date and we will get back to you with the best option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vinje Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing