We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best service!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotell Utsikten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotell Utsikten
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed at Villa Utsikten for one night. The service was simply amazing! Nothing was too much trouble!! They helped us plan our next few days assisting us with every detail.

The view from the hotel is quie stunning!! And the Norwigian buffet breakfast was delicious!

We booked in the last minute and got a room in the Annexe - which was very good value, however the walls are thin and we did hear noise above us.

All in all one of the most special nights we enjoyed in Norway!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    50
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
31
72
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel only for one night with my friend. The hotel has a very strategic location in the breathtaking Geiranger fjord. The hotel staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful. The food cannot be described - you should try yourselves, otherwise you will regret (even if you do not stay there, you should reserve a table to try the food).

When you stay at the hotel, please spend extra to stay in a room with the fjord view - it is really worth it...

One caution - we arrived to the fjord by boat (Hurtigruten). As the hotel is not easily reachable from the harbour, we had to take a taxi. There was one taxi with a sign "Hotel Union" but the taxi driver "Inga" told us that she could give us a ride... For a distance less than 10 km, we paid 200 Norwegian KR -however, we only paid 80 NKR on the return (the reception called a taxi on our way back). We were really angry at our Inga driver and wanted to share this bad experience with you... Call a "proper" taxi, do not rely on another hotel's taxi...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DidemSILAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

4 days with the friendly and helpful team at Hotell Utsikten was one of the best family vacations we have ever taken. Most people stay only 1-2 nights but we found so much to do there 4 days seemed not enough - although Norway is very expensive! The location is breathtaking, truly one of the world's greatest views. The hotel staff were so friendly we felt at home when we walked in after our 2.5hr journey from Ålesund (also worth a visit). The Swedish chef surprised us every night with another great fish meal which suited both adults and our children. Even the wine list was small but well composed. The music in the lounge and the excellent coffee ticked all our boxes for a great hotel, 5 stars, as our 8-year old rated it! And there is no TV in the hotel rooms just the view!
We hiked the mountains on the expert advice of the hotel team and even kayaked around the fjord. A wonderful hotel and amazing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed here for two nights and although the weather wasn't as nice as it had been, the views from our room were amazing. Definitley ask for a room with a fjord view. The rooms were nice, but lacked a mirror (a common thing in Norway it appears!) and there was only one in bathroom. You could request a hairdryer from reception. Beds super comfy! Expensive but typical of Norway prices - so ok value for money when taking that into account. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Best hotel in Norway, I would say. Small, professional, beautiful located, best service and brilliant food. Enjoy the sunset of Geiranger Fjord on top of the mountain in this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stopped at Villa Utsikten on our way through Geiranger as we were really hungry. I have lived in Norway for 6 years, my fiancé for 7, and it was my parents' third trip to see us. We are not an easy bunch to cater for as one is a coeliac, one a vegetarian and two fish eaters. My general experience on Norway has been bland food, over pricing, terrible customer service and little or no understanding of special diets, so it was an absolute treat to come across this little gem of a place completely by chance! The staff were so friendly and helpful, and managed to conjure up imaginative and really tasty food for all of us in a really short space of time, and for a reasonable (by Norwegian standards!) price. This in total contrast to some places in the city centres in Norway who couldn't pull together a decent meal for us even with warning! We were very impressed with villa utsikten, and they even had gluten free bread!

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Norwegianbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Petrines Guesthouse
Petrines Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Norddal Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.6 mi away
Djupvasshytta
Djupvasshytta
#2 of 15 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Utsikten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Utsikten

Property: Hotell Utsikten
Address: 6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Utsikten 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotell Utsikten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing