We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view of the fjord”
Review of Hotell Utsikten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotell Utsikten
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of the fjord”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, high on top of the mountain, and boasts a superb view of one if the most beautiful fjords in Norway. It's really worth paying the difference for a room with view. Our room was small, but functional and clean. We saw that some double rooms with view were bigger than ours: try asking for one of them when booking. The Wi-Fi Internet was unfortunately quite slow.

The restaurant was very expensive but the service was excellent and the food quite good: the pumpkin soup and the blueberry ice cream in particular were delicious. The breakfast was also good.

Once again, this is an expensive accommodation. However, the breathtaking view and the nice restaurant are worth the money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    53
    30
    14
    5
See reviews for
32
77
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Service was consistently friendly, helpful & accommodating on requests. We had an early start for a long kayaking trip therefore asked if we could have breakfast earlier then the set time, which they arranged for us.
The evening restaurant food has been the best eaten in Norway !!! Massive compliments to the chef!!!


Only crticism, rooms are relatively small and need updating.

Be prepared for a decent walk into town but worth it for the views!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Staying at Utsikten Hotel for 2 nights was a great choice. From Geiranger we took the bus for Dalsnibba and then the driver drop us off at Utsikten hotel on the way down. The view from our room facing the fjord was excellent, but it got a bit too hot on July 9th 2014 when the temperature hit 30C. For the next night we moved to a room with mountain view and was pleasantly surprised by the coolness and facing a waterfall! In the early morning we walked to the Queen's Chair and enjoyed the place all to ourselves. After a wonderful candlelight breakfast we took the trail path that bring us all the way down to Union Hotel Geiranger walking just beside the waterfall all the way! The reception staff at Utsikten were all very helpful and courteous. The only improvement I can think of is, it would be good if they could provide a small kettle for use in the room, just Like what the Scandic Byporten and Geiranger Hotels provided when I asked for one.

Room Tip: A room facing the fjords is a must if there is no hot afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

One of the best views I've ever had from a hotel anywhere. But the location means you get the view, not the amenity of the town. The shops and town are only a couple of kilometres away - but it's a long walk up the hill! 2 single beds pushed together but ok with thick pillowtop overlay. But 2 single duvets. Hairdryer but no TV. Old style hotel with no lifts but pretty clean with good blackout blinds. Very quiet once the tour buses are gone, but not that bad even when they are around. Good breakfast & helpful staff. Wifi available. TOP TIP: Eat at the nearby Westeras Restaurant. The goat confit was as good as the view from the outdoor deck!

Room Tip: Why would you stay here if you weren't getting a fjord view room???
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A bit of an upscale establishment, with a long and interesting history. Very nice staff, very clean and comfortable. Terrific views looking down into the fjord. We arrived very late, but were still able to get a nice meal in the restaurant. Well-located for getting to the ferries for a trip into the fjord.
A minor item on the downside: it would have been nice if the hotel had a lift.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNextHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at this hotel after visiting another classic Norway hotel in Molde, and boy was this hotel nothing like our expectations. We booked and paid extra for a fjord view going for a double room with seating area. The hotel boast that it has 20 double rooms this is a slight exaggeration, the room at best was no bigger than a single room and the seating area was two chairs and a small table squeezed in between the bed and the window , approx 6 inches from our bed. The bathroom was not much bigger than a cupboard and when you used the soap dispenser it dripped onto the toilet. There was no way that it could house two people in at once, it was a case of one in one out. The room was freezing when we arrived which was mid June, I understand that the hotel does not re-open for the summer season until the end of May, my suggestion is, if you are planning of visiting this hotel go in July or August, as at least by then it might have heated up. The public areas are also cold with the only form of heating being in the restaurant, so if you just want a coffee, take a coat.
The restaurant is also over priced and was below average to say the least. We ate here one night and as it was a set menu, the choice was very poor . There was one choice for starter, main and dessert, with the only alternative given was a burger or a bowl of pasta. We had smoked salmon lamb cutlets and a cold melon soup for dessert, and this cost 525 kr each and did not include drinks, even by Norway prices this was over priced. The hotel is very dated and needs upgrading. We were traveling with an elderly guest and there is no lift in this hotel and if we had not been with her, she would have had to carry her case up 3 floors. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and once again it was freezing with a poor selection of meats and fruit.
The hotels can charge it's premium prices not on the standard of the hotel or quality of its facilities and restaurant, but purely on the fact that it has got an amazing view.
We were really disappointed by this hotel and will certainly not be visiting it any time soon.
Over priced, poor quality and not what you would expect from what is supposed to be a premier hotel in a lovely location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyH0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A small, friendly hotel. Room small, bathroom tiny, furnishings a bit dated. View AMAZING from the big picture window. If you’re not in a fjordside room you really miss out. Great location for walks in the area, there are many to choose from (most of them start from at least this far out of town) and for avoiding the hordes of cruiseshippers that arrive most days, as you are 4km from ‘central’ Geiranger. Not so great if you don’t have a car as a taxi was around £18 one way. Staff friendly and helpful with information bookings etc. Very good breakfast buffet. Westeras restaurant up at the farm was a complete find, as it was a 10 minute walk away, we had a lovely dinner and a mid-walk coffee there. The hotel does serve lunch and dinner but we didn’t try it. Active Geiranger kayaking were a little slow first thing in the morning but the boss was very nice and we had a great paddle up the fjord. Overall this hotel is a great location for walkers and far from the maddening crowds.

Room Tip: Fjord view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frootbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Grotli Hoyfjellshotell
0.0 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
21 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fjorden Campinghytter
Fjorden Campinghytter
#7 of 14 in Geiranger
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Utsikten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Utsikten

Property: Hotell Utsikten
Address: 6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Utsikten 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotell Utsikten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing