We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside terrasse with excellent tapas”
Review of Olebuda Restaurant

Olebuda Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Geiranger
Price range: US$19 - US$37
Cuisines: European
Description: A restaurant, cafe and gift shop under one roof! Olebuda is located in the centre of Geiranger. A modern restaurant in a traditional venue, Olebuda was the first local grocery store in Geiranger. Olebuda with its central location has been in business ever since the first tourists started coming to Geiranger around 1880. At Olebuda you can be part of the lively street life or you can retire to the terrace just below Westeråsfjellet. On the second floor, you will find our nice à la carte restaurant. Ideal for a romantic dinner for two, business dinners or other small or large dinner parties. Our philosophy is to use traditional ingredients of today, but with respect for our forebears. Olebuda is a full service restaurant. It is possible to book a separate space for groups of 10-12 people. The restaurant’s maximum capacity is 60 people inside and 100 outside. On our idyllic terrace you can order food at the table or take drinks from the bar. You may also take your coffee from our cafe on the first floor and enjoy it on the terrace. We are open all year for advance bookings from groups. Out of season, you can hire the entire restaurant premises fully-equipped and you may even bring your own chef and food. The a´la carte RestaurantOlebuda is open 25.5-3.9.2017, and the coffee shop CafeOle is open 29.4-29.10 2017
Restaurant details
Description: A restaurant, cafe and gift shop under one roof! Olebuda is located in the centre of Geiranger. A modern restaurant in a traditional venue, Olebuda was the first local grocery store in Geiranger. Olebuda with its central location has been in business ever since the first tourists started coming to Geiranger around 1880. At Olebuda you can be part of the lively street life or you can retire to the terrace just below Westeråsfjellet. On the second floor, you will find our nice à la carte restaurant. Ideal for a romantic dinner for two, business dinners or other small or large dinner parties. Our philosophy is to use traditional ingredients of today, but with respect for our forebears. Olebuda is a full service restaurant. It is possible to book a separate space for groups of 10-12 people. The restaurant’s maximum capacity is 60 people inside and 100 outside. On our idyllic terrace you can order food at the table or take drinks from the bar. You may also take your coffee from our cafe on the first floor and enjoy it on the terrace. We are open all year for advance bookings from groups. Out of season, you can hire the entire restaurant premises fully-equipped and you may even bring your own chef and food. The a´la carte RestaurantOlebuda is open 25.5-3.9.2017, and the coffee shop CafeOle is open 29.4-29.10 2017
Yokohama, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outside terrasse with excellent tapas”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Variety of dishes is great. Make sure you select a few extra dishes as volume per dish is a bit limited. Quality is great. Service as well

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service but expensive”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The restaurant is very cozy and service is very friendly. The waitress who was very nice explained that the portions are small so we decided to have two portions each, which was enough for all of us, however, this made the price of the food slightly hight. Despite the price the warm and friendly atmosphere made this visit a very nice one. I recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TreckerFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rip off!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Let me start with the positive. The waitress was great.
The food also tasted nice, but there was nothing to it. You would probably have to order 5 dishes in order to have a full meal.
The beet root and goats cheese salad was literally half a beet root and 3 small slices of goats cheese with a garnish of rocket.
We also had to wait a really long time for the food.(1hr15min)That may be a one-off, so not such a big deal.
All in all, our party all thought this meal was very overpriced for what it was.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SeductiveNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fresh quality food but expensive!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The quality of food was very high but the portions were very small as it's a tapas style menu so you have to order about 3 - this makes it very expensive. The restaurant was very nice inside and the waitress service was friendly. I ordered what I thought was spaghetti but it was more of shredded veg so a bit lost in translation! It was very nice but not as filling as pasta!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank speedqueen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cozy place”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A very cozy place. There is not many places to eat in Geiranger, but I think this one is the best. Food comes in form of tapas with local ingredients. I have enjoyed it very much. We have also tried local cheese which was excellent. I would be happy to visit that place again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olebuda Restaurant also viewed

 
Geiranger, Stranda
 
Geiranger, Stranda
Geiranger, Stranda
 

Been to Olebuda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing