We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular fjord views!”

Geiranger Fjordservice AS
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer tours/Shorexcursions along the famous Geirangerfjord, our unique UNESCO World Heritage Site. Explore the fjord on water or land. With the Fjordightseeing Boat, the RIB boat or Kayak you will get close to the beautiful waterfalls and fjord farms. The Panorama bus and the Mountain Highlight Bus will bring you to stunning look out plateaus high above the Geiranger Fjord. Also available now: Electric bikes Helikopter fights and fishing tours.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Spectacular fjord views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Booked this online months in advance for a cruise stop. It was very easy to book. On the day of the cruise stop, we got off the ship, walked onto the dock and there was the boat just a few feet away! Went into the office with our papers and traded them in for tickets with no problem.

The boat ride was smooth and easy. They narrated everything we passed so that we knew what we were looking at. We were given charming stories and interesting bits of info. There was ample room to walk around to many viewing areas for photos, and you can sit either outside or keep warm and cozy inside to watch the scenery.

We loved the experience and highly recommend it. We had tickets for the bus ride but we were too tired from touring other ports and just did not go. This boat ride was so great, we felt like we had a full day. The Seven Sisters Waterfall, the Suitor and the Bridal Veil were spectacular and we got very close. The views from the front and the back of the boat were just breathtaking. Thank you for a once in a lifetime experience down your beautiful fjord!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank nycruisequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bookingcenter, Guest Relations Manager at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Thanks for that glowing review, but it's not hard to be happy and passionate in an "Office" like GEIRANGER
A genuine pleasure to reveal the secrets of this magic Fjord for you during Your stay ...and make the logistic easy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    24
    9
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Save your money - Rib boat ride is big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Yes, the fjord scenery is breathtaking, but the Geiranger Fjordservice rib boat ride we took in June was a big disappointment. Their website pictures make it look like the rib boat ride is an exciting thrill ride, but these website pictures totally misrepresent the trip.

This is nothing more than a boat going a little fast. Several times during the ride I asked the boat driver to go faster, and he did speed up for a second, but then went right back to a slow pace.

When I discussed this with the manager afterward, she admitted the website pictures incorrectly made it look like a thrill ride, and that she would change the pictures. Here it is, six weeks later, and she has not corrected the falsely advertised pictures yet. Her exact words were, "We are not a thrill ride, we are just a sightseeing boat."

I don't know why they deck you out in these huge waterfront suits - the boat went so slow that not one drop of water ever got in the boat. The waterproof suits raise your expectations that this will be a fast, wet ride, but it is the opposite and you feel that much more disappointed afterward. And when you walk down to the dock in these suits, you attract attention and you are actually being free advertisement for this company.

They should do the honorable thing and change their website pictures and they shouldn't even bother giving you the waterproof suits since you don't need them at all.

This sightseeing (not a thrill) ride cost about $85 usd a person for a little over 1/2 hour of being out on the boat, and it was definitely not worth it. Save your money and avoid this ride - it is just a short sightseeing ride, period.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank welovetotravel555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bookingcenter, Front Office Manager at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear customer, sorry to hear that your experience with us in Geiranger was a disappointment for you. We take all our feedback seriously and had a special meeting to go through how we represent our advertised trips and excursions. We have gone through the photo images and written description of the RIB boat tour and feel it gives an honest appraisal of what our guests can expect. All our drivers and guests that come with us need to wear the waterproof suits as part of Norwegian maritime safety regulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
178 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Not enough time allowed - Rude driver”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was on the same bus as the previous reviewer and agree with all he said, but have more.

First.. The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful, so you have to find someway up to the top of the mountain, but I also would not recommend this service unless they allow a little more time.

The driver was to the point of being rude in rushing everyone. Our first stop he said 5 minutes NO more! With a big bus of probably 70 people it takes 5 minutes for everyone to get off and back on! Then at the top he almost left a couple up there because they were not back on the bus on time, and they might have been 30 seconds late? He started to drive away!

To make this excursion better they should allow an extra 15-30 minutes for the total tour so people are not so rushed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geiranger5, Front Office Manager at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear customer, I am sad to hear you had such a disappointment during your visit in Geiranger. We try our best to provide a good service. As your follow guest you experience a bit of a rushed bus tour during your visit. We apologies and realize we will have to add another 15 min to the scheduled tour to count on traffic stops and other delays next year. It is hard to do this year as lots of people made bookings but we like to continue to provide a good service and as traffic has increased during the last year we will take this in our planning.
Thanks for the feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Biggest disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

One of the worst experiences. We were crammed into a big bus for a 2 hour drive to the top of the mountain. We made a FOUR minute stop for photographs going up and then a THIRTEEN minute stop at the top. There was no narration along the way since the sound system wasn't working and there was no guide. You could either take pictures at the top or go to the bathroom but not both.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geiranger5, Front Office Manager at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear customer, I am sad to hear you had such a disappointment during your visit in Geiranger. We try our best to communicate to our guests when selling the tickets that there will be no guide on the bus, just an audio commentary in English. Our tours of course try to fill all the seats in the bus and we also have scheduled times for our stops, and as you wrote, it is 10 minutes at flydalsjuvet and 15minutes at dalsnibba. If we have customers who would prefer their own guide and a bit more time we try to advise them to hire a taxi or join one of the tours from the cruise ship. Our goal is to offer an enjoyable, affordable, sightseeing tour in a big bus. It means there will be 40-60 people in the same bus. Sorry for not being clear when you bought the ticket with us.
(We also are in dialog with the company from the viewing platform to install more toilets, as on busy day there can be a bit of a wait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome RIB boat fjord safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We took the awesome RIB boat (rigid inflatable boat) fjord safari ride through the Geiranger Fjord last summer with Geiranger Fjordservice AS. It is very exciting ride (a little less than an hour) that takes you very close to the sides of the fjord, affording incredible up-close views of the huge cascading waterfalls that Geiranger Fjord is so famous for. After suiting up in a weatherproof floatation suit in a quaint old boathouse, you walk a short distance down to the harbor where the RIB boat is waiting. You sit comfortably on a low, open deck that affords unobstructed views in all directions – ideal for viewing the high mountains, waterfalls and small farms that perch precariously high up along the fjord. Our guide took us on a zig-zag tour, driving fast out of the harbor past several visiting cruise ships and thrillingly close to vertical fjord walls, before slowing as we approached waterfall vistas. Several times during the trip the boat stopped so that the guide could provide us with information and give us a chance to take photos and soak up the amazing views – even pulling right up to the base of a raging waterfall. We had both a pre-teen and a teenage child with us and both enjoyed the trip immensely. Exhilarating speed, spectacular vistas, a feeling of nautical adventure and the ability to see things up close that you wouldn't otherwise experience from a large boat or cruise ship – we had a blast!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank scantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geiranger Fjordservice AS also viewed

 

Been to Geiranger Fjordservice AS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing