We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, poor quality and overall a massive disappointment.”
Review of Hotell Utsikten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotell Utsikten
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel after visiting another classic Norway hotel in Molde, and boy was this hotel nothing like our expectations. We booked and paid extra for a fjord view going for a double room with seating area. The hotel boast that it has 20 double rooms this is a slight exaggeration, the room at best was no bigger than a single room and the seating area was two chairs and a small table squeezed in between the bed and the window , approx 6 inches from our bed. The bathroom was not much bigger than a cupboard and when you used the soap dispenser it dripped onto the toilet. There was no way that it could house two people in at once, it was a case of one in one out. The room was freezing when we arrived which was mid June, I understand that the hotel does not re-open for the summer season until the end of May, my suggestion is, if you are planning of visiting this hotel go in July or August, as at least by then it might have heated up. The public areas are also cold with the only form of heating being in the restaurant, so if you just want a coffee, take a coat.
The restaurant is also over priced and was below average to say the least. We ate here one night and as it was a set menu, the choice was very poor . There was one choice for starter, main and dessert, with the only alternative given was a burger or a bowl of pasta. We had smoked salmon lamb cutlets and a cold melon soup for dessert, and this cost 525 kr each and did not include drinks, even by Norway prices this was over priced. The hotel is very dated and needs upgrading. We were traveling with an elderly guest and there is no lift in this hotel and if we had not been with her, she would have had to carry her case up 3 floors. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and once again it was freezing with a poor selection of meats and fruit.
The hotels can charge it's premium prices not on the standard of the hotel or quality of its facilities and restaurant, but purely on the fact that it has got an amazing view.
We were really disappointed by this hotel and will certainly not be visiting it any time soon.
Over priced, poor quality and not what you would expect from what is supposed to be a premier hotel in a lovely location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank FamilyH0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

A small, friendly hotel. Room small, bathroom tiny, furnishings a bit dated. View AMAZING from the big picture window. If you’re not in a fjordside room you really miss out. Great location for walks in the area, there are many to choose from (most of them start from at least this far out of town) and for avoiding the hordes of cruiseshippers that arrive most days, as you are 4km from ‘central’ Geiranger. Not so great if you don’t have a car as a taxi was around £18 one way. Staff friendly and helpful with information bookings etc. Very good breakfast buffet. Westeras restaurant up at the farm was a complete find, as it was a 10 minute walk away, we had a lovely dinner and a mid-walk coffee there. The hotel does serve lunch and dinner but we didn’t try it. Active Geiranger kayaking were a little slow first thing in the morning but the boss was very nice and we had a great paddle up the fjord. Overall this hotel is a great location for walkers and far from the maddening crowds.

Room Tip: Fjord view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frootbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Together with American relatives we stayed one night at this hotel. The view from the hotel, even from the rooms, is spectacular on a clear day. You can see the whole area around Geiranger, including the fjord. Breakfast was really good, and they have a small coffee bar as well. Some porches around the hotel makes it possible to enjoy the view whenever you want.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortenNygard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Villa Utsikten has the very best view over Geiranger. We were traveling around in Norway with Greek friends, and payed a little extra to get rooms with a view. It was well worth it. The view from the room, even from the toilet, is overwhelming and extraordinary. We were very lucky with the weather, and were able to enjoy the different light during the day and the sunset in the evening. It is a relatively small hotel with a homely, unique and historical atmosphere and a good breakfast. The rooms are not very big, but comfortable and okay. We stayed for two nights and found the rooms convenient. We had a light and good meal in the lounge the first night. The dinner menu looked very good, but we found it too expensive to choose. It is different nice hiking routes to choose leaving from the hotel.The staff was very friendly and service-minded. Even if it is a rather long walk down to Geiranger, we would choose to stay here next time too.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellasfarere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

If you visit this part of Norway you MUST spend a night or two in Hotel Utsikten. The view from you hotel room is stunning. You won't find it better anywhere.
Breakfast is good. Dinner is good but expensive. Instead (for dinner) walk to the nearby 'Restaurant Westerås' where you get better food, better service in a wonderful old barn for 1/4 of the price.

Room Tip: You MUST take a room with view towards the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LarsLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

the hotel is not big, and so is the double room as well. Yet, it is very convenient, if you don't mind the lack of storage space (a common problem in Norway hotels). If you plan a short stay, this should not be a problem. The view from the room is even more beautiful then expected. You can have a light meal in the lounge, very good and fairly priced in Norwegian terms. Dinner is very expensive, so we took a short drive to "grande hotel" and ate there. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was very good. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with fjord view, but remember that it is on the road. Being there on the last week of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaulman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Initially was a bit sceptical for thus hotel due to location slightly outside town, but didn't have much choice due to low availability in high season. It turned out to a great decision. Few key reasons you should only stay here:
1. character: unlike other hotels in town, this has lot of character which is visible in the building and location. It us nit run of the mill ohitel that hosts hig tour groups. Hence not noisy.
2. Location: doesnt get better than this, views are just amazing, very close to most if the hikes. Great view from lobby while you have your drinks or eve meal.You can just leave car in hotel parking and start your hike from here itself. Plus it is away from town, so you are not troubled by day crowd, at the same time not to far away to go down for a quik meal, just about 3-4 km. Parking can be a but challenging if the hotel is full, but then you can always find a sace. They are not too fussy about parking perfectly in slots.
3. Staff: always very pleasant, eager to help and guide. I couldn't find vacancy through bookings.com. Rang them up and they confirmed room on the phone and email. On the day of arrival requested for veg options, and request was catered for.

You would need a car if you are staying here. Breakfast was ok enough to get you started.
Although one would tend to go for fjord facing room, but considering you will be out soaking some mind blowing scenery all day, garden facing room will be good enough, esp due to low noise.
Just one slight negative- rooms were a tad small in size. But thats not a major issue.

All in all, best place to stay, ticks all key boxes. Don't look for any other options.just go for it!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rusty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
349 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
171 reviews
0 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hole Hytteutleige
Hole Hytteutleige
#6 of 14 in Geiranger
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Utsikten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Utsikten

Address: 6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range: £132 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Utsikten 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotell Utsikten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing