We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of Hotell Utsikten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotell Utsikten
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Booked the summer special package of bed, breakfast and evening meal for two nights. Welcome was very warm, food excellent and service very attentive.
The real bonus for our trip was the view from our room (205) of the fjord - quite spectacular. The rooms themselves are small and simply furnished.
The hotel location outside the village suited us well as we enjoyed completing a few of the local walks during our stay and because Geiranger itself is quiet busy when cruise liner passengers have disembarked.
Would certainly use this hotel if we visited Geiranger again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estravellerBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed at Villa Utsikten for one night. The service was simply amazing! Nothing was too much trouble!! They helped us plan our next few days assisting us with every detail.

The view from the hotel is quie stunning!! And the Norwigian buffet breakfast was delicious!

We booked in the last minute and got a room in the Annexe - which was very good value, however the walls are thin and we did hear noise above us.

All in all one of the most special nights we enjoyed in Norway!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel only for one night with my friend. The hotel has a very strategic location in the breathtaking Geiranger fjord. The hotel staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful. The food cannot be described - you should try yourselves, otherwise you will regret (even if you do not stay there, you should reserve a table to try the food).

When you stay at the hotel, please spend extra to stay in a room with the fjord view - it is really worth it...

One caution - we arrived to the fjord by boat (Hurtigruten). As the hotel is not easily reachable from the harbour, we had to take a taxi. There was one taxi with a sign "Hotel Union" but the taxi driver "Inga" told us that she could give us a ride... For a distance less than 10 km, we paid 200 Norwegian KR -however, we only paid 80 NKR on the return (the reception called a taxi on our way back). We were really angry at our Inga driver and wanted to share this bad experience with you... Call a "proper" taxi, do not rely on another hotel's taxi...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DidemSILAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

4 days with the friendly and helpful team at Hotell Utsikten was one of the best family vacations we have ever taken. Most people stay only 1-2 nights but we found so much to do there 4 days seemed not enough - although Norway is very expensive! The location is breathtaking, truly one of the world's greatest views. The hotel staff were so friendly we felt at home when we walked in after our 2.5hr journey from Ålesund (also worth a visit). The Swedish chef surprised us every night with another great fish meal which suited both adults and our children. Even the wine list was small but well composed. The music in the lounge and the excellent coffee ticked all our boxes for a great hotel, 5 stars, as our 8-year old rated it! And there is no TV in the hotel rooms just the view!
We hiked the mountains on the expert advice of the hotel team and even kayaked around the fjord. A wonderful hotel and amazing vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed here for two nights and although the weather wasn't as nice as it had been, the views from our room were amazing. Definitley ask for a room with a fjord view. The rooms were nice, but lacked a mirror (a common thing in Norway it appears!) and there was only one in bathroom. You could request a hairdryer from reception. Beds super comfy! Expensive but typical of Norway prices - so ok value for money when taking that into account. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Best hotel in Norway, I would say. Small, professional, beautiful located, best service and brilliant food. Enjoy the sunset of Geiranger Fjord on top of the mountain in this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stopped at Villa Utsikten on our way through Geiranger as we were really hungry. I have lived in Norway for 6 years, my fiancé for 7, and it was my parents' third trip to see us. We are not an easy bunch to cater for as one is a coeliac, one a vegetarian and two fish eaters. My general experience on Norway has been bland food, over pricing, terrible customer service and little or no understanding of special diets, so it was an absolute treat to come across this little gem of a place completely by chance! The staff were so friendly and helpful, and managed to conjure up imaginative and really tasty food for all of us in a really short space of time, and for a reasonable (by Norwegian standards!) price. This in total contrast to some places in the city centres in Norway who couldn't pull together a decent meal for us even with warning! We were very impressed with villa utsikten, and they even had gluten free bread!

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank Norwegianbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.8 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
599 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Grotli Hoyfjellshotell
17.3 mi away
Stranda Hotel
Stranda Hotel
#5 of 5 in Stranda
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Utsikten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Utsikten

Address: 6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range: £137 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Utsikten 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotell Utsikten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing