We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gorgeous view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotell Utsikten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotell Utsikten
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a gorgeous view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Together with American relatives we stayed one night at this hotel. The view from the hotel, even from the rooms, is spectacular on a clear day. You can see the whole area around Geiranger, including the fjord. Breakfast was really good, and they have a small coffee bar as well. Some porches around the hotel makes it possible to enjoy the view whenever you want.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenNygard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    50
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
31
72
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Villa Utsikten has the very best view over Geiranger. We were traveling around in Norway with Greek friends, and payed a little extra to get rooms with a view. It was well worth it. The view from the room, even from the toilet, is overwhelming and extraordinary. We were very lucky with the weather, and were able to enjoy the different light during the day and the sunset in the evening. It is a relatively small hotel with a homely, unique and historical atmosphere and a good breakfast. The rooms are not very big, but comfortable and okay. We stayed for two nights and found the rooms convenient. We had a light and good meal in the lounge the first night. The dinner menu looked very good, but we found it too expensive to choose. It is different nice hiking routes to choose leaving from the hotel.The staff was very friendly and service-minded. Even if it is a rather long walk down to Geiranger, we would choose to stay here next time too.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellasfarere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

If you visit this part of Norway you MUST spend a night or two in Hotel Utsikten. The view from you hotel room is stunning. You won't find it better anywhere.
Breakfast is good. Dinner is good but expensive. Instead (for dinner) walk to the nearby 'Restaurant Westerås' where you get better food, better service in a wonderful old barn for 1/4 of the price.

Room Tip: You MUST take a room with view towards the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarsLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herzliya
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

the hotel is not big, and so is the double room as well. Yet, it is very convenient, if you don't mind the lack of storage space (a common problem in Norway hotels). If you plan a short stay, this should not be a problem. The view from the room is even more beautiful then expected. You can have a light meal in the lounge, very good and fairly priced in Norwegian terms. Dinner is very expensive, so we took a short drive to "grande hotel" and ate there. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was very good. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with fjord view, but remember that it is on the road. Being there on the last week of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaulman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Initially was a bit sceptical for thus hotel due to location slightly outside town, but didn't have much choice due to low availability in high season. It turned out to a great decision. Few key reasons you should only stay here:
1. character: unlike other hotels in town, this has lot of character which is visible in the building and location. It us nit run of the mill ohitel that hosts hig tour groups. Hence not noisy.
2. Location: doesnt get better than this, views are just amazing, very close to most if the hikes. Great view from lobby while you have your drinks or eve meal.You can just leave car in hotel parking and start your hike from here itself. Plus it is away from town, so you are not troubled by day crowd, at the same time not to far away to go down for a quik meal, just about 3-4 km. Parking can be a but challenging if the hotel is full, but then you can always find a sace. They are not too fussy about parking perfectly in slots.
3. Staff: always very pleasant, eager to help and guide. I couldn't find vacancy through bookings.com. Rang them up and they confirmed room on the phone and email. On the day of arrival requested for veg options, and request was catered for.

You would need a car if you are staying here. Breakfast was ok enough to get you started.
Although one would tend to go for fjord facing room, but considering you will be out soaking some mind blowing scenery all day, garden facing room will be good enough, esp due to low noise.
Just one slight negative- rooms were a tad small in size. But thats not a major issue.

All in all, best place to stay, ticks all key boxes. Don't look for any other options.just go for it!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed there for 1 night and had a room with seaview.
The view was something that you just have to see for your self, and can't be described with letters.

The staff was nice and helpful, but the hotel was a old and not "up to date".
The hotel was maybe renovated in the beginning of the 2000, and you can see that this is over 13 years ago.
Anyway the hotel was clean.

We had the dinner in the hotel restaurant. Good food and with the same view this is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Take the seaview! If you need to have it quite in the morning, take the garden room. The seaveiw r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

But can be noisy. We waited until the last minute to book and the only road available overlooked the road into town, so there was constant traffic. It was very hot with the summer sun coming in, but we wanted the windows closed against the noise. The staff did provide a fan. It's a lovely, old building- our room was pretty dated and very small. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant - we were here on a Saturday and only 1 or 2 couples seemed to be in the dining room. We had a snack in the lounge - still over $ 50 with a beer each. Parking was easy. No elevators, so we had to lug our luggage up from the ground floor in the back to the 2nd floor. Breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: Views from the front are gorgeous, but if you want relative quiet, go to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geiranger hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
4.6 mi away
Djupvasshytta
Djupvasshytta
#2 of 15 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Utsikten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Utsikten

Property: Hotell Utsikten
Address: 6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Utsikten 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotell Utsikten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing