We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They did not care to put a sign that they were closed for the season”
Review of Olebuda Restaurant

Olebuda Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Geiranger
Price range: US$19 - US$37
Cuisines: European
Description: A restaurant, cafe and gift shop under one roof! Olebuda is located in the centre of Geiranger. A modern restaurant in a traditional venue, Olebuda was the first local grocery store in Geiranger. Olebuda with its central location has been in business ever since the first tourists started coming to Geiranger around 1880. At Olebuda you can be part of the lively street life or you can retire to the terrace just below Westeråsfjellet. On the second floor, you will find our nice à la carte restaurant. Ideal for a romantic dinner for two, business dinners or other small or large dinner parties. Our philosophy is to use traditional ingredients of today, but with respect for our forebears. Olebuda is a full service restaurant. It is possible to book a separate space for groups of 10-12 people. The restaurant’s maximum capacity is 60 people inside and 100 outside. On our idyllic terrace you can order food at the table or take drinks from the bar. You may also take your coffee from our cafe on the first floor and enjoy it on the terrace. We are open all year for advance bookings from groups. Out of season, you can hire the entire restaurant premises fully-equipped and you may even bring your own chef and food. The a´la carte RestaurantOlebuda is open 25.5-3.9.2017, and the coffee shop CafeOle is open 29.4-29.10 2017
Restaurant details
Description: A restaurant, cafe and gift shop under one roof! Olebuda is located in the centre of Geiranger. A modern restaurant in a traditional venue, Olebuda was the first local grocery store in Geiranger. Olebuda with its central location has been in business ever since the first tourists started coming to Geiranger around 1880. At Olebuda you can be part of the lively street life or you can retire to the terrace just below Westeråsfjellet. On the second floor, you will find our nice à la carte restaurant. Ideal for a romantic dinner for two, business dinners or other small or large dinner parties. Our philosophy is to use traditional ingredients of today, but with respect for our forebears. Olebuda is a full service restaurant. It is possible to book a separate space for groups of 10-12 people. The restaurant’s maximum capacity is 60 people inside and 100 outside. On our idyllic terrace you can order food at the table or take drinks from the bar. You may also take your coffee from our cafe on the first floor and enjoy it on the terrace. We are open all year for advance bookings from groups. Out of season, you can hire the entire restaurant premises fully-equipped and you may even bring your own chef and food. The a´la carte RestaurantOlebuda is open 25.5-3.9.2017, and the coffee shop CafeOle is open 29.4-29.10 2017
Aalborg
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“They did not care to put a sign that they were closed for the season”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

On their homepage "open mai to august". Nevertheless they closed down for the season on the 22nd of August leaving a big poster on the road "WE ARE OPEN". No sign in the restaurant window that they had closed, at the opposite. Obviously not trustworthy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LarsLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RagnhildF3, Manager at Olebuda Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Im sorry to here that you did not find your way to our restaurant, I do not really know what went wrong? The 22. August Restaurant Olebuda was open between 18:00-22:00, and my staff in CaféOlé in the 1.floor would have been happy to give you personal assistance in there opening hour 09:00-18:00.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the meal”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I took a chance on this restaurant one evening while strolling through the shops in Geiranger. I am in total agreement with most of the other reviews. . . this restaurant was superb. Prices reasonable ( compared to others in Norway, especially in a tourist concentrated town ), service was very good, waiter was cordial, friendly and spoke english and norwegian ( you can't say that anymore about Norway with all the foreign workers ), and the food was better than excellent. We have been to Geiranger several times while visiting from the U.S. but never tried this restaurant. If you do not visit this place, you are doing yourself a disservice cuisine-wise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moldejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Culinary Reason to visit Geiranger Fjord”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Three course dinner: Delicious! Amazing! Awesome! I just wonder why this restaurant is not rated #1 in Geiranger, Norway, Europe,... And: considering Norwegian prices this restaurant is even cheap! My deer medallions in bacon with root vegetables on beetroot butter was less than a hamburger with fries. The portion was big, just the plate was small (And that would be my only advice for the owners: use bigger plates). Otherwise the atmosphere is very charming. Congratulations also for the friendly staff. Even without the Fjord there is now a reason to come to Geiranger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chmannva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geiranger, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simple and tasty”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

went to this restaurant without any expectations, since most of the restaurants that we tried in Norway where mediocre and expensive. This one have small but tasty dishes, we tried the ribs, sausage and the dear. all where very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noam519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My wife and I were looking for a nice place to eat a late dinner in Geiranger and we were so happy we chose Olebuda!

We were at first a bit confused by the low prices, but then were informed that they serve small dishes. This allowed us to try a number of different items, all of which were incredible! It ended up being the best meal we had on our vacation (by far!), and the prices weren't that bad for Norway.

Our server Sanna was extremely friendly, and we ended up staying a chatting for quite a while. She really made the meal and the quick visit to Geiranger a great memory!

I would definitely recommend a visit to Olebuda!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andersh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olebuda Restaurant also viewed

 
Geiranger, Stranda
 
Geiranger, Stranda
Geiranger, Stranda
 

Been to Olebuda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing